Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars10
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 January 2008
I loved this book. The short chapters combined with the fluid and easy writing style make it a very easy read - especially if you have to grab your reading in bite sized chunks as I do. Its a great achievement to make a small episode in history into such a great yarn - the stuff of films. A tinpot emperor has annual play fights with his rebellious "neighbours" / subjects but is in the thrall of the imperial Victoria who he (quite rightly) believes is ignoring him, but in a desperate bid to maintain his ties to her country, Tewodros detains her envoys. What follows is an abject lesson in how gunboat diplomacy can't work if there is no coast off which to park your gunboat, the terrain is inhospitable, the warlord driven by religious fervour and a belief in his own divine rectitude - who says we don't learn the lessons of history? In any case, Marsden's book is clearly meticulously researched and he has great knowledge of and sympathy for Ethiopia. History has rarely been made this interesting and easy on the eye. George Macdonald Fraser had a go at this story with Sir Harry Flashman (who undertook to rescue the envoys in "Flashman on the March") - but this altogether more rigorous and yet no less enjoyable version of events cannot be too highly recommended.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2011
I ordered this book as part of my research into my own family history as one of the main protagonists is an ancestor of mine. Not only did it prove useful in that respect but also described a fascinating event in British colonial history. Well written and easy to follow, exciting, shocking, horrifying, it's got the lot really. In case you're wondering Capt Speedy is my GG uncle.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2010
This excellent book deals with the life and times of Tewodros the second (1818c-1868) who was Emperor of Ethiopia from 1855 until his death.
Born from aristocratic parents he was cast out on thier divorce leaving him and his mother penniless. He began adult life as an outlaw but after many battles with warlords and princes he unified Ethiopia and became Emperor.Asemperor hewas desporate to modernise the country and wrote to Queen Victoria to send workers and aid.His letter was unanswered for 2 years so he abducted the British consul and all Europeans and took them to Magdala.Eventually the British sent an army. The battle that ensued saw the release of the captives while the Emperor comitted suicide-his wife and son were sent to the U.K. The wife died before arrival but the son went to Rogby school spossored by the Queen but he died aged 19 never seeing his country again.
A marvellous book to be highly recommended but the illustrations are abysmal.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2012
It is a brillian account of an Ethiopian emperor who was struggling to unite his country as one and his desperate attempt to bring the most coveted civilisation to his home contry.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2012
Good review of colonial..political messes of the 19thC. Well researched I feel. Excellent study book...if student insight needed, you might do worse..
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
I love it.

It's history with obvious minor fictional embellishments that make reading it pleasant.

Somehow I am fascinated now by a history I never knew existed.

Well done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
Incredible story, well written. I had no idea this ever happened. Great for history buffs, even if you've never been to Ethiopia or won't ever go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
A gripping account of a little known series of events in history. Philip Marsden's writing style really brings the whole sad story to life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
A fascinating story and the level of detail brings it all alive. By far the best I have read on this subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2015
A superb story and very well written as Marsden's books always are.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)