Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Welsh Poetry of Dylan Thomas
None other than the great Welsh mind and poet that is Dylan Thomas with his mesmerising voice that draws you into his world and takes you on a journey of description and brilliance. Excellent
Published on 17 Oct. 2012 by Jacqueline

versus
15 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DYLAN THOMAS READING HIS POETRY: COMPLETE AN UNABRIDGED
This CD was bought expressly to hear Dylan reading " Do Not Go Gentle" so if this is one of your favourites then beware! i was really looking forward to receiving it and would have liked to have reviewed it. Sadly, although the CD cover was correct, as was the label, the CD itself turned out to be an entirely different Thomas recording. It comes from Amazon Europe so...
Published on 20 Jun. 2010 by CARDIFF GIRL


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Welsh Poetry of Dylan Thomas, 17 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dylan Thomas Reading His Poetry: Complete & Unabridged (Audio CD)
None other than the great Welsh mind and poet that is Dylan Thomas with his mesmerising voice that draws you into his world and takes you on a journey of description and brilliance. Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unique talent, 20 Feb. 2013
By 
William R. Woods (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dylan Thomas Reading His Poetry: Complete & Unabridged (Audio CD)
There can be few who enjoy poetry who have not been deeply moved by works like Fern Hill. To hear them read by the author increases markedly their emotional impact. Not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dylan himself, 4 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Dylan Thomas Reading His Poetry: Complete & Unabridged (Audio CD)
A really good cd though admittedly not everyone's '"cup of tea". Great listening material. I recommend it to all ages! Well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will the real Dylan Thomas speak up, 5 July 2012
This review is from: Dylan Thomas Reading His Poetry: Complete & Unabridged (Audio CD)
When I bought a couple of Dylan Thomas vinyls, him reading his poems like, I went who is this bleedin toff reading in a plummy BBC accent? Who stole the little runty Welshman? See, my excuse was I only had heard him in me head. All those books of his and biographies I read through the seventies. I could recite "Do not go gentle" and a fair chunk of "Childs Xmas". I loved the trickery of his words, the inverted poems, the shapes on the page that showed the brilliance of his mind, his craft and earthy humour. So I kind of imagined someone wheezier than Burton, but full of ale and rollicking his way through his work like a boar badger, smelly, more than a bit wild and certainly not someone you'd lend a fiver to and expect to see it return...But, damn the man. It is good hearing him recite his own work. You can hear how he wrote to be read, the emphasis on words that is richly vibrant. Just wish they would release him reading Under Milkwood. I am sure I had that on vinyl, it was good and it went missing. I use it in the car on longish journeys. Works for me and a lot of his work is still spell binding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The readings of 'In my craft or sullen art' and ..., 20 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dylan Thomas Reading His Poetry: Complete & Unabridged (Audio CD)
The readings of 'In my craft or sullen art' and 'Over Sir John's Hill' alone are worth the price of this collection. These two readings are a quiet, anguished Thomas you don't usually hear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original, 6 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dylan Thomas Reading His Poetry: Complete & Unabridged (Audio CD)
If you like the poetry of Dylan Thomas then you will love this. To actually here the great man himself reading his own poetry as he wrote it to be read! It adds a whole new aspect to the poem and you can hear the passion and power in his voice - many of the poems being read like a sermon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's to say?, 19 July 2014
By 
Midlander (Middle earth) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dylan Thomas Reading His Poetry: Complete & Unabridged (Audio CD)
What's to say? The main man reading his own prose. If you like it, (& I do) ... it doesn't come better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dylan thomas reading his poetry, 19 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Dylan Thomas Reading His Poetry: Complete & Unabridged (Audio CD)
no one else could read these poems as Dylan Thomas did, they gain all another beauty through his melancolic and deep voice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dylan Thomas Reading His Poetry: Complete & Unabridged (Audio CD)
brilliant - as expected!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dylan Thomas Reading His Poetry: Complete & Unabridged (Audio CD)
Lovely stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dylan Thomas Reading His Poetry: Complete & Unabridged
Dylan Thomas Reading His Poetry: Complete & Unabridged by Dylan Thomas (Audio CD - 16 Feb. 2004)
£12.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews