Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind blowing
This is a very strange ending to the ring trilogy (barring birthday). The twist is really unexpected and not forced or artifical. i found this to be an enjoyable read which adds context to the ring story. The characters are well developed, but one could argue that the twist removes the supernatural terror which the ring is renowned for and replaces it with a technological...
Published on 29 Jan 2011 by Dr. Mark

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unusual approach
Let it be said that Loop is not a horror tale. In fact it is more sci-fi than any other genre. It follows the search for a cure to a new form of cancer and is linked to the previous Ring novel, Spiral. The characterisation is well presented and the science, although heavy at times, is usually represented in a form so all readers can follow the plot. The lack of menace or...
Published on 16 Feb 2008 by SonicQuack


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unusual approach, 16 Feb 2008
By 
SonicQuack (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Loop (Paperback)
Let it be said that Loop is not a horror tale. In fact it is more sci-fi than any other genre. It follows the search for a cure to a new form of cancer and is linked to the previous Ring novel, Spiral. The characterisation is well presented and the science, although heavy at times, is usually represented in a form so all readers can follow the plot. The lack of menace or indeed action of any sort may leave readers disappointed with Loop, yet the story is smart in it's approach, and its plot is rooted in the previous volumes, although taken in a new direction. Overall Loop is an interesting idea but never turns in to a real page-turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind blowing, 29 Jan 2011
This review is from: Loop (Paperback)
This is a very strange ending to the ring trilogy (barring birthday). The twist is really unexpected and not forced or artifical. i found this to be an enjoyable read which adds context to the ring story. The characters are well developed, but one could argue that the twist removes the supernatural terror which the ring is renowned for and replaces it with a technological explanation. Still highly recommended. Better than Spiral, not as good as Ring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected Direction, 10 Feb 2014
By 
K. Burton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loop (Kindle Edition)
This book took the series in a totally unexpected direction and did a good job of explaining the supernatural mysteries of the previous two. I really liked the change in tone through the whole series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loop (Paperback)
Love the book, but would rather want to read about Sadako before Ring and Spiral, that would be a great book to read. Birthday was just had a small part about sadako.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good Twist for A Sci-Horror Book, 8 Aug 2007
This review is from: Loop (Paperback)
Unlike the previous review, i think he talks alot of rubbish. Ring did make the way for the Ringu trilogy that we are all familar with. When i bought the rest of the book series, i was very suprise. It wasnt anything like the sequel movies it had a very interesting spin on what the first book had set up. I dont want to spoil the rest of the series for you, but i do agree that the spiral book is a bit slow but loop and birthday are great sci-horror books. I would definately recomend it to all sci-horror fans and fans of the movie series should give it a try too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loop (Paperback)
Arrived as promised, good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The law of diminishing returns, 12 July 2007
By 
Davywavy2 - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loop (Paperback)
Few people would disagree that the first book of this series - Ring - was probably the most influencial creation in horror in the last decade. The idea of undead Sadako Yamamura crawling out of the TV has spawned an entire 'J-Horror' industry, from film, to games to other books to spoofs.
Ring (Ringu) scared the bejeezus out of me, and so I was interested in where Suzuki took the series next. Sadly, it appears that as an author he only had one really good idea. The first sequel (Spiral) was lacklustre at best, and the second (Loop) is downright awful.
The problem is that horror relies upon the unknown to be frightening, and so the more it is explained, the less scary it gets. Spiral went some way to explaining Sadako, and Loop dismisses her astonishing powers with a single throwaway line - completely removing all suspense from the narrative. Instead all we're left with is a book in which all the twists are explained before they happen, which doesn't make for a very effective thriller.
The storyline follows Kauru, a precocious youth who lives in a dysfunctional family. When his father to struck down by a new form of cancer, he goes on a long journey to find the source and cure of the disease. It's here the story explains away all the horror and unexplained of the first two books, and the only surprise is just how dull the explaination is. By turns leaden, knowingly self-referential and trite, the story plods from set piece to set piece, assuming an ignorance of genetics and computing on the part of the reader in order to drive the plot towards to a conclusion which reads less like the cumulation to a wildly influencial horror trilogy, and more like to the script to a 1980's straight-to-video sci-fi movie.

If you're a fan of horror, or the Ring series, this is definitely one to avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing..., 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loop (Kindle Edition)
Was really enjoying this book until the ending, so disappointed. Reminded me of the ending to the dark tower series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and boring, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loop (Kindle Edition)
I found this final instalment of the Ring series seriously disappointing and far fetched. I understand it should be classed as sci-fi but I feel this book completely took away from the atmospheres built by the previous two novels. If you're wondering about reading this instalment, it would be easy enough to completely miss it out and just enjoy the ending of Spiral.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Loop
Loop by Koji Suzuki (Paperback - 29 July 2011)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews