Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Really Good Read
Val McDermid's Hostage to Murder is a really good read. The whole series has a life and vitality to it that is not easy to find. Each book is fresh and non-repetitive unlike many of the 'series' books that seem to be churned out robotically rather than by an author like Val McDermid who not only cares about her characters but also cares about her readers.
Lindsay...
Published on 31 Jan 2004 by Douglas Nelson

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
This is the first book from Val McDermid I read after the Kate Brannigan series. The book is disappointing. The characters are flimsy and the part about Russia does not fit in the story. But Ms. McDermid made a trip to Russia so she probably wanted to use the information she acquired. The plot and dialogues make the story very suitable for serialisation in magazines like...
Published on 21 Nov 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Really Good Read, 31 Jan 2004
By 
Douglas Nelson (New Jersey, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hostage to Murder (Paperback)
Val McDermid's Hostage to Murder is a really good read. The whole series has a life and vitality to it that is not easy to find. Each book is fresh and non-repetitive unlike many of the 'series' books that seem to be churned out robotically rather than by an author like Val McDermid who not only cares about her characters but also cares about her readers.
Lindsay Gordon is a great lead character and for me at least one of her most endearing characteristics is to act first and perhaps think about the consequences later + she doesn't always get it right. Hostage to Murder is fast paced to begin with and picks up speed page by page. The inclusion of a family member in a pivotal role is brilliant and adds to the realism that this excellent book gives to the reader. As a paperback original Hostage to Murder is a bargain. Actually with the amount you save versus a hardback you could buy at least another 2 of the series !! It would be money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great to have Lindsay back again, 29 Dec 2003
By 
RachelWalker "RachelW" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hostage to Murder (Paperback)
Although from the ending i get the distinct feeling that McDermid has written this as an end-of-the-line book for Lindsay Gordon, this one is as strong as the rest in the series, and anyone who likes the Lindsay Gordon books would be well advised to pick Hostage to Murder up. (If you're not an established fan already, though, you may do well to start at the beginning, with Report for Murder, otherwise this may well not quite be for you...)
It's not a typical murder-mystery book this time, more of a thriller. After returning from her life in America, shortly after getting a job as a freelancer Lindsay finds herself in the middle of a kidnapping - of a child by his estranged father. This leads to all sorts of shennanigins, including a dangerous snatch-back operation which will take Lindsay and her partner all the way to the frozen north, St Petersburg, which McDermid renders admirably.
This is a well-written, enjoyable book. It's not as "major" as her other works, such as A Place of Execution, Killing the Shadows, or her Tony Hill series, but it is still very very enjoyable. Lindsay is good company, and there are some great developments in her personal life with this book - if this is indeed the end, I shall be sad to see her go. (p.s. I am sure that the "insemination scene", as i cal it, will go down in history!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome return for Lindsay Gordon, 14 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Hostage to Murder (Paperback)
It's been several years since Val McDermid last wrote about the feisty Scottish journalist Lindsay Gordon, but it's been worth the wait. In the intervening years, McDermid has become a much more sophisticated story-teller, and it shows here. This isn't the traditional mystery style of the previous books -- it feels much more like a thriller, with real emotional dilemmas and a lot at stake. Lindsay is tested as never before, and the varied settings of the book -- Glasgow and St Petersburg -- are a fascinating backdrop. It's a lot lighter than her Tony Hill series, no gruesome torture or anything, but it's still a great read. Smart plotting, great writing and a lot of tension.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars last outing for Lindsay? i hope not, 27 Jun 2006
By 
RD - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hostage to Murder (Paperback)
This is the latest in the Lindsay Gordon series. Although Ms Mcdermid is mainly known for her Tony Hill series this one is actually the first she ever published.

Quite a few years have gone by since the previous Gordon mystery was published and in this one Lindsay and her partner Sophie are back in Glasgow so Sophie can enhance her career. Lindsay is unemployed until she bumps into an up and coming journo, Rory, who is willing to give her a job due to being a long time fan.

The two of them get caught up in a case involving a child kidnapped from his parents. While trying to save him Rory and Lindsay's friendship threatens to become something more fuelled by trouble between Sophie and Lindsay.

The book is a very fine read. The personal lives of the characters are interesting and well written touching on important subjects while the mystery aspect is as good as any other McDermid book.

Definitely worth a read....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Loved It....., 20 Dec 2003
This review is from: Hostage to Murder (Paperback)
I enjoyed the other books by Val with the Lindsay Gordon character and i was excited to to finally be able to get another book with this character after a long wait.
In this book Lindsay seems more grown up and facing a mid life crisis. I think it focus's more on Lindsay's personal life than the other books and i enjoyed getting to know the character more, as well as getting gripped by the plot. Though I must admit the plot was second best to the personal decisions lindsay had to make in her love life. I really enjoyed this book and for the price you can't go far wrong.If you like to follow a character through her personal/love life this book is a must but if you by crime/thrillers for the plot alone and hope to figure who done maybe this isn't the right one for you. As for me It left me wanting more and i hope Val writes another Lindsay Gordon book soon and doesnt wait so long this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 21 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Hostage to Murder (Paperback)
This is the first book from Val McDermid I read after the Kate Brannigan series. The book is disappointing. The characters are flimsy and the part about Russia does not fit in the story. But Ms. McDermid made a trip to Russia so she probably wanted to use the information she acquired. The plot and dialogues make the story very suitable for serialisation in magazines like Womens Weekly or Women'Own.
Ms. McDermid can do better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Low grade thriller, 8 Aug 2013
By 
Weshty (Co.Clare, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hostage to Murder (Paperback)
I was introduced to Val Mc Dermid last year through the highly entertaining "Fever in the bone". By contrast, this is a sub par companion. There is an excess of focus on the lesbian aspect of the relationships that obviously fits into the author's agenda someway but does little to drive the plot forward or add to it (just what the heck is a "baby dyke"?).

The Russian angle is written in the most prefunctionary manner and with very little tension or suspense.

Granted the last few chapters do pick things up with an interesting twist and resolution but I found it hard to care at that point.

Given this was written in the late 90's, it's fair to say that her writing has improved significantly in the intervening years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Jun 2014
By 
Garry Iles "Gazza" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hostage to Murder (Kindle Edition)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars McDermid remains an author I like to read thanks to the characters you follow from ..., 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hostage to Murder (Kindle Edition)
McDermid remains an author I like to read thanks to the characters you follow from one book to the next. The plot is sound and easy to follow. Nothing exciting though. If you expect twists, this book is not for you...a bit too predictable.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Totally absorbing, 18 Nov 2013
By 
Ms S. D. Kelly "skylark" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hostage to Murder (Kindle Edition)
As usual the plot lines are clear and engaging. Couldn't put it down. I would recommend it wholeheartedly. Great Val Mcdermid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hostage to Murder
Hostage to Murder by V. L. McDermid (Paperback - 3 Nov 2003)
5.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews