Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On the fourth day
Arthur Penhaligon's week just keeps getting worse.
The Keys of the Kingdom series hits a turning point in the fourth book, "Sir Thursday." People are killed, new creatures appear, and Arthur finds himself in a lethal power struggle with the Morrow Days. Garth Nix is in fine form in this book, one of the best of the series, and it only promises to get...
Published on 26 Feb. 2006 by E. A Solinas

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Series is sagging badly
Once again there is a great deal of rushing about, but it's becoming increasingly clear that the central concept of this series is weak, and the characters are not interesting enough to carry it.

Once again the hero, Arthur has an adventure in The House, the mysterious universe/organisation to which he has become the heir. He must retrieve another of the keys...
Published on 8 Mar. 2008 by Victoria Clare


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Best in the series (so far), 28 Aug. 2009
By 
R. M. Hodges (Buckingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sir Thursday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 4) (Paperback)
A very enjoyable read with each chapter switching between Arthur and then Leaf back on earth. This makes the story suspenseful as you are wanting to learn more from each character. I think out of all the books in the series I have read (Sunday not released yet) I enjoyed this the most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Present for my son, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sir Thursday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 4) (Paperback)
He had read the books by borrowing from friends and the library. He was most happy to have the collection to read again and again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mid-week slow down, 11 April 2006
This review is from: Sir Thursday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 4) (Paperback)
I am a big fan of this series - The 'week' starts at a hectic pace on Monday, hurtles through Tuesday and Wednesday but by Thursday the plot has slowed. I had the feeling that the ground work was being set for a showdown 'weekend' and anticipate things to get moving again by 'Friday'! Having said that I did enjoy the book as I love the concept of the story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE READER LOVES IT, 24 Jan. 2015
By 
E. Biles "BETHANN" (SOUTHAMPTON UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sir Thursday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 4) (Paperback)
LOVED IT , ARRIVED ON TIME PACKAGED WELL, THNX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Series is sagging badly, 8 Mar. 2008
By 
Victoria Clare (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sir Thursday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 4) (Paperback)
Once again there is a great deal of rushing about, but it's becoming increasingly clear that the central concept of this series is weak, and the characters are not interesting enough to carry it.

Once again the hero, Arthur has an adventure in The House, the mysterious universe/organisation to which he has become the heir. He must retrieve another of the keys to the house, and another portion of the Will. Pretty much what he needed to do in all the previous books, in other words, and there just isn't enough new here to carry it. There are some fun settings, but we don't learn anything new about how the House works, and the mysticism is becoming irritating.

A few new things are introduced: Arthur is not just afraid he will not be able to go home, but now he has to worry about being transformed into something alien as well. We find out a bit more about Leaf, and meet some new characters. Sadly, they seem a bit too much like characters we've already met, and we don't get much insight into why they behave as they do.

The first book in this series, Mister Monday, was innovative and entertaining, but this feels very tired: it feels like the author is basically treading water till he gets to Sunday: it's got that whole 'must churn out book' vibe about it. Garth Nix can do so much better than this. I wish he'd take a year off then come back and try to beat his Old Kingdom series.

I've stopped buying this series: at some point I may borrow the last books from the library to satisfy a slight curiousity as to what happens in the end. The best I can say of it is that it's decent light reading if you are in bed with 'flu: readable, but the plot won't keep you awake wanting to know what happens next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sir Thursday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 4) (Paperback)
thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 27 Mar. 2006
This review is from: Sir Thursday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 4) (Paperback)
Following their adventures in the Border Sea, Arthur and Leaf head for home. But only Leaf gets through the Front Door. Arthur is blocked because someone - or something - has assumed his identity and is taking over his life. Before Arthur can take action, he is drafted by Sir Thursday and forced to join the Glorious Army of the Architect. It was a good read but a bit disappointing compared to Ragwitch, Drowned Wednesday ect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A must read for fans but not as good as the first 3, 8 Mar. 2006
By 
Chris Chalk "Chris" (Croydon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sir Thursday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 4) (Paperback)
Sir Thursday is unfortunately just like a lot of middle books of a series in that it feels a little flat, possible staid and frankly there as a bit of a filler. This is a real shame as this affliction usually hits middle books of trilogies and ones that are more one continuous story at that. The Keys to the Kingdom series have thus far been a series of individual stories (ala Harry Potter) that meld into one overriding theme whereas Sir Thursday feels like a continuation from Drowned Wednesday.
Arthur is attempting to escape from the Great House with his friend Leaf; he is now well aware of his obligations to free the last 4 parts of the will and take his rightful place as Heir to the House but he just wants to get home to see if his family have recovered from the Sleepy Plague before he starts – not too much to ask for you would think? Unfortunately for Arthur a Spirit Eater has taken his place in the Secondary Realm (Earth to you and me) and Arthur cannot share the same space as him. Leaf however can return; can she rid Earth of the Spirit Eater alone?
Well obviously I cannot say but this does leave Arthur at somewhat of a lose end, and that end gets tightened really quickly when he is drafted into the Glorious Army of the Architect – perilous for regular (nigh on invincible Denizens) but a bit of a problem for mortal Arthur. Can Arthur survive basic training, a run in with Sir Thursday and a new breed of Nitherlings?
Again, not telling…
What lets this book down is frankly the pedigree that precedes it. I admire what Garth Nix is trying with Sir Thursday, trying to take the story onwards but I feel that the finished article hear just doesn't do the series justice. I suspect that when it is viewed with hindsight in the context of all 7 books I get the feeling it will fit right in being a pivotal point of the series, however without the benefit of hindsight I have to judge what is in front of me and frankly, it isn't good enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars sloppy thursday, 15 Mar. 2006
This review is from: Sir Thursday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 4) (Paperback)
i love reading the keys to the kingdom. mister monday, grim tuesday and drowned wednesday were books that you could easily read in one sitting however, i feel that sir thursday has a really sloppy ending. throught the book you got a feel of all the magic and mystery sourrounding the house but as the book came to the final climax at the end i felt cut short at the fact the book seemed to stop. i would still reccomend any nix fan to read this book but dont over estimate it as you will be dissapointed. i cant wait for lady friday and i truely hope it has a better ending than the thursday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what can i say ..., 8 Sept. 2006
This review is from: Sir Thursday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 4) (Paperback)
.. i love the keys to the kingdom so mush i can clearly see arther in my head and got a bit annoyed at the fact i read them so fast i have to wait till lady friday boo hoo

but i love how garth has so much background that all comes togther so cleverly done.

a must read if you dont mind getting horribly addicted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sir Thursday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 4)
Sir Thursday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 4) by Garth Nix (Paperback - 6 Mar. 2006)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews