Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Death for Sale
Most things in life that can be owned are going to be collected by someone be it stamps, beer cans, or butterflies. However, one of the darker sides of memorabilia collecting is those that collect things linked to serial killers. Detectives Caron and Nautilus stumble across this world in `The Death Collectors' as they try to uncover what a recent murder has to do with a...
Published on 17 Mar 2009 by Sam Tyler

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but nothing more
I enjoyed Kerley's first novel and was curious to see how he would follow it up. The Death Collectors comes across as a fairly standard crime book, never really scratching more than the surface or plunging into deep dark corners like it's predessesor.

Carson and Nautilus continue to entertain and solidify their foundations as likeable characters, however the...
Published on 8 Sep 2006 by Hugh Sutherland


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Death for Sale, 17 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: The Death Collectors (Carson Ryder, Book 2) (Paperback)
Most things in life that can be owned are going to be collected by someone be it stamps, beer cans, or butterflies. However, one of the darker sides of memorabilia collecting is those that collect things linked to serial killers. Detectives Caron and Nautilus stumble across this world in `The Death Collectors' as they try to uncover what a recent murder has to do with a serial killer who has been dead for more than 30 years. Jack Kerley is able to introduce a very real feeling world of legal (and illegal) macabre item collecting. For about three quarters of the book Kernick keeps things in the realms of possibility only becoming more sensationalist in the final section. This works as the book becomes silly, but also fast pace and fun.

Another reason why Kerley's Detective Carson novels work is because of Carson and his partner Nautilus' relationship. Carson is a bit eccentric, but he always gets results so is allowed to carry on; whilst Nautilus is more world weary and old school. In other books in the series Carson's deranged brother plays a major role. Here he takes a back seat and the book benefits from being able to concentrate on a story rather than this odd character. I enjoyed the book, and although it was somewhat generic, the insight into death collectors was good and the story was a fast and fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good follow-up to The Hundredth Man, 30 Jan 2007
By 
Phil Robertshaw (North Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Death Collectors (Carson Ryder, Book 2) (Paperback)
Jack Kerley is not one of the best known crime writers, but on the evidence of his first two books, has enough original material to establish himself in the genre. The Hundredth Man was a good debut, and The Death Collectors is the second case for Carson Ryder and Harry Nautilus. The lead character, Ryder, is entertaining yet sensitive.

This is quite a complex plot, harking back to a series of murders committed a few decades earlier, and prominently featuring collectors of serial killer 'memorabilia'. The addition of the character Danbury is not entirely welcome, but fortunately this does not grate to the extent of putting one off the book altogether. If you can stick with it, The Death Collectors is a good story and worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but nothing more, 8 Sep 2006
By 
Hugh Sutherland "hughs1206" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Death Collectors (Carson Ryder, Book 2) (Paperback)
I enjoyed Kerley's first novel and was curious to see how he would follow it up. The Death Collectors comes across as a fairly standard crime book, never really scratching more than the surface or plunging into deep dark corners like it's predessesor.

Carson and Nautilus continue to entertain and solidify their foundations as likeable characters, however the introduction of Danbury as a third partner all just seems a bit unnecessary. It feels the Kerley's attemt to create a plucky and fiesty female character slightly backfires as she comes across as just rather annoying.

The plot, although entertaining somehow feels rather diluted and slightly unfulfilling.

A good read but somehow falls just short of the mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's art, Carson but not as we know it., 28 Aug 2006
By 
Michael Watson "skirrow22" (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Death Collectors (Carson Ryder, Book 2) (Paperback)
Having recently read 'The Hundreth Man', I was looking forward to the second story featuring Carson Ryder and his senior partner, Harry Nautilus. Jack Kerley is such an underrated author. The story of yet another serial killer moves along at an artistic pace and I'm always surprised at how much knowledge Ryder has tucked away in his little grey cells! His psychotic brother features again, though not so vividly this time, although, as before, without him, Carson would be struggling to find the answers. Ryder's found a new girl and I have to say she seems a much better deal than the strange Ava he saddled himself with last time round. Between them, they manage to find the killer though it's very difficult for the reader to come up with the same conclusion, given the lack of clues. My only gripe here is that I have to stretch imagination to believe that killer really is the killer, if you see what I mean? I'll say no more on that so as not to spoil the outcome for others. Suffice to say, this is an eminently readable book, well-crafted, well-written and the bonus is the reader will definitely want to buy The Broken Souls - well, this reader certainly did and has done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Death Collectors, 5 Jan 2006
By A Customer
Having read The Hundreth Man, Kerley's first novel, could'nt wait to read the follow on. I wasn't disapointed, absolutley brilliant. Great characters,gripping story, cant wait for Carson and Harry's next case. Loved his style of writing very descriptive. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good book. I enjoyed it a lot - especially the twist at the end! Have a go and see if you do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Addicted to Carson Ryder!, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My findings so far: -
I'm new to Jack Kerley books, having discovered both the first and second within the past week (loved them both) and now on to the third!
I love psychological thrillers and really enjoy the way Kerley writes: there is substance to the characters and the plots are good, keeping you guessing without being overly convoluted, whilst also maintaining the most imortant why/whodunnit. Yes there is gore (inescapable with headless corpses!), but not so much so that it feels gratuitous.
Keep going Mr Kerley - I understand you're on book number 10, but I'm a fast reader and am hot on your heels!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 17 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An enjoyable read that kept me busy for a week. Worth a read, you wont be disappointed. I have now read all his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant read, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I sat at my dying mothers' bedside reading this book. It was a brilliant read... interesting characters, comedic scenes which lightened the darker intense moments. Good twist. Thank you for another brilliant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read., 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent read from Jack Kerley. Couldn't wait to finish but only to see who the killer was and so I could move on to the next book. He keeps you interested that way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Death Collectors (Carson Ryder, Book 2)
The Death Collectors (Carson Ryder, Book 2) by Jack Kerley (Paperback - 2 May 2006)
£6.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews