Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget Me Not
Forget Me Not is an emotional rollercoaster of a read. From the very first chapter, I was enveloped by how Anna, a garden designer to be, deals with the sudden death of her mother. This central theme was elegantly transposed alongside the different kinds of grief that a failed relationship leaves behind.

Then came a number of mysteries to be unravelled in...
Published on 29 Mar 2007 by Gia Nasya

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the story is okay - easy to read
I finished this book last week and am now struggling to remember the name of the main character..! I think this gives a sense of the story - plot a little predictable and characters not particularly memorable. Some of the reactions stuck me as rather unrealistic, especially those by the character Xan - he comes across very 2D overall. To conclude, the story is okay -...
Published 2 months ago by Jacqueline Reed


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget Me Not, 29 Mar 2007
This review is from: Forget me Not (Paperback)
Forget Me Not is an emotional rollercoaster of a read. From the very first chapter, I was enveloped by how Anna, a garden designer to be, deals with the sudden death of her mother. This central theme was elegantly transposed alongside the different kinds of grief that a failed relationship leaves behind.

Then came a number of mysteries to be unravelled in Anna's life - not least regarding the paternity of her friend Jenny's baby, and the old photos Anna finds of her mother. Alongside these pages turning storylines, and plenty of wit and humor. I've picked quite a few tricks which I might try on my garden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT, 9 Nov 2008
By 
J. Louis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Forget Me Not (Paperback)
I got this book free in a goody bag & it has been sat on my shelf since early summer! After finishing another book recently and having nothing else to read, I decided to give this a go. I was a bit reluctant as I thoughtas it was being given away, it wouldnt be up to much! How wrong I was!!! I truly love this book. Its amusing, heart warming & I can not put it down!! I am now about to add her other books to my christmas wish list on whatidreallylikeis.com
Dont delay, buy this book now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sweet story of family and relationships, 14 Dec 2011
By 
Nicola F (Nic) (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forget Me Not (Paperback)
After having enjoyed `A Vintage Affair' so much recently, I was keen to try one of the author's other books and see if it read just as beautifully as that one. I was pleased to find that this was another wonderful, emotional read; women's fiction with real substance to it and very well written characters that I came to care about.

This book features thirty-something City-worker Anna, whose conventional life is turned on its head when she unexpectedly finds herself facing life as a single mother, after having recently lost her own mum. Amidst the grief and loss, Anna is determined to make a new life for herself and her daughter, even if that means completely changing her career.

The overall message of the story is basically `life is short, so make the most of it. Sometimes the most unexpected of things can happen.' I enjoyed this book as it is told in a very nostalgic, reminiscing way as Anna reflects back on times spent with her mother as well as her relationship with Milly's father. As a keen gardener myself, I also loved all of the references to flowers and gardening that were interspersed within the story- particularly Anna's mum's words of wisdom about her daughter finding herself a `perennial' man, rather than a hardy annual! There is some beautiful scene setting in the story too, particularly at the beginning when Anna and her father are clearing out Anna's childhood home and Anna reflects back on growing up there. It was sad though, particularly the descriptions of Anna's father being `aged with grief.' I found in Wolff's other book that I grew a bit emotional unexpectedly in certain points and it was the same here, too. I think if you have ever lost someone close to you then this book might get to you.

As an aside, there were some things about this book that I didn't particularly like which is why I have deducted a star. A personal pet peeve of mine is children's `baby talk' within the text- spelled exactly the way a young child would say it. I'm sure a reader understands how young children talk after all, so it's really not necessary to have this emphasised in the text- nor is it `cute.' Whenever toddler Milly said anything I really found myself noticeably cringing and it did spoil certain aspects of the story for me. Also, some of Xan's dialogue was beyond awkward- particularly as he kept referring to Anna as a `glacier.' Ugh. Some chat-up line. Also, like the other book, I found the epilogue of this one to be a bit short- I would have like it to have been expanded a bit more on the romantic front.

Niggles aside, this was still a lovely story to read with twists and turns and family secrets and not too maudlin either given that the theme of grief featured quite predominantly in it, though I did prefer `A Vintage Affair' to this one, as for me, that storyline was a bit stronger and more imaginative. I would recommend this novel however if you enjoy women's fiction with a bit of substance about it and with great characterisation. I will be reading more by this author in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Temple of Delight, 13 Nov 2007
By 
This review is from: Forget Me Not (Paperback)
Another lovely novel from Isabel Wolff. What I like about her writing is that she is never afraid to tackle difficult emotions, and she does so with such warmth, humour and intelligence that it makes for a really satisfying read. Her books are also very informative. After reading this, I feel I am a gardener, even though I have only ever managed to grow a few geraniums in a terracotta pot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a lovely book, 12 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forget Me Not (Kindle Edition)
An easy read with a gentle storyline, believable characters and good narrative. I will look for more books by this author. The v
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous romance, 21 Nov 2013
By 
Ms. A. Brooke "Anne Brooke" (Godalming, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Forget Me Not (Paperback)
This was a cut above the usual chick lit offering, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The main character, Anna, was both charming and sparky, and I loved reading about her adventures through unexpected motherhood and setting up her new gardening business.

The cast of characters was also very good indeed, and it's a definite page turner. I've not read any Wolff before, but will be looking out for her books in the future. Plus the romantic ending was perfect and a great choice for the character. A fabulously uplifting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging, 10 Oct 2013
This review is from: Forget Me Not (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyable novel of anxieties facing many people in the ups and downs of changing relationships. As with
all of Isabel Wolff's novels it is set in a background where the reader also learns about the work of the main character- in this case garden design.Aaron
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant read., 3 Oct 2013
By 
Miss Victoria Venn "mrs spanner" (bristol uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Forget Me Not (Kindle Edition)
It was a fab book. Loved it, loved it, loved it. It was a brilliant read. Would definitely read more of here work. Xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light Read., 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forget Me Not (Kindle Edition)
Sort of book to curl up with on a winter afternoon. Well I found it so and also got some rather useful tips along the way. Nice easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lovely romance, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forget Me Not (Kindle Edition)
Bought this through kindle for my holiday and couldn't put it down. Well written easy to read and lovely storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Forget me Not
Forget me Not by Isabel Wolff (Paperback - 5 Mar 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews