Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars41
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£12.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 November 2010
From my point of view, the problems with this book begin with its constant comparisons between British football, and its football culture, and Italian football and football culture. I realize that the author's main target audience is obviously British, and to them this may be interesting, but the dearth of English language resources on calcio have led to this book being regarded as a definitive work not only in Mr. Foot's home nation but also in North America, as it's the only one out there that claims to be an in-depth look at calcio. For a reader outside the British Isles, this becomes tiresome very quickly. The second, and related, problem, is that the tone of the book is, overall, much less professional than one would expect from a "history," which I suspect may stem from the tabloid-style and quality coverage football universally receives in the UK. Again, this may be what a British audience expects, but elsewhere (particularly in Italy, ironically), standards for sports journalism and punditry are generally higher, and at points the tone becomes almost jingoistic, particularly in the section regarding the Heysel disaster, where much is made of, among other things, unsourced claims of Italian media referring to all English people as animals. It may well be, but again, little about calcio is mentioned without being related back to Britain. The author also claims that the name "calcio" is a reference to "calcio fiorentino," and implies that this is an attempt by Italians to claim that they invented football, when in fact "calcio" simply means "kick" in Italian. Similarly, in Friulano dialect, the game is known simply as "balon," which translates to "ball." Given that the Italian names for a penalty, corner kick and free kick are "calcio di rigore," "calcio d'angolo" and "calcio di punizione," I'm not sure how the author could have been unaware of the meaning of the word.

Probably the most disappointing thing about the book is the format. Unlike most works labeled as in-depth histories, it is divided, essentially, into a series of lists, mainly consisting of opinions and personal anecdotes. Never before have I come across a "history" that was presented in the form of a factbook. Notable omissions are Francesco Totti and Alessandro Del Piero from the section on fantasisti, and the complete omission of Zico, Cerezo and Milan's legendary Gre-No-Li trio of the 1960s and 70s; Nils Leidholm in particular being a remarkable omission due to his impact on calcio as a coach. Also notably, Giuseppe Meazza is completely misrepresented as a goal poacher.

All in all, I was very disappointed in this book, as it was highly opinionated, in my opinion by both omission and inclusion failed to be definitive, and, again, included much that is of no interest to non-British readers, and most importantly, it was not what I expect a "history" to be.
22 comments6 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2015
Fantastice book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2015
Excellent read
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2007
This book is a wonderful read. Even my wife, who hates football, enjoyed it. I've read an awful lot of books, from Dostoevsky to detectives, and can't remember too many that gave me so much pleasure. A word of warning; don't let anyone borrow it as you'll never get it back.
0Comment3 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2015
The most amazing part of this book is the way that Liverpool Football Club are referenced twenty times in the index and George Raynor, coach of Juventus and Lazio in 1955, and coach of Gunnar Gren, Nordahl and Nils Liedholm is not referenced once - at all - in the book. Is that even possible?
33 comments0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2006
I would agree with what the other reviewers have said - this book is informative, entertaining, insightful and well-written. I love European football and would also recommend the German and Spanish 'versions' of this style of book ('Tor' and 'Morbo', I also understand that 'Brilliant Orange' about the Dutch is very good). I took 'Calcio' on holiday to Venice (during the World Cup) and read it cover-to-cover on Italian soil, which will always make it one of my favourite books.

There are only two reasons I have not given the book 5 stars - one its sheer imposing bulk - much larger than a standard paperback, which you can't tell when buying from Amazon. The other reason is the poor photos - only about one black-and-white image every 20 pages or so, which might seem an immature criticism ("where are the pretty pictures?") but given the rich variety and availabilty of the subject matter, from stadia and cities to players and match action, i was a little disappointed that there was not at least one colour section showing the good and bad of Italian football history which is, as mentioned above, excellently described and deserving of better images to accompany it.

If you have ever watched Gazzetta Football Italia you will love this book!
0Comment6 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2009
This is a very accessible combination of history, sociology and football fanatic's guide to Italian football. I was surprised at how readable the book was and the unorthodox structure made it very enjoyable. There is an underlying seriousness to the approach to the topic but it never gets heavy, and there is much, often very subtle, humour.
0Comment1 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2006
Agree with all the reviews - but his fatal flaw was to over use Brian Glanville. Even though Foot basically dismisses Glancville's evidence on the famous Inter-Liverpool game, he uses Glanville as a source far too much - shame as it could have been 5 stars.
0Comment3 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2006
At first you'd imagine that the history of the football in Italy whose leagues are so often dubbed as boring. Foot's book has been a great revelation for me showing how the football is integrated deeply into the everyday life and thinking of Italians.

The coverage is vast and full of interesting details. I'm simply in awe of this book.
0Comment2 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 September 2008
Of all the books on the market about Italian football (and there are plenty) this is perhaps the best of the lot. It's a comprehensive guide not only about the football but of history and society as a whole. John Foot has gone to a lot of effort with this book and it is a worthy addition to any collection. We're treated to the usual history of scandal and match-fixing which is synonomous with the Italian game.
0Comment1 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
What We Do Might Surprise You! We're All About Real Possibilities.