Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing's the same here on FRIDAY
The week is close to its end, and for Arthur Penhaligon, it can't happen soon enough.

At least, that's how it seems in "Lady Friday," the next-to-penultimate book of the Keys To The Kingdom series. Garth Nix's latest suffers from a bit of middle-book syndrome, but he keeps things interesting with a brewing three-way battle, a New Nithling ally, and a vampiric...
Published on 10 Mar 2007 by E. A Solinas

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lady Friday
I have been a huge fan of this magical series by Garth Nix. Where as this series doesn't deliver the precision seen in the Abhorsen series; Nix is able to focus more on a light hearted teenage adventure about a boy with the power to become the heir to a magical kingdom.
Mister Monday, Grim Tuesday and Drowned Wednesday were 3 great books, combining a wonderful magic...
Published on 1 Dec 2007 by Stampy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing's the same here on FRIDAY, 10 Mar 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lady Friday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 5) (Paperback)
The week is close to its end, and for Arthur Penhaligon, it can't happen soon enough.

At least, that's how it seems in "Lady Friday," the next-to-penultimate book of the Keys To The Kingdom series. Garth Nix's latest suffers from a bit of middle-book syndrome, but he keeps things interesting with a brewing three-way battle, a New Nithling ally, and a vampiric Trustee who sucks the experiences from her victims.

Arthur is struggling with a bunch of new problems, when he is given Lady Friday's resignation... and a transfer plate. The next thing, he's been transported to Lady Friday's frozen, mountainous realm. And unknown to him, Leaf has followed thousands of senior citizens (including her disabled aunt) into Friday's realm.

Arthur's dire situation becomes even more difficult when he learns that his friends Suzy and Fred have been forcibly drafted into the Piper's army (they're only allowed out with a New Nithling accompanying them). And Superior Saturday is claiming control over Friday's realm. Time is growing short for Arthur to find the fifth piece of the Will... but that can't stop Saturday and the Piper.

"Lady Friday" suffers from the "middle book" syndrome -- it's building up to the battle between Saturday, Arthur and the Piper, but not quite there yet. By the cliffhanger ending, Nix has spun up the beginnings of an epic conflict, which only promises to get nastier when Superior Saturday finally makes an appearance. And who knows what's going to arrive with Lord Sunday?

The plot is slower-moving and darker than the previous books, with lots of ruthless Denizens who want Arthur stopped, not to mention the haughty, cruel Friday stealing the good experiences from elderly mortals. And a measure of uncertainty has come into the plot, with the New Nithlings and their ambiguous loyalties. Even Dame Primus (four-sevenths of the Will) is getting unreliable.

But Nix includes the occasional quirky moment to lighten all this dark stuff, such as the rather funny Beast, and the fact that the New Nithlings just want to garden. It's a bit like Lewis Carroll writing a steampunk epic. And by the last few chapters, things speed up to breakneck pace, and even dealing with the latest Trustee won't fix things.

Arthur is under plenty of stress in this one, since every time he uses a Key, he comes closer to becoming a Denizen. So he has to rely mainly on his wits in this one, to deal with everything from savage Nithlings to Friday herself. And poor Leaf is even worse off -- she's far away from Arthur, and surrounded by some very nasty Denizens.

"Lady Friday" is the buildup to the grand finale of Garth Nix's newest series, and while it's slower than the other books, it holds the promise of a great "Superior Saturday."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "On the fifth day there was fear...", 28 Mar 2007
This review is from: Lady Friday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 5) (Paperback)
As Keys to the Kingdom fans will already know, the trustees all embody a deadly sin and the part of the will they have locked up embodies a cardinal or theological virtue. This has always been a really interesting aspect of the books for me and Lady Friday does not disappoint in this respect. Lady Friday's Sin is Lust and the Will's Virtue is Temperance. That is the idea driving a lot of Lady Friday's actions... she constantly lusts after the experiences of aged humans and kidnaps them from the hospital Arthur's mother works at. This idea really sets the plot.

The four parts of the will which make up Dame Primus have become cantankerous and vengeful. Superior Saturday is really trying to extend her power, the fact that she seems to have a constant shadow over events seems to indicate that she'll play an important role in the upcoming books. This book isn't as eventful as the previous four but it really is because it is the "middle book" in a sense. This is the book that has to set the events; it has to start themes and gets the plot really cooking. But this is what is so great about the book, when you finish reading it, you're left with questions.

I know some people have complained the characters aren't as developed and that Lady Friday isn't as explored as the other trustees but I disagree. The fact that Lady Friday acts the way she does (I'm refraining from giving the plot away) indicates much a about her character, and her lust for experiences also demonstrates the way her mind works in terms of morals etc.

I love Suzy in this book as always, she really adds humour to the darkest of situations. Hopefully in Superior Saturday the fifth part of the will would have balanced Dame Primus... but in this book I have to admit you start asking yourself why Arthur doesn't just destroy it somehow because Dame Primus really grates on your nerves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lady Friday, 1 Dec 2007
By 
This review is from: Lady Friday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 5) (Paperback)
I have been a huge fan of this magical series by Garth Nix. Where as this series doesn't deliver the precision seen in the Abhorsen series; Nix is able to focus more on a light hearted teenage adventure about a boy with the power to become the heir to a magical kingdom.
Mister Monday, Grim Tuesday and Drowned Wednesday were 3 great books, combining a wonderful magic element of power and love to the books. They were a joy to read. Sir Thursday was intriguing but not as powerful as the other 3. Likewise Lady Friday fails to pack the punch of the first 3.
It's a very slow moving novel, focusing more on technicalities rather than the adventure with the characters all trying to find solutions to problems rather than being involved in adventures like in the other books.
However Nix writes with such an energetic style that the book is just a joy to read anyway. I must say that one particular scene towards the end was very tense.
I'm looking forward to the upcoming Superior Saturday next year and hopefully there will be more adventure and action to engage and surprise the readers.
You must read the books from the very beginning as they are brilliant.

7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Part of a good set, 26 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Pew Bennett (Helston, Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Friday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 5) (Paperback)
I now have all 7 of these books and although aimed at the younger market, they are an excellent read. You do really need to read in sequence to understand the plot but worth it. I would recommend to all who enjoy a good fantasy novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good gift, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this as a gift and have not read it so I can't comment on the Book itself but it arrived promptly and in excellent condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you have imagination.......READ THESE BOOKS !!!, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I didn't discover Garth nix until I was 49 and now I am a huge fan.
The Keys to the Kingdom series is by far the best of a fantastic bunch, I read them yearly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Greater things to come?, 11 Jun 2013
This review is from: Lady Friday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 5) (Paperback)
I remember when this book first came out, I was so excited, I started to read it before I realised I had no idea what was going on. It had been so long since I had read the others, and it's been sitting on my shelves ever since just waiting for me to jump in. After finishing Sir Thursday with higher hopes and renewed interest I was looking forward to reading more and finally getting stuck into this one after all those years.

This book is a little bit slower on the pace side of things, most of the characters are now well established but there are always some new faces to come to terms with, the plot of Arthur trying to get home and remain human is once again brought forward, but of course before he can leave he must vanquish x,y & z. He has to find the next part of the will so he can get the next part of the key. Some parts started to feel a little bit samey, but at the same time Garth Nix keeps you involved in so many mysteries you can't help but want to read more. You still don't know who this Architect is, or who the mysterious Sunday is and why he seems to be relinquishing his control to Saturday? Is there a deeper reason to why Arthur was chosen? What does the Piper really want? It's enough to make you turn pages regardless.

This book reads a lot like the set up for the next 2 books - the big Finale. Saturday is mentioned a lot more and gives you a real sense of foreboding before his appearance. Big things are going to happen, we just don't know what.

Lady Friday herself I found to be a bit weak and pathetic, the tagline says that the fifth day brings fear, and yes the idea of eating people's memories in a way that sounds a bit like sucking their souls out is a bit gross but I wasn't particularly scared, she seemed a bit weird. All of her staff seemed terrified of her too but I couldn't quit feel it.

Overall this book was exciting enough to have me reading through the pages, and I like Fred coming back again, he makes me laugh, but overall it was quite slow.

I'm hoping the last two will bring us to an exciting conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lady Friday, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing. Really gripping. Lady Friday keeps up the trend of the plot differing slightly to the others. They just keep getting better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a good book although i think the previous books have been a bit better overall a good series of books so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Friday, 2 Jan 2013
By 
D. Langham (Wickford, Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Friday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 5) (Paperback)
Reading the whole series, so a natural progression from Thursday! Being passed around the family as we are all reading them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lady Friday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 5)
Lady Friday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 5) by Garth Nix (Paperback - 5 Mar 2007)
5.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews