Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wednesday down, onto Thursday
I have to say I find Garth Nix's books refreshing, he creates a fantasy world which have fantastic but consistent rules. The Keys to the Kingdom Series is a lighter weight, brighter story than the Abhorsen trilogy, but he is not averse to a bit of mortal peril here and there!
Anyone reading the first two books will be expecting the Wednesday baddy to battle on, but...
Published on 8 Jun. 2005 by Ian Spencer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly slow but still enjoyable
After finishing the first 2 books so quickly I was looking forward to continuing with this one, but I had a manic week at work and only managed to read about 100 pages of this throughout the week, so I sat down today determined to finish it. That may be why I didn't enjoy it as much though, for some reason this book just didn't grab me like the first 2.

I...
Published 21 months ago by Barmy_Bex


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Drowned Wednesday, 17 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant! As good as the last 2 books. I can't wait 2 read the final 4 books. Nix has a new fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drowned Wednesday - The best one so far!, 10 Jun. 2005
This review is from: Drowned Wednesday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 3) (Paperback)
I've read all of Garth Nix's books, and I read Mister Monday and Grim Tuesday, and anticipated Drowned Wednesday. It is by far the best one yet, and has the captivating style that Garth Nix puts into all his books. I read every page wanting to read the next and next, without putting it down. Completely captivating and unpredictable.
I recommend this book to anyone with an imagination!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the reader loved it, 24 Jan. 2015
By 
E. Biles "BETHANN" (SOUTHAMPTON UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drowned Wednesday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 3) (Paperback)
GREAT AUTHOR, IT ARRIVED AS SAID ABND WELL PACKAGED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drowned Wednesday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 3) (Paperback)
Great book, was received as expected!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Here we go again, 8 Aug. 2006
By 
This review is from: Drowned Wednesday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 3) (Paperback)
I don't think theres any point in wasting my time - and yours - explaining the plot of the third book in Garth Nix' Keys to the Kingdom series. Mostly because it is exactly the same as the first two. Having read the Old Kingdom trilogy I can't quite believe I'm giving a book by the same author only three stars, but there you go. Life is full of these little disappointments.

The biggest problem with "Drowned Wednesday" is that the reader finishes with the awful impression that Garth Nix has absolutely no idea where this series is going or what he is really writing about. There seems to be no planning behind this book (or the first two); it feels as if Nix has taken a vague idea for a seven-book series and simply padded it out with action to make it look as though he knew what he was doing without ever developing either the plot or the setting or even the characters. Arthur does nothing but whine, Leaf we hardly see and Suzy Blue gets more and more irritating every time she opens her big mouth. As for the whale! Did it remind anyone else of a certain Disney film? One with a puppet that wants to be a real boy?
My final conclusion: Nix makes his idea work for the first three books: they are quick and entertaining, the literary equivalent of silly action films, but with all the downsides as well: no real content, forgotten in ten minutes flat, and worst of all no characters likeable enough for the reader to put up with them for longer than two-and-a-half books (I simply can't be bothered to read the rest of the week). If you've read the Old Kingdom series, you will be sadly disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool!!!, 14 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Drowned Wednesday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 3) (Paperback)
I loved this book, its the second best in the series after Mister Monday. Garth Nix imagination knows no bounds. He is amazing.

Arthurs is off on his adventures again and must free part 3 of the Will of the Architecht and claim the 3rd key to the kingdom.

This is a bit tricky as Arthur is only 12 years old and a chronic Asthmatic! But along with Leaf and Suzy Turquoise Blue, he will fight his way through the House and sail the Border Sea with pirates (on a bed at one point)

Seriously good book BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 26 Nov. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Drowned Wednesday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 3) (Paperback)
This is the next book in the thrilling Keys to the kingdom series and is an excellent read. I haven't actually finished this book yet (work has been a pain in the you-know-what and the new Harry Potter book has sidetracked me) but despite that I've really enjoyed it. I bought Mister Monday and Grim Tueday last year and they both gripped me, so I pre-ordered Drowned Wednesday in anticipation and it hasn't dissapointed. But I guess the best thing about this saga is that there's another FOUR to come! The writer Garth Nix is really on a roll, he's been praised for the stunning 'Old Kingdom' series and so far 'Keys to the Kingdom' looks like he's getting that same praise again, good on you big chap! One thing is for sure, he's no longer the 'next best thing'.... he's THE 'big thing.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 20 Oct. 2014
By 
Mel_Lee (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Drowned Wednesday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 3) (Paperback)
as advertised
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drowned Wednesday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 3) (Paperback)
thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drowned Wednesday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 3) (Paperback)
Fab!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Drowned Wednesday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 3)
Drowned Wednesday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 3) by Garth Nix (Paperback - 6 Jun. 2005)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews