Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There are no spoilers in this review
This compendium is a good purchase for the reader coming to Poirot for the first time, as it includes four of the first six Poirot novels to be published. The missing novels are "The Murder of Roger Ackroyd" (1926) and "The Mystery of the Blue Train" (1928) which can be found in the "Perfect Murders" and "French Collection" anthologies respectively.

The...
Published on 31 Aug 2006 by Sordel

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bulkier and heavier than I'd have liked.
I bought this for my wife, who has Parkinson's disease. It would be easy to manage for anyone without hand problems but my wife finds it hard to hold and turn the pages. A shame because she loves Poirot stories.
Published on 19 Sep 2012 by Roger H


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There are no spoilers in this review, 31 Aug 2006
By 
Sordel (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This compendium is a good purchase for the reader coming to Poirot for the first time, as it includes four of the first six Poirot novels to be published. The missing novels are "The Murder of Roger Ackroyd" (1926) and "The Mystery of the Blue Train" (1928) which can be found in the "Perfect Murders" and "French Collection" anthologies respectively.

The Mysterious Affair at Styles (4/5)
Poirot's first appearance in print, and Christie's first novel, is an intricate country house mystery that may well leave you as confused as it does Hastings.

Murder on the Links (4/5)
There's a lot to enjoy in this book, especially Poirot's rivalry with a French detective who displays almost as much arrogance as he does himself. It isn't too difficult to solve part of the puzzle, but the later convolutions will leave most readers foxed.

The Big Four (2/5)
Hastings returns from the Argentine in time to help Poirot battle a criminal conspiracy and its intentions to conquer the world! This barmy adventure - really a succession of short stories and episodes - is completely unlike other Poirot novels. Although some of the individual mysteries are entertaining, the whole thing has more the flavour of Sax Rohmer than Agatha Christie.

Peril at End House (3/5)
The impact of this mystery has been somewhat eroded by the number of stories that have imitated it since. Nevertheless, this is an enjoyable tale with more urgency and focus than some of the more baffling puzzles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Three of four are good stories; one of them ("The Murder On The Links") is also in "The French Collection" volume in this series, 9 Dec 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Three of the four stories in this collection (The Mysterious Affair at Styles, The Murder on the Links, Peril at End House) are classic Poirot and worth getting. The fourth (The Big Four) is more of a rather improbable adventure story, almost Poirot does James Bond; I probably won't read it again.

Note for if you are buying several of these Harper Collins collections of Poirot stories: The Murder on the Links is also in "The French Collection". You may still find it's still cheaper to buy both these collection volumes instead of the individual books, but caveat emptor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Christie for Christmas, 12 Oct 2010
This review is from: Poirot: The Complete Battles of Hastings: Volume 2: Vol 2 (Paperback)
Anytime is the right time to discover Agatha Christie. A great collection of book sfeaturing the famous Poirot, her Belgian detective. The only thing I should add is that if you are new to the author this collection does contain the final book about Poirot so one should really put 'Curtain' to one side for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Big Four, 21 May 2014
There are similarities in this book to Conan Doyle's "The Final Problem" as Poirot comes up against a group of criminals, supported by henchmen, who are just as clever as he, just as Holmes found the same opponent in Professor Moriarty. The book is one case with several cases along the way where no capture can be achieved. Hugh Fraser, who ably reads this book, tells the story in the first person in Captain Hastings and puts full angry gusto into Hastings' outburst, "Death to the Big Four". He also does full justice to the worry Hastings feels regarding the safety of his wife in Chapters 12 and 13. Poirot, as always, is on top form with his "order and method" and, of course, has to comment to Hastings on his untidiness ("Never, never shall I see you embrace the order and method)". If it's a gripping book you want which you just can't put down, look no further than The Big Four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Present for someone, 20 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Overall good condition although there were some unsightly white marks on the front cover which was a shame considering it was gift. Nothing major though ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poirot: The Complete Battles of Hastings: Volume 2: Vol 2 (Paperback)
Excellent all round - the product was a great purchase and in perfect condition. Highly recommended both in terms of quality and price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bulkier and heavier than I'd have liked., 19 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my wife, who has Parkinson's disease. It would be easy to manage for anyone without hand problems but my wife finds it hard to hold and turn the pages. A shame because she loves Poirot stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable classic crime, 6 May 2009
By 
Peter Bloomfield (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having been an avid Sherlock Holmes fan, I finally decided to try reading some of the Poirot stories instead. This book was my first exposure to the Belgian detective, and to Agatha Christie's writing as a whole, and I have to say it has lived up to my hopes fairly well.

The writing style is very different to that of Doyle -- it feels very much more like 'classic' literature than the Holmes stories do... possibly a little more formal. For me, that made it a little less accessible, so I had to work a bit harder to get into the plots.

The mystery and intrigue are great though, and there's a splash of romance here and there. It takes you on a bit of an adventure of feelings about the main characters (Poirot and Hastings), as they portray very realistic development and personality traits.

My one criticism is that the plots tend to drag on a bit, so it is perhaps not ideal for people who prefer lots of pace. The third story ("The Big Four") is particularly bad for this... it just seems to go on and on... and then it suddenly stops in a slightly unsatisfactory way. It's still well worth reading it though.

I recommend this book as being an excellent introduction to the Poirot stories. If you are interested in crime stories and the somewhat bizarre methods of a small Belgian man, then you will be well catered for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Poirot: The Complete Battles of Hastings: Volume 2, 5 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poirot: The Complete Battles of Hastings: Volume 2: Vol 2 (Paperback)
I have always liked murder mysteries, so I enjoy books by this author, and the culprit is always someone you least expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Poirot: The Complete Battles of Hastings: Volume 2: Vol 2
Poirot: The Complete Battles of Hastings: Volume 2: Vol 2 by Agatha Christie (Paperback - 17 May 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews