Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
151
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 April 2008
this book is exactly what you would expect from a little Collin's gem, it has good material through out, and a pretty good selection of the most common trees....but, i would have preferred to see real photographs rather than artists drawings, which, sometimes are not as good a reference as an image of the real thing. Furthermore i would have liked to see bigger images of the type of bark from each tree since half the year the trees have no leaves, and the bark, leafless shape, and habitat is all you have to go on.
this is however a good introduction read for summer time tree hunting, wouldn't recommend it for winter though. if you are up for a better book i recommend:-
Collins Complete Guide to British Trees: A Photographic Guide to Every Common Species
0Comment| 99 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2002
I find this a very worthwhile, easy to use little book, packed full of interesting information on over 200 trees and shrubs.
This book can be popped into a rucksack and taken on countryside rambles or school trips as a quick, concise aid to tree identification.
Colourful illustrations of trees, foliage, flowers, fruit and bark add to the ease of tree identification for both beginners and those with some knowledge. Useful keys in the introduction also help you to identify trees in winter. A must for nature lovers!
0Comment| 75 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2005
I've been studying and working in ecology since 1987 and this is still the first book I turn to. Descriptions are clear and concentrate on distinguishing features. It's divided nicely into closely related groups with additional pages on fruits and nuts with a simple bark/leaf key. There's also a description of tree buds for winter ID.
0Comment| 70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
No, this is not the best book ever written about trees, but then again I shouldn't think it is meant to be. But it is handy to have in your pocket. and on a walk or in the countryside you will not see many trees that are not in this book.

As one reviewer has already said the drawings could be better, but they are adequate for the casual 'tree spotter' The information given about each tree is also adequate. There are many more advanced books that can be purchased for the real tree enthusiast (if there is such a term) and these can be used at home after you have made an identification from the Collins gem.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2007
I lead tree courses and often recommend this little book for beginners. It has all the information and illustrations you need to get started, with, in my opinion, excellent pictures of leaves, flowers, fruit, winter twigs, bark and, best of all, the tree. Tree shapes in this book are truer than in many more ambitious works.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2016
I wanted photographs and was encouraged to buy based on the description "Authoritative text, beautiful photographs" - There are no photographs in this book, only drawings (and pretty crappy drawings at that)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2011
This is an easy to carry guide, which is good for the kids. I particularly like the leaf summary at the beginning as sometimes if you find a tree and you don't know what it is, how can you look it up without going through the whole book? I'd recommend this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2009
Just like the Collins wild flower reference this is clear and consise, fit in a rucksack or coat pocket which makes this a wonderful field guide.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
I brought this book as my partner is training to be a tree surgeon and this book was recommended to him by his trainer.
Excellent value, for a small pocket sized book incredibly informative and easy to look through while out and about.

Highly recommend for someone learning about trees or someone who just enjoys nature. Perfect for hikes, walks and general knowledge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
I bought this book for my I younger daughter to help her identify trees as she walked with her young son. The illustrations are not of the best, but it fits in her pocket. She uses a bigger book at home to confirm the identity and find out more details
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)