Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Class and fully comprehensive
This is undoubtedly the best and most comprehensive dictionary on the market for serious crossword addicts. For those of us who have to "cheat" occasionally to complete a crossword it is definitely the first book of reference to choose. I give it five stars plus.
Published on 29 Nov 2001 by Mrs H M Sears

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bradford's crossword solver dictionary gem edition
I bought this not realising this was the gem version and have subsequently bought the full size version.
The full size version costs more but contains loads more definitions and word lists and is in my opinion much better value. The only reason I would buy this again, would be to have as a portable maybe.
Published on 11 Mar 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Bradfords Crossword Solvers Dictionary, 15 Nov 2009
By 
M. Edwards (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent book for serious (and not so serious)crossworders. It gives many alternative suggestions on all manner of topics. An invaluable source of reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 5 Oct 2009
Very pleased with item. Well worth the money, an essential buy for all crossword solvers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wouldn't be without it, 14 Aug 2009
By 
Sheila Smith (Lancs. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book to replace the one I have had for some years - it is nearly dropping to bits with all the usage! I find it the most valuable help I have for completing all the many crosswords I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Gold Standard for solving crosswords, 1 Feb 2009
By 
Collins Bradford's Crossword Solver's Dictionary

This is my third book I've used in the last ten years - the others fell apart eventually from constant use in solving cryptic Herald Crosswords .It is compact and very well cross referenced - I recommend it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bradford's Crossword Lists, 9 Sep 2007
I was very disappointed with this book. The very first thing I wanted to look up was "4-letter reddish colours" but there wasn't a heading of "colours" so I tried "shades" but still with no luck. I then had to scour the entire index and eventually found it in the R's under Shades of red.

Likewise, Boys' Names are under F ?? Yes, they're under "First Names" !!

I now have an index full of my scribbles on where to find everything!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars crossword dictionary, 1 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is quite a good dictionary, but not as good as I expected. I still have to use another one along side of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collins Gem - Bradford's Crossword Solver's Dictionary
Collins Gem - Bradford's Crossword Solver's Dictionary by Anne R. Bradford (Paperback - 5 April 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews