Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So easy to read - you won't want to put it down!
I've never read any books by this author before, so I partly bought it because it had good reviews by Marian Keyes & Sophie Kinsella but also because it sounded interesting & different to the usual chick-lit formula.
I have to agree with Jennie, another reviewer, because i also read the book in 3 days as I couldn't wait to see what became of Laura...
Published on 23 Feb 2006 by natters

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Predictable
I've read a number of Isabel Wolff novels and really enjoyed them but this was predictable and disappointing. The storyline with Luke and Magda was irritating and unbelievable.
Published 6 months ago by Jeanette


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So easy to read - you won't want to put it down!, 23 Feb 2006
This review is from: A Question of Love (Paperback)
I've never read any books by this author before, so I partly bought it because it had good reviews by Marian Keyes & Sophie Kinsella but also because it sounded interesting & different to the usual chick-lit formula.
I have to agree with Jennie, another reviewer, because i also read the book in 3 days as I couldn't wait to see what became of Laura & who she ended up with (could see that one coming a mile off!) & if anything was heard of her husband. On that note, as another reviewer said this is the first chick-lit book that has dealt with missing persons & the author treated the subject very well & had obviously done her homework on the topic as with the Cuddles project which sounded fabulous & why haven't we got a similar one over here?!
The way the book revolves around the new quiz is fantastic & very unique, also you seem to be able to relate to all the characters in one way or another & feel for all of their problems & poor Laura seems to get dragged into alll of their issues!
I would definitely recommend this author & book & am going to look out for her previous books now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Question Of Love, 3 Aug 2005
This review is from: A Question of Love (Paperback)
A book worth waiting for.

Isabel Wolff is developing in new and unexpected ways. Set against the backdrop of a brilliantly inventive TV quiz show (TV programme controllers take note!), 'A Question of Love' explores how not being able to let go of the past clouds our judgement when choosing a partner. As with Isabel Wolff's previous books, this novel is full of humour - especially the terrible ex-wife - but it is also serious in nature, and often very moving - especially on the subject of babies. Whilst the cover suggests it is primarily a 'girly' read, that dramatically underplays how emotionally satisfying this book is, as it rasies questions about love and forgiveness, and about what we are prepared to do for our beloved. As for the fictional quiz - it is a gem - I see Jeremy Paxman as the ideal host!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Questions and Answers, 17 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: A Question of Love (Paperback)
Heroine Laura has just landed a job as a TV quiz presenter. This makes her happy, but also worried as she has a huge skeleton rattling away in her closet and is terrified of tabloid exposure if she becomes famous (she does). She meets her old boyfriend but he now has a little girl - and a crazy ex-wife in tow (the parts with the wife and her pygmy goats are hilarious ). As Laura's celebrity grows the journalists close in like killer sharks, trying to expose the truth about Laura's life with her ex-husband . This mystery (along with other smaller ones concerning her two sisters) drives the story, making the book breeze along. I enjoyed the way the story was themed to the quiz itself and to the idea of differnet kinds of knowledge that people can have. In addition to the clever quiz stuff - amusing/interesting facts etc. - there is a lot of emotion, both about the sadness of divorced dads, and about the desire for babies. The scene in the hospital is one of the most moving scenes I have read in any book. The author manages to be genuinely moving without being sentimental, and the ending, though not a hollywood one is upbeat. I highly recommended A Question of Love as a warm, touching , funny and unpredictable light read with lots of depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice easy read, 27 Jun 2005
This review is from: A Question of Love (Paperback)
I have read all previous books by this author and having enjoyed them thoroughly could not wait to get my hands on her latest offering. I found the storyline refreshing, the missing person aspect being a field not often covered by chick lit. I read the book in 3 days I couldn't wait to find out what happened but I was a little disappointed wuth the ending it seemed as though the author was in a hurry to finish the story. However I would still recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An immensely readable, poignant, book., 19 July 2005
By 
This review is from: A Question of Love (Paperback)
I've read and enjoyed all Isabel Wolff's books so I always look forward to her next one. But as a lover of quizzes, this book was particularly appealing to me and I eagerly snapped it up.
Heroine Laura Quick is a quiz setter whose skill and knowledge see her shoot to fame in a new television quiz show. But Laura has a secret, or two, and she's terrified that if the show is a success, her past will come tumbling out in the tabloids. Despite her newly-acquired but reluctant TV fame, Laura is a shy person more at home with facts than feelings so she finds recognition hard to face. In a world full of eight-year-old wannabes who desire nothing more than fame for its own sake, Laura makes a refreshing heroine; someone who richly deserves her celluloid accolade.
But this is so much more than a story about sudden fame and how weird, and frightening, that can be. For when Laura meets and rekindles an old flame, she discovers that he's no longer alone - he has a six-year-old child and a terrifyingly unpredictable ex-wife. This takes the novel into a much deeper, darker, terrain.
Children pepper this novel from the pain of being separated from them to wondering if you'll ever have them yourself. Anyone who has fallen in love with someone who already has kids, or knows someone who has - which must be practically all of us - will wince in recognition at the myriad joys, but also pain, children can bring. The sensitive way this is handled make this a very grown-up, moving, read.
It's beautifully told, fluently written, and evokes a lovely part of London that is a delight to live in for the duration of the novel. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing and unpredictable, 19 July 2006
This review is from: A Question of Love (Paperback)
Lots of books with pastel covers do have a same-y quality about them, but not this one. It's full of fun, but full of depth too, and peopled with flawed characters facing unusual challenges which a lesser writer would have shied away from. I found it a really satisfying read, and would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imaginative and inventive. Summer reading with a bonus!, 18 July 2006
This review is from: A Question of Love (Paperback)
This is the first novel I've read by Isabel Wolff and I was impressed. It's extremely readable and great fun, but there is also a sharp intelligence at work both in the characterisation - these are complex people - and in the sheer invention of the plot devices and themes. The imagined quiz programme on which the heroine works is absolutely plausible and allows the writer to pack the narrative with all sorts of interesting facts. The storyline is unpredictable and there are some genuinely touching, but never sentimental, moments. I'm looking forward to reading more novels by this very charming writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable, 5 Aug 2006
By 
K. HILL (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Question of Love (Paperback)
An excellent read by Isabel Wolff. The characters and story line are enthralling to the end. slightly predictable in parts but neverthless a very enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny and emotional in all the right places, 2 April 2009
This review is from: A Question of Love (Paperback)
This is a very good light-hearted read, its one of those books you pick up and then can't put down again. I found myself itching to get to the end to see what happens to Laura and her sisters, and then disappointed when there was no more left to read. Its an easy, fun and well written book, and would recommend to anyone in need of a good chick book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feel-good fun, 27 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: A Question of Love (Paperback)
I finished this book in a few hours, and I have to say that it was rather more original than the usual romantic novels that I have such a weakness for! I particularly liked the initial mystery surrounding Laura's (the main character) husband's disappearance and the various twists.
It's the first Isabel Wolff novel I've read, and already I'm searching for more of her books to devour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Question of Love
A Question of Love by Isabel Wolff (Paperback - 1 Feb 2006)
£5.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews