Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the favourite
I've been studying and working in ecology since 1987 and this is still the first book I turn to. Descriptions are clear and concentrate on distinguishing features. It's divided nicely into closely related groups with additional pages on fruits and nuts with a simple bark/leaf key. There's also a description of tree buds for winter ID.
Published on 22 Feb 2005 by Starscape

versus
85 of 88 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good little book, but with it problems, read below!
this book is exactly what you would expect from a little Collin's gem, it has good material through out, and a pretty good selection of the most common trees....but, i would have preferred to see real photographs rather than artists drawings, which, sometimes are not as good a reference as an image of the real thing. Furthermore i would have liked to see bigger images of...
Published on 21 April 2008 by PhysicsLady


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 88 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good little book, but with it problems, read below!, 21 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Trees (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
this book is exactly what you would expect from a little Collin's gem, it has good material through out, and a pretty good selection of the most common trees....but, i would have preferred to see real photographs rather than artists drawings, which, sometimes are not as good a reference as an image of the real thing. Furthermore i would have liked to see bigger images of the type of bark from each tree since half the year the trees have no leaves, and the bark, leafless shape, and habitat is all you have to go on.
this is however a good introduction read for summer time tree hunting, wouldn't recommend it for winter though. if you are up for a better book i recommend:-
Collins Complete Guide to British Trees: A Photographic Guide to Every Common Species
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the favourite, 22 Feb 2005
By 
This review is from: Trees (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
I've been studying and working in ecology since 1987 and this is still the first book I turn to. Descriptions are clear and concentrate on distinguishing features. It's divided nicely into closely related groups with additional pages on fruits and nuts with a simple bark/leaf key. There's also a description of tree buds for winter ID.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Gem, 22 Nov 2009
By 
William Yeomans (Loughborough UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trees (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
Just like the Collins wild flower reference this is clear and consise, fit in a rucksack or coat pocket which makes this a wonderful field guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compact, That is its Beauty, 13 July 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
No, this is not the best book ever written about trees, but then again I shouldn't think it is meant to be. But it is handy to have in your pocket. and on a walk or in the countryside you will not see many trees that are not in this book.

As one reviewer has already said the drawings could be better, but they are adequate for the casual 'tree spotter' The information given about each tree is also adequate. There are many more advanced books that can be purchased for the real tree enthusiast (if there is such a term) and these can be used at home after you have made an identification from the Collins gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collins gem 'Trees', 9 July 2012
By 
G. A. Hargreaves "Glenn" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trees (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
A great little book. It's a guide to the most common species of tree in Northern Europe. Truly pocket size with a write-up containing leaf type, flowers, fruit, bark and related species for each tree together with an illustration. Much better than some of the larger more expensive books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wood burning guide substitute..., 17 Nov 2009
By 
David Newton "David Newton - DND Services" (Wetherby, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trees (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
I bought this book to help me identify trees for use on our woodburner. Now there's a book idea!!!
It's pocket sized and robust and does what it says on the cover!
It's always easy to criticise how these books are laid out. However, authors can never know the reason people buy their books so as buyers we need to stop complaining about that aspect.
Great little book overall but cannot give it 5 stars as it wasn't written specifically with ME in mind...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended for tree spotting beginners, 22 Nov 2007
By 
Mr. J. J. Dicker "Jerry" (Thornbury, Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trees (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
I lead tree courses and often recommend this little book for beginners. It has all the information and illustrations you need to get started, with, in my opinion, excellent pictures of leaves, flowers, fruit, winter twigs, bark and, best of all, the tree. Tree shapes in this book are truer than in many more ambitious works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful little pocket book, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trees (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
This is a wonderful little pocket book, it's very handy to carry around and has lovely photos of trees, bark, and foliage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars trees, 7 Nov 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trees (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
The book is a lot smaller than I expected & it is really hard to find the trees you want to find out about. I wish it was easier to use the index.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative book, 9 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: Trees (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
This is a handy size book that provides just the information I was looking for. It outlines the tree. leaf and seed/friut shape so that you can easily identify it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trees (Collins Gem)
Trees (Collins Gem) by Alastair Fitter (Paperback - 1 Jan 2005)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews