Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wednesday down, onto Thursday
I have to say I find Garth Nix's books refreshing, he creates a fantasy world which have fantastic but consistent rules. The Keys to the Kingdom Series is a lighter weight, brighter story than the Abhorsen trilogy, but he is not averse to a bit of mortal peril here and there!
Anyone reading the first two books will be expecting the Wednesday baddy to battle on, but...
Published on 8 Jun 2005 by Ian Spencer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly slow but still enjoyable
After finishing the first 2 books so quickly I was looking forward to continuing with this one, but I had a manic week at work and only managed to read about 100 pages of this throughout the week, so I sat down today determined to finish it. That may be why I didn't enjoy it as much though, for some reason this book just didn't grab me like the first 2.

I...
Published 13 months ago by Barmy_Bex


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wednesday down, onto Thursday, 8 Jun 2005
By 
Ian Spencer (Solihull) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drowned Wednesday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 3) (Paperback)
I have to say I find Garth Nix's books refreshing, he creates a fantasy world which have fantastic but consistent rules. The Keys to the Kingdom Series is a lighter weight, brighter story than the Abhorsen trilogy, but he is not averse to a bit of mortal peril here and there!
Anyone reading the first two books will be expecting the Wednesday baddy to battle on, but fortunately there is a change in plot, which is a relief. There is a certain inevitability about the plot - we know Arthur is going to get to Sunday don't we? - but even Arthur appears to acknowledge this.
The fun is in the telling, so though this day of the series isn't the strongest, it is an entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent.... just a teeny bit hard to follow., 26 Oct 2005
By 
This review is from: Drowned Wednesday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 3) (Paperback)
This is the next installment of the Keys to the Kingdom Septology and is a brilliant read. What makes this book different from the rest is that the plot is unpredictable unlike the other two prequels where you can almost guess whats going to happen. What makes the downside to this is that the start is a bit hard to follow but otherwise it flows. This book has many more different character personalities and unlike the first two, Aurthur isn't with Suzy for most of the story. Overall a brill read and I can't wait for Sir Thursday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Tale of the Whale, 4 July 2006
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Wednesday being the third day of the week (if you don't start at Sunday of course), there are no prizes for guessing that this is book three of The Keys to the Kingdom series. If you haven't read Mister Monday and Grim Tuesday, please look no further - without the two preceding books you'll be up a creek without a paddle if you try this one on its own.

Arthur is still recuperating in hospital from his adventures in book two when he is summoned for lunch by Lady Wednesday, Trustee of the Architect and Duchess of the Border Sea. A ship is dispatched to pick him up, which is an unusual mode of transport seeing that he is in a hospital far away from any major body of water. Arrangements are made to resolve this minor inconvenience, and soon Arthur is adrift on his steel bed accompanied by his friend Leaf who was visiting at the time.

Unfortunately the crew of the Flying Mantis picks up the wrong passenger, and Arthur is left adrift, broken leg and all, and with sinking bed and spirits. His spirits are "buoyed" in the nick of time when he discovers a convenient flotation device, but this turns out to be a not a blessing in disguise, but a disaster in the making.

Caught red-handed fooling around with pirate treasure, he is picked up by the crew of a ship named the Moth, and barely escapes being captured by the dread pirate Feverfew (owner of said treasure) and his ship of bone, the Shiver. Soon it's time for lunch with Lady Wednesday, who is cursed with the sin of gluttony, and has been transformed into a creature worthy of her voracious appetite. Barely escaping being a part of the menu, Arthur agrees to an alliance for ownership of the third key and sets off on his third quest of the week in the name of the Will. This proves to be a huge pill to swallow, and gives him a sinking feeling in the pit of his stomach.

The most exciting adventure of the series so far, this one is heavily laden with sea-faring rats with both two and four legs, sorcery and heroic deeds, and the humor is at its very best. It will be very difficult for Garth Nix to top this one.

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Floats your boat, 18 Jan 2006
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Drowned Wednesday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 3) (Paperback)
It's hard to be Arthur Penhaligon. As if moving and being asthmatic wasn't bad enough, now he has had two nightmarish adventures, and dealt with the malevolent Morrow Days. In the third book of Garth Nix's dark fantasy series, "Drowned Wednesday," Nix spins his best story yet in this series.

Arthur and his pal Leaf are recuperating from the strange events of Monday and Tuesday... until suddenly the hospital is flooded. Leaf is abducted by a strange boat, and Arthur finds himself adrift on the Border Sea, on a hospital bed. After he's picked up by a shipful of friendly Salvagers, he finds that he's inadvertantly become the target for the malevolent pirate Feverfew, a mortal-turned-Denizen on a ship of bone.

He also encounters Drowned Wednesday, who has invited him to lunch. But unlike Grim Tuesday and Mister Monday, Wednesday needs his help, because she is cursed: she takes the form of a whale, and has a monstrous appetite. She's willing to give him the Key, but he has to deal with the malevolent Feverfew first, and rescue Leaf. Unfortunately to do that, he will have to take a rescue submarine to a seaport... which happens to be inside Wednesday's stomach.

For some reason, after the publication of "Grim Tuesday," the publishers decided to halt production and rerelease the two previous books in hardcover. As a result, "Drowned Wednesday" took forever to come out. Fortunately, it was worth the wait: as writing and characters go, "Drowned Wednesday" beats the second book and equals the first.

"Drowned Wednesday" more or less fits the mold of the previous novels: Arthur deals with the strange residents (rats and Denizens) of the various worlds, while trying to avoid being killed. It sounds grim, but Nix spices it up with plenty of humor, such as the stamp-collecting Salvager captain. One of the funniest moments has Arthur looking at a book about his adventures, which shows him as a buff action hero.

Fortunately, Nix keeps the story from getting formulaic by giving new twists to the story. Not only is it a seafaring tale, but he portrays the Morrow Day Wednesday as a victim, not a villain. Though Arthur is initially suspicious, it turns out that she's actually rather pitiful. And the final chapter of the book ends on an eerie cliffhanger involving the Skinless Boy.

The biggest change is in Arthur himself. In the previous two books, he was a reluctant hero. But now he is beginning to use the power of the Keys without worrying about it, and he is determined to deal with the other Morrow Days. Okay, he still worries a lot, but he's overcoming that; by the finale, he is much more comfortable as the Heir.

"Drowned Wednesday" equals "Mister Monday" for humorous dark-fantasy goodness. Here's hoping that "Sir Thursday" doesn't take long to get here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An intriguing story, 23 July 2005
By 
Chris Chalk "Chris" (Croydon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drowned Wednesday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 3) (Paperback)
Well how would you feel if you had just made it back to your realm and to the comfort of a hospital bed (the broken leg has slowed you down) when the room you and your friend leaf are in fills up with water. A lot of it.
Well add in the fact your bed is washed outside to be met by a pirate ship then you begin to understand the position that Arthur Penhaligon finds himself in. The week so far hasn't really been a good one in all honest, finding out you are the true heir to the Upper and Lower houses of the Architect as well as the other realms is a pretty big responsibility. Finding out all the guardians (now corrupt guardians) of the house - the morrow days - are now after you to stop you taking up your rightful position, makes things a lot more problematic.
The morrow days can only act on their given day, that's why this book allows Drowned (once Lady) Wednesday to come into play. For reasons that will soon be understood Drowned Wednesday cannot be there to meet Arthur herself, as such her servant s come abroad a pirate ship. Should Arthur trust her though? Mr Monday and Grim Tuesday weren't exactly trust worthy individuals themselves and will this morrow day be any different?
The style of writing of the book is very similar to the previous stories and is very easy to pick up. It's clean, sharp and to the point, choosing to really develop characters over many books rather than over many chapters. We do see Arthur facing up to his responsibility more in this novel, as well as Arthur realising the responsibility he has to his travelling companions and it is this that tends to dictate his decisions more and more as the story goes on.
We have another wonderful interjection from the inimitable Suzy Blue who takes on a guise not before scene when we first meet her, has the change been permenant, has she had the dreaded "clean between the ears"? Well to answer these questions, and the others, I will leave you to read the book, but suffice to say it's a cracking bit writing and one I strongly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent.... just a teeny bit hard to follow., 26 Oct 2005
By 
This review is from: Drowned Wednesday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 3) (Paperback)
This is the next installment of the Keys to the Kingdom Septology and is a brilliant read. What makes this book different from the rest is that the plot is unpredictable unlike the other two prequels where you can almost guess whats going to happen. What makes the downside to this is that the start is a bit hard to follow but otherwise it flows. This book has many more different character personalities and unlike the first two, Aurthur isn't with Suzy for most of the story. Overall a brill read and I can't wait for Sir Thursday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Drowned Wednesday, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant! As good as the last 2 books. I can't wait 2 read the final 4 books. Nix has a new fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you have imagination.......READ THESE BOOKS !!!, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I didn't discover Garth nix until I was 49 and now I am a huge fan.
The Keys to the Kingdom series is by far the best of a fantastic bunch, I read them yearly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly slow but still enjoyable, 8 Jun 2013
This review is from: Drowned Wednesday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 3) (Paperback)
After finishing the first 2 books so quickly I was looking forward to continuing with this one, but I had a manic week at work and only managed to read about 100 pages of this throughout the week, so I sat down today determined to finish it. That may be why I didn't enjoy it as much though, for some reason this book just didn't grab me like the first 2.

I usually love anything to do with pirates and the high seas but this just didn't work for me. I liked the Moth and it's crew and the set up of the other ships and the threat of the dreaded Feverview pirate king. They brightened the story up for me, but the Giant Whale thing was a bit silly to me, and reminded me a lot of the bit in Pinocchio when they get swallowed by a whale.

I found myself having to really concentrate on reading this one, I kept getting distracted, I missed the presence of Suzy in this one, she isn't in it until about 65% of the way through and I find she brightens the page and Arthur becomes more interesting next to her. However, the characters have grown with the story and changed and are really holding their own now.

I love that Leaf featured more and I would like to see even more from her, hopefully in the coming books.

The overall plot wasn't bad but I just felt it was a bit too drawn out. The ending however totally pulled me back and got me excited for the next book, which I have ready to read beside me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved by ten year old boy, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drowned Wednesday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 3) (Paperback)
This series has been avidly consumed by a reluctant reader. He in turn has recommended the series to friends that have also enjoyed them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Drowned Wednesday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 3)
Drowned Wednesday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 3) by Garth Nix (Paperback - 6 Jun 2005)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews