Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars57
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£5.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 November 2010
Slightly different and more 'grown up' than most of his story books, this tale is a heartwarming tale of loss told with all the usual grace of Jeffers and his unique art style.

Jeffers has a real knack for getting strong emotions in his childrens' books and this is another example of his fantastic storytelling.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
We all love oliver jeffers. His books are amazing. This one is alot more simple, big beautiful pictures and small amount of story-but a very powerful story. And easy for my children to learn to read. Its the story of a young girl who deals with love and loss and hope. Deeply moving
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2014
Wonderful book, have used this with boys to help talk about loss
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
I love this book. When I first read it to the children, I did not realise at first what was going on till I read it again to the children. Gave me goose bumps. Definitely recommend to teachers.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
Chose this before seeing it purely because I read positive reviews on several sites. Must agree the drawings are lovely, and the story is very charming. The child I gave it to liked it a lot.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2015
Beautiful and touching. My son found it very sad, but understood the message of loss, a tricky subject at the best of times, but made that bit easier with this incredibly effective story.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2015
My five year old daughter asks for this to be read to her repeatedly, though I'm not sure she realises yet what is signified by Grandad's chair being empty. Lovely illustrations too.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
Such a lovely story which really makes the reader think - we've used it in class and the children really enjoyed it. Lots of scope for discussion and imaginative writing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2014
beautiful book dealing with loss
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
I am a great fan of Oliver Jeffers and my young child loves all Jeffers books and so this was simply adding to our collection and we were not disappointed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.