Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock Holmes for small children!
This is an absolutely brilliant picture book - a crime to solve and illustrations that excite and draw in the child reader.
The story line is that, in a nutshell, branches are going missing from trees in the forest and the animals set about working out who has taken them. Meanwhile, we see bear with an axe, a saw, a pile of paper, and getting cross with an...
Published on 10 Sep 2008 by ELH Browning

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not up to the usual Jeffers standard
My family are all big Oliver Jeffers fans so we were very excited about the latest title. The Great Paper Caper is quite different from previous books, although it does have the usual fantastic illustrations and off-the-wall story line. What I don't like so much is the lack of sufficient text on most pages. This either makes the story painfully slow (to allow time to...
Published on 12 Feb 2009 by Spud


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock Holmes for small children!, 10 Sep 2008
By 
ELH Browning "Esther-Lou" (Kingston Bagpuize, Oxon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Great Paper Caper (Hardcover)
This is an absolutely brilliant picture book - a crime to solve and illustrations that excite and draw in the child reader.
The story line is that, in a nutshell, branches are going missing from trees in the forest and the animals set about working out who has taken them. Meanwhile, we see bear with an axe, a saw, a pile of paper, and getting cross with an unsuccessful paper aeroplane. Can we, the readers, work out what is going on in the woods before the animals do?
The animals identify bear as the culprit and he's taken to the police station and then questioned in court where we learn why he has been taking the branches. These are very grown-up concepts and Jeffers has successfully kept the `criminal procedures' both clear and simple, perfect for foundation stage children and Key stage 1 (2-7). The text is short on each double page - only a sentence or two - and there's always something interesting to look at as well, whether it is bear in the background hurrying away, a clue on the ground or looking at the animals thought bubbles. My son (4), for example, loves to dwell on the opening picture of homes under the ground for all the animals before we have even got going on the story.
The illustrations are a bit quirky, with a wry humour for the adult reader, and yet are boldly stylish. The pages have a clean fresh wooden feel to them which is consistent with the green message of the book's publisher - the paper the book is printed upon is from replenished forests. The animal's speech bubbles, in which there are small pictures rather than text, are consistent in their size and almost-rectangular shape so that on opening this book you feel as if you've walked into Habitat! The pictures are also cleverly done to appeal internationally, with North American/Canadian animals suited to the logging habitats such as the beaver and the moose mixing with a boy, a goose and a pig who use a traditionally British red phone box to call generic cop and police car. [My children were also pleased to spot the Jeffers Penguin's cameo appearance as a court spectator.]
After the court case, and after bear has planted seeds to replace the trees he cut down, the animals all help him to achieve his dream, reusing his many prototypes to build a winning paper aeroplane, as bear generations had before him.
This brilliant book also has a bit of "paper planery" on it's end papers (bear's drawings on folding aeroplanes) and a more advanced set of instructions on the secrets of Paper-makery, the recycling of paper in your own home. In all, a fantastic and rounded package of a story.
A masterstroke, and I think Jeffer's best book so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Save the trees!, 8 Sep 2008
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Great Paper Caper (Hardcover)
Oliver Jeffers is the only children's author for whom I check for new releases every-now-and-then, so I was well chuffed to see his latest book available on Amazon.

This is typical of Jeffers' work - a story which isn't too simplistic, accompanied with some fantastic artwork. Jeffers' is my favourite illustrator, he has a unique style and I love the way that the characters really seem to come to life.

This story about how tree branches are going missing contains annotations in the illustrations and little speech bubbles. So depending on whether you want a quick story, or a longer story time session - you can read through those also. The illustrations concerning the ensuing investigation made me chuckle, with creatures hiding behind trees and police investigation tape!

In a nutshell: This isn't a book you'll read with your child once only for it to be put to the bottom of the pile. This is an involved story which introduces fairly articulate concepts and words, this is the only childrens book I've got with the word "alibi" in it for example! Jeffer's has done it again. It looks great and the story is funny without being ridiculous, make sure you spot the penguin (the one introduced in his book Lost and Found)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be nice to trees. Buy this book., 25 May 2009
This review is from: The Great Paper Caper (Hardcover)
An excellent use of paper. Highly recommended. But not if you are missing your humanity. If you are missing your humanity, you will miss the point. Don't say I didn't warn you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not up to the usual Jeffers standard, 12 Feb 2009
By 
Spud (west yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Great Paper Caper (Hardcover)
My family are all big Oliver Jeffers fans so we were very excited about the latest title. The Great Paper Caper is quite different from previous books, although it does have the usual fantastic illustrations and off-the-wall story line. What I don't like so much is the lack of sufficient text on most pages. This either makes the story painfully slow (to allow time to look at the great pictures), or you have to race past the pictures to pace the story well. My only other criticism is that it stops very abruptly and without a real ending.

It's still a good children's book but definitely not as good as other Oliver Jeffers creations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great picture book, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Paper Caper (Paperback)
Oliver Jeffers's picture books are a favourite in our house, with this one currently holding the top spot.

The images are engaging, and the characters and tale are unique and entertaining.

You won't be disappointed with this book, and neither will the kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Paper Caper (Paperback)
Mr. Jeffers is at his even more best with this book, great story, great pictures and fun for all of the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great story - with a bizarre twist, 7 Mar 2013
By 
P. LAVER "Phil Laver" (Aberdeen Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Paper Caper (Hardcover)
Oliver jeffers is amazing

some of his books get a bit too abstract in my opinion (a heart kept inside a bottle anyone?)

But this is the perfect balance of story and weirdness. its kinda like how I imagine a wes anderson children's book would feel like. and thats a good thing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Paper Caper (Paperback)
My kids love this book and ask for it time after time. Adults will like too . . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny ha ha!, 29 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Paper Caper (Paperback)
I really enjoy reading this to my daughter. She loves the illustrations, particularly where the owl falls off his perch. It's funny and detailed enough to bear the repeated readings a two year old likes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 19 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Great Paper Caper (Paperback)
As all the Oliver Jeffers books, this one is a family favourite; my two boys are older now but they still enjoy his stories and read them over and over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Paper Caper
The Great Paper Caper by Oliver Jeffers (Paperback - 30 April 2009)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews