Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pride Goeth Before the Fall, 19 May 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Yertle the Turtle and Other Stories: Yellow Back Book (Dr Seuss - Yellow Back Book) (Dr. Seuss Yellow Back Books) (Paperback)
Researchers constantly find that reading to children is valuable in avariety of ways, not least of which are instilling a love of reading and improved reading skills. With better parent-child bonding from reading, your child will also be more emotionally secure and able to relate better to others. Intellectual performance will expand as well. Spending time together watching television fails as a substitute.
To help other parents apply this advice, as a parent of four I consulted an expert, our youngest child, and asked her to share with me her favorite books that were read to her as a young child. Yertle the Turtle was one of her picks.
This book has three stories in it, each with the same theme: Making Yourself More Self-Important Is the Wrong Direction!
Those who are familiar with Dr. Seuss's works during World War II as a political cartoonist will recognize the Yertle the Turtle theme as part of his satire of fascist dictators.
Your child will meet a lot of bossy people in her or his life, and this book can help prepare the way for understanding that one must assert one's rights or be trampled on. The child who is a natural leader can also learn the lesson of not abusing others. This story is a fundamental one for a democracy and should be read by every child. You will want to discuss applications of the lesson, as well, with your child.
The drawings are very funny and will keep your child laughing throughout.
Gertrude McFuss is about the dangers of envy. She was a girl-bird with the smallest plain tail ever. She had just one droopy-drop feather. Her friend, Lolla-Lee-Lou, had two feathers . . . both of which were larger. Gertrude decided she must has two also.
Your child will undoubtedly develop some envy of another child at this age. This story can help you point out the dangers of envy, and the very real drawbacks of getting what you want in many cases. So if your child decides this story is funny (and he or she will), you can then switch over to examples relating to clothing, toys and so forth in the child's own life.
The Big Brag is about a rabbit who competes with a bear to see which animal is the best.
This story is obviously focused on the importance of letting your deeds speak for you. Children like to get into squabbles like this about their potential and ability, and your reading of this story can help avoid that.
These timeless lessons should be irresistible for your child!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful slection of stories with a moral to each one., 26 July 2001
By 
D. Rodgers "deboraborialis" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is Dr Seuss at his best. There are three stories each with it's own moral: be happy with what you've got, don't be to greedy/jealous, and don't be too boastful. They all have the usual rhyming verse and humour, along with great stories. A must for all Seuss fans, even those of us who should be reading something a bit more mature!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars turtle stacking, 5 May 2003
By 
sarahthethird "the overlord" (bristol, bristol United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
i have to say sad though it is this has been and will always be my favorite book. and in the words of lisa simpson "this is quite possibly the best book ever written on the subject of turtle stacking"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is my favorite doctor seuss book., 29 April 1998
By A Customer
If you are wondering whether or not to buy this book, buy it. I have had it read to me a bazillion times and still find it captivating. Everyone knows Dr. Seuss is the king of his art, but this is his masterpiece. I am thirteen and still love the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic from Dr Seuss, 1 Sep 2009
By 
Mrs. Carrie Smith (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yertle the Turtle and Other Stories: Yellow Back Book (Dr Seuss - Yellow Back Book) (Dr. Seuss Yellow Back Books) (Paperback)
You can't really go wrong with Dr Seuss books. The style of writing enables young ones to learn how to read and spell with much humour. There are also life lessons to learn in most of the books and this one is no exception. There are a few stories in the book and my 6 year old can read them all easily on her own. The books are small and flexible and perfect for packing into a bag for a car journey or for a few moments peace in a restaurant etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh to be king... of all I can see., 7 Jun 2009
By 
T. Bluck - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yertle the Turtle and Other Stories: Yellow Back Book (Dr Seuss - Yellow Back Book) (Dr. Seuss Yellow Back Books) (Paperback)
Dr Seuss (Yertle the Turtle (and Other Stories))
A wonderful book, Such fun! For kids, Yes.
And for adults too! Learn a thing or two about
stacking really big piles of turtles,
And why, if you are the king of all you can
see, it's better just to sit on your rock and
appreciate what you have got!
Seriously, This is good fun.
Tim Bluck, (Kent UK)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gotta love Mack!, 23 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yertle the Turtle and Other Stories: Yellow Back Book (Dr Seuss - Yellow Back Book) (Dr. Seuss Yellow Back Books) (Paperback)
It is awesome introducing books to your kids and seeing them enjoying the stories as much as you did at their age. Yertle the Turtle is an old favorite/favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dr. Seuss is simply very good, was for me 1950 and is for my 5 year old step-daughter now, 30 Oct 2013
By 
William Jurgenson (Lauffen am Neckar, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yertle the Turtle and Other Stories: Yellow Back Book (Dr Seuss - Yellow Back Book) (Dr. Seuss Yellow Back Books) (Paperback)
I grew up with Dr.Seuss, mostly installments cut out from Redbook and Saturday Evening Post which I still have.
I wanted my step-daughter to have her own Dr.Seuss books to keep and possibly read to her own children 20+ years from now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yertle the Turtle and Other Stories: Yellow Back Book (Dr Seuss - Yellow Back Book) (Dr. Seuss Yellow Back Books) (Paperback)
LOVED THIS STORY FOR YEARS, NOW MY KIDS LOVE IT TOO. THIS COPY WAS FOR MY DAUGHTER (WHO IS 20 BTW) TO TAKE IN TO HER WORK AS SHE IS BASING HER NETWORKING PRESENTATION ON IT!!!

TIMELESS CLASSIC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Never fails to impress, 23 Aug 2013
This review is from: Yertle the Turtle and Other Stories: Yellow Back Book (Dr Seuss - Yellow Back Book) (Dr. Seuss Yellow Back Books) (Paperback)
My Daughter loves Dr Seuss, even at the ripe old age of 2 so this book is idea for a bedtime story. There are three stories in the book each with the lyrical tongue twisters that you would expect from a Dr Seuss book. We loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews