Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An unusual tale of storytelling
Lighthousekeeping by Jeanette Winterson tells the story of Silver, a young girl who is orphaned when her mother falls to her death as they climb the cliff that leads to their house. Silver moves in initially with a carer and then into the local lighthouse which is run by a man named Pew. Pew is blind but he is an excellent storyteller, and stories form the basis for their...
Published on 29 July 2011 by Greenleaf

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Children's boook???????
I write this review because of the reason I read the book. I loved the book and wish I was clever enough to unwrap all its layers. I'd recommend it to any open minded adult prepared to have their prejudices about science/responsibility/love/truth/story challenged. However, I read it because Amazon listed it under books for children. In no way is this suitable for...
Published on 8 May 2009 by Fiona Watson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Simple beauty, 7 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lighthousekeeping (Paperback)
A poetic tale of innocence and individuality. I enjoyed it's storytelling, the sea and its solitude. Silver grows up in a landscape cut-off from the mainland/mainstream which she struggles against engaging with in a conventional way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Craftsmanship, 17 April 2009
By 
Joanna Jones (Swansea, Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lighthousekeeping (Paperback)
One of the best pieces of modern literature I have recently read. Beautiful language, intelligent imagery, simple truth and credible magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book - a classic, 28 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lighthousekeeping (Paperback)
Classic, memorable story by a superb writer. Read the blurb. This second hand copy wasn't brilliant but I couldn't find it in the charity shop which would have been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LIGHTHOUSEKEEPING, 27 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lighthousekeeping (Paperback)
A corking read, am ashamed to say this was my first experience of Jeanette Winterson and am now hooked. Am searching her out at Library and 2nd hand book shops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 12 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lighthousekeeping (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book. It's not a traditional story but has wonderful insight into life and relationships and love. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 13 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lighthousekeeping (Kindle Edition)
I absolutely loved this book! Another masterpiece by Jeanette Winterson. Such an amazing use of metaphores and words in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 27 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lighthousekeeping (Kindle Edition)
An excellent novel with a good story supported by strong characters. This makes me seek out other Jeanette Winterson books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read., 1 Aug. 2014
By 
Peter Bayliss (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lighthousekeeping (Paperback)
Winterson never lets you down, a book to keep on the shelf for re-reading. Works on so many levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful!, 13 April 2008
This review is from: Lighthousekeeping (Paperback)
I must admit never having read Jeanette Winterson before, not being a fan of chick lit.
The version I have is an Audio book. While I understand that a reader can make a mediocre book sound excitng and interesting I feel that this is not the case here. I think the book can stand alone as a lovely tale within many tales, tales with no end like the never ending waves of the sea the tales lap at the edges of the imagination with graceful ease.
Take this book to the seaside, in winter, cuddle into your blanket with a hot chocolate, a glass of wine, ( or sated lover) and read these tales in a soft aloud.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hard Going, 22 May 2012
By 
RL Cloherty (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lighthousekeeping (Paperback)
Beautiful writing, but much too much of it. The narrative seems to jump about. Ultimately it ends in the same subject that appears to obsess this writer. I stuck with this hoping for a compelling ending with clear unity of plot to be disappointed when the central character ends up like most of the authors's other central characters. Another aspect that upset me was that a great engineering dynasty like the Stevensons' were dragged into this thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lighthousekeeping
Lighthousekeeping by Jeanette Winterson (Paperback - 3 May 2005)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews