Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive history of Calcio
Having grown up through the days of Rivera, Mazzola, Sivori, Charles when Italian football was the most important thing in everyone's life, this book gave me a very good background of the way the modern game has developed in Italy. Controversial in parts with its description of certain characters (Nereo Rocco for one), but accurately puts its finger on the reasons for...
Published on 18 April 2012 by Guido

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good without being amazing
It took me a while to read the whole book; I found myself dipping in and out of it, and I guess that is the good and bad about it: you can read it and enjoy it but it ain't going to set your world alight in the way that Tardelli or Zola did. Foot clearly knows his stuff and has done his research and some of the book is very interesting, but a lot of it drags on rather, as...
Published on 18 Mar. 2010 by Ivan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, but..., 2 July 2006
By 
Graham Crowe "football geek" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I would agree with what the other reviewers have said - this book is informative, entertaining, insightful and well-written. I love European football and would also recommend the German and Spanish 'versions' of this style of book ('Tor' and 'Morbo', I also understand that 'Brilliant Orange' about the Dutch is very good). I took 'Calcio' on holiday to Venice (during the World Cup) and read it cover-to-cover on Italian soil, which will always make it one of my favourite books.

There are only two reasons I have not given the book 5 stars - one its sheer imposing bulk - much larger than a standard paperback, which you can't tell when buying from Amazon. The other reason is the poor photos - only about one black-and-white image every 20 pages or so, which might seem an immature criticism ("where are the pretty pictures?") but given the rich variety and availabilty of the subject matter, from stadia and cities to players and match action, i was a little disappointed that there was not at least one colour section showing the good and bad of Italian football history which is, as mentioned above, excellently described and deserving of better images to accompany it.

If you have ever watched Gazzetta Football Italia you will love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you ever wanted to know about Italian football, 26 Oct. 2009
By 
This review is from: Calcio: A History of Italian Football (Paperback)
This is a very accessible combination of history, sociology and football fanatic's guide to Italian football. I was surprised at how readable the book was and the unorthodox structure made it very enjoyable. There is an underlying seriousness to the approach to the topic but it never gets heavy, and there is much, often very subtle, humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but..., 7 July 2006
By 
Agree with all the reviews - but his fatal flaw was to over use Brian Glanville. Even though Foot basically dismisses Glancville's evidence on the famous Inter-Liverpool game, he uses Glanville as a source far too much - shame as it could have been 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant, 27 Nov. 2006
At first you'd imagine that the history of the football in Italy whose leagues are so often dubbed as boring. Foot's book has been a great revelation for me showing how the football is integrated deeply into the everyday life and thinking of Italians.

The coverage is vast and full of interesting details. I'm simply in awe of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential for the history of italian footy, 17 Sept. 2008
By 
godzilla78 (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Calcio: A History of Italian Football (Paperback)
Of all the books on the market about Italian football (and there are plenty) this is perhaps the best of the lot. It's a comprehensive guide not only about the football but of history and society as a whole. John Foot has gone to a lot of effort with this book and it is a worthy addition to any collection. We're treated to the usual history of scandal and match-fixing which is synonomous with the Italian game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor, colourless and ill-informed., 7 Jan. 2009
By 
M. Ryan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Calcio: A History of Italian Football (Paperback)
This book fails to talk about Coverciano, the spiritual centre of Italian football, gives the impression there is no passion or joy in Italian football and makes some absurd and ill-informed statements about Heysel.
I would not recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn about the true heart of Italian football
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Calcio: A History of Italian Football
Calcio: A History of Italian Football by John Foot (Paperback - 20 Aug. 2007)
£12.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews