Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars8
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 October 2005
If you ever wanted to know who played who,who filmed what or how would that cut scene have been in the carry ons this book is for you,add to that the added bonus of two full scripts never published before and you have a full evening locked in a quiet room with a real fireside book.From the same author of the complete a-z of dads army and in very much the same vein.A great review of every film,tv show and stage show to a break down of actors,actress, major and minor to cut scenes printed for you to view and a full list of backroom staff even a brief mention for the Carryoons (don't know what the carryoons are? then you will have to buy this book}The book is rather large and heavy and you may have to force yourself to put it down have a swig of brandy and carry on reading for a couple more hours but in my view well worth the effort and you will find yourself going over things more than once, there is so much detail.If you think you have read everything on the Carry ons you haven't but this book comes very close.Well worth a look and a second look.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2006
A fantastic book, over 300 pages packed with all you ever wanted to know about Britains best ever comedy film series. Well researched and excellently written and full of carry on pictures. A must for the carry on fan!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2006
This really is a complete a-z and covers everything!
A well researched and laid out book which will delight fans of the best comedy film series of all time.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2011
This is the ultimate Carry On book in my opinion! If, like myself, you have been a dedicated Carry On fan for decades, and can still sit for hours reading information on this hilarious series and never be bored, then if you buy just one book it has to be this one! There is everything you could ever dream of reading or looking at in this perfect memorabilia - unused scripts, photos, behind-the-scenes stories, locations, brief autobiographies (like on Joan Sims), and a complete list of the dates that each of the films were released! I never get bored of re-reading this entertaining and fun book, and I would definitely recommend it to any true fan!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2009
I wanted this book for a while and i was not disappointed by this book it literally tells you everything about carry on if you are a carry on fan this book is for you.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 April 2016
The 'Carry On' films were always hit-and-miss affairs, but for the most part, they were harmless good fun, representing the best of British comedy. I hadn't read a book about this long running franchise before picking up this heavy hardback which, I must say, is very comprehensive, and an impressive work by Robert Webber, who has written many similar books including near or fully definitive guides on other well-loved comedies such as 'Dad's Army', 'Porridge', 'Only Fools and Horses', and 'One Foot in the Grave'. After this, I don't feel the need to buy any of the other 'Carry On' guides, as this one fully fed my appetite for literature about them.

In 'The Complete A-Z of Everything Carry On', which was authorised by the late 'Carry On' producer Peter Rogers, Webber takes us on a journey through the smutty low-budget movies which made national treasures of seasoned performers such as Sid James, Kenneth Williams, Joan Sims, and that talentless lady with the big boobs (don't shout me down, Dame Barbara Windsor's acting has always been 'patchy' to say the least). Along as every television series and theatre show spin-off, each of the 31 films are focused on in detail, including key moments to keep you're eyes pealed for, the best dialogue, and a wealth of little known facts for avid fans to feast on. Every 'Carry On' actor, whether they be regular or one-off, also receive brief biographies inside, as well as the unsung heroes who worked behind the camera.

As well as the text, there is much illustration throughout this weighty hardback, including rarely seen behind-the-scenes shots, film scripts and storyboards, and memorabilia such as the original movie posters.

This really is the complete history of the Carry On' series, a detailed and thorough guide, which is indispensable to any fan. I enjoyed a good number of these movies, which make perfect light-hearted viewing on a Sunday afternoon or when you're on holiday in a caravan, but if you appreciate them even more than what I do, you'll naturally receive even greater pleasure from this publication of just over ten years ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2016
Not a bad book. Could have been put together a bit better. I think the author should have given the A-Z title a miss and stuck to each film individually. For example, synopsis, facts, locations and cast then photos. The book has too much information scattered throughout because of the A-Z method the author has used, and this for me is too frustrating. Far fewer pictures than I hoped for also.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
I like the carry on films, so this book is great. It gives in depth details of all the films and those involved with making the films, as well as detailed accounts of the actors. Not cheap but worthwhile.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)