Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read!
It is amazing just how much history one can learn from this book. It features a large quantity of information concerning the Enigma cipher, including the way it works and how it can be broken. From this book, a person can realise just what an essential role codes and ciphers play in history and how unpopular were the codemakers and their opponents, the codebreakers...
Published on 29 April 2005 by ipchuk

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars This book is sold as an entirely new volume but ...
This book is sold as an entirely new volume but is exactly the sam as the original. I should have " looked inside ".
Published 5 months ago by The Bludger


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read!, 29 April 2005
This review is from: The Cracking Code Book (Paperback)
It is amazing just how much history one can learn from this book. It features a large quantity of information concerning the Enigma cipher, including the way it works and how it can be broken. From this book, a person can realise just what an essential role codes and ciphers play in history and how unpopular were the codemakers and their opponents, the codebreakers.
Overall, it is extremely informative and helpful in case you are interested in codes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good fun, 14 Sept. 2010
This review is from: The Cracking Code Book (Paperback)
I have a mathematical background, but I don't habitually read maths books "for fun"! However, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this and couldn't put it down. I also enjoyed deciphering some of the simpler messages in the appendix - this exercise should appeal to anyone who likes word or number puzzles. I will definitely be buying more of Simon Singh's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This seems to be a slightly reduced version of "The Code Book" by the same author. It may also be cheaper., 23 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cracking Code Book (Paperback)
This is essentially "The Code Book" minus a few photographs. A very detailed and logical description of the various ciphers used over the centuries and the clever techniques adopted in decrypting them. It explains for the first time in the public domain the UK contribution to the science of modern cryptography and gives credit to those involved who would otherwise have gone unrecognised for their revolutionary discoveries.

Very well written and very readable for the interested, intelligent layman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unfortunately it's a copy..., 8 Dec. 2012
By 
Terry D "tdawson735" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cracking Code Book (Paperback)
'The Cracking Codebook' is, chapter by chapter, virtually indistinguishable from Simon Singh's other, and excellently informative, The Code Book: The Secret History of Codes and Code-breaking. As far as I can see the main difference is that 'The Code Book' contains additional - and extremely interesting - information on quantum computing and quantum cryptography. See my review on Amazon.

Fortunately my copy of 'The Cracking Codebook' was second-hand and cost me £0.01 plus the postage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amusing book about cryptology, 17 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cracking Code Book (Paperback)
Very good book to read about cryptology in Second World War (Europe, not Pacific). It is focus in the Enigma cipher and how it was broken. The good thing about it, it talks about the Polish contribution and not only about the British final unscramble of the cipher. Enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make, Break, Hack And Crack- Fabulous!, 2 July 2003
The Code Book: How to Make It, Break It, Hack It, or Crack It
Excellent,Marvolous, Fantastic!
What more can i say?
If your keen on learning about cryptograhy which now-a-days is in high demand for big buisnesses such as atkins global, and many software companys, then get this book! It is a great read, packed with lots of very usefull information layed out with excellent precision whilst still holding the charicteristics of an easily readable book. Being able to pick up a book and read it is one thing, being able to pick up a book, be pulled in to its pages whilst you read it and then be able to show how much you have understood and learnt by putting your new skills into practise is another! Whether you are looking forward at a career in cryptography or you just want to stock up the knowledge, this is your best bet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read, 29 Jun. 2006
This review is from: The Cracking Code Book (Paperback)
This is definitely a must read book. Simon walks the reader through the universe of crytography and maths as your mum would explain it to you! Being in the field of communications I could readily appreciate the link but it also impressed my friend who is in the field of accounting! So for one second just take a dive at being a student again and let Simon guide you through!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating insight, 27 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cracking Code Book (Paperback)
I think this was one of Simon Singh's earlier works, and the writing certainly doesn't have the assured authority of Fermat's Last Theorem: The story of a riddle that confounded the world's greatest minds for 358 years for instance. However, as with all of Singh's books, his erudition and enthusiasm shine through, and this is a very enjoyable read. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent starter..., 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cracking Code Book (Paperback)
A very easy to read book, ideal for year 7 onwards. It explains why codes are necessary, provides a lot of history about how they were used, covers the Enigma machine, the development of RSA coding, and touches on quantum coding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 5 Jun. 2010
By 
J. M. Wardenaar (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cracking Code Book (Paperback)
This was the only book written by Simon Singh I had not read because the subject did not appeal to me.
I am glad I did. Simon Singh succeeds in making any subject he writes about an exciting experience for the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cracking Code Book
The Cracking Code Book by Simon Singh (Paperback - 4 Oct. 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews