Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars16
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 April 2005
It is amazing just how much history one can learn from this book. It features a large quantity of information concerning the Enigma cipher, including the way it works and how it can be broken. From this book, a person can realise just what an essential role codes and ciphers play in history and how unpopular were the codemakers and their opponents, the codebreakers.
Overall, it is extremely informative and helpful in case you are interested in codes.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2010
I have a mathematical background, but I don't habitually read maths books "for fun"! However, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this and couldn't put it down. I also enjoyed deciphering some of the simpler messages in the appendix - this exercise should appeal to anyone who likes word or number puzzles. I will definitely be buying more of Simon Singh's books.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 December 2012
'The Cracking Codebook' is, chapter by chapter, virtually indistinguishable from Simon Singh's other, and excellently informative, The Code Book: The Secret History of Codes and Code-breaking. As far as I can see the main difference is that 'The Code Book' contains additional - and extremely interesting - information on quantum computing and quantum cryptography. See my review on Amazon.

Fortunately my copy of 'The Cracking Codebook' was second-hand and cost me £0.01 plus the postage.
44 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
This is essentially "The Code Book" minus a few photographs. A very detailed and logical description of the various ciphers used over the centuries and the clever techniques adopted in decrypting them. It explains for the first time in the public domain the UK contribution to the science of modern cryptography and gives credit to those involved who would otherwise have gone unrecognised for their revolutionary discoveries.

Very well written and very readable for the interested, intelligent layman.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2010
Very good book to read about cryptology in Second World War (Europe, not Pacific). It is focus in the Enigma cipher and how it was broken. The good thing about it, it talks about the Polish contribution and not only about the British final unscramble of the cipher. Enjoyable.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2003
The Code Book: How to Make It, Break It, Hack It, or Crack It
Excellent,Marvolous, Fantastic!
What more can i say?
If your keen on learning about cryptograhy which now-a-days is in high demand for big buisnesses such as atkins global, and many software companys, then get this book! It is a great read, packed with lots of very usefull information layed out with excellent precision whilst still holding the charicteristics of an easily readable book. Being able to pick up a book and read it is one thing, being able to pick up a book, be pulled in to its pages whilst you read it and then be able to show how much you have understood and learnt by putting your new skills into practise is another! Whether you are looking forward at a career in cryptography or you just want to stock up the knowledge, this is your best bet!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2006
This is definitely a must read book. Simon walks the reader through the universe of crytography and maths as your mum would explain it to you! Being in the field of communications I could readily appreciate the link but it also impressed my friend who is in the field of accounting! So for one second just take a dive at being a student again and let Simon guide you through!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2012
I think this was one of Simon Singh's earlier works, and the writing certainly doesn't have the assured authority of Fermat's Last Theorem: The story of a riddle that confounded the world's greatest minds for 358 years for instance. However, as with all of Singh's books, his erudition and enthusiasm shine through, and this is a very enjoyable read. I recommend it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
A very easy to read book, ideal for year 7 onwards. It explains why codes are necessary, provides a lot of history about how they were used, covers the Enigma machine, the development of RSA coding, and touches on quantum coding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2010
This was the only book written by Simon Singh I had not read because the subject did not appeal to me.
I am glad I did. Simon Singh succeeds in making any subject he writes about an exciting experience for the reader.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse