Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable!
This is the second Ariadne Oliver collection of Agatha Christie's that I have bought, and I enjoyed this one just as much, if not more, than the last.

I love the character of Ariadne, and her eccentricities complement Poirot's methodical and logical approach perfectly.

I am yet to read the short stories, but have read the three novels and enjoyed...
Published on 1 Oct 2010 by Jess

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Review
Enjoyed book
Published 3 months ago by dg


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable!, 1 Oct 2010
This is the second Ariadne Oliver collection of Agatha Christie's that I have bought, and I enjoyed this one just as much, if not more, than the last.

I love the character of Ariadne, and her eccentricities complement Poirot's methodical and logical approach perfectly.

I am yet to read the short stories, but have read the three novels and enjoyed each one very much. I particularly liked 'Cards on the Table' as it took a slightly different approach than the usual, 'it could have been anyone'. It is clear that the murderer has to be one of four, and the intricate way in which each character is unravelled is excellent. At the beginning it appears that there is no evidence to go on at all, but it soon becomes clear that there is, in fact, a wealth of evidence available to Poirot!

This is a great collection so far, and I really look forward to reading the remainder!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There are no spoilers in this review, 26 Sep 2006
By 
Sordel (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best Poirot compendia, featuring two of Christie's greatest novels.

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd (5/5)

Reputedly one of Christie's finest pieces of misdirection, this locked room mystery has lost none of its capacity to baffle.

Murder on the Orient Express (5/5)

Even if you know the solution (which would hardly be surprising given the fame of this story) this is an entertaining novel.

Murder in the Mews (4/5)

A novella - or perhaps long short story - with an enjoyable plot twist. Also available in "Hercule Poirot: The Complete Short Stories", so you may already own it.

Hercule Poirot's Christmas (3/5)

There's plenty to like about this locked room mystery, but its solution is somewhat unconvincing, and this is not one of the best Poirot novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Review, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars poirot, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as always Agatha Christie at her best keeps the suspense going right through the book would recommend to thriller buffs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gfit from another country...thanks amazon, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great gift for a family member and it arrived quickly and in perfect condition. The gift will be well used, a favourite. It arrived quickly and in perfect condition. I live in North America and the gift was sent to the UK.An easy and simple way of gift giving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, 22 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a marvellous collection of the almost unsolvable murders that Poirot solves with convincing ease! I read the novels over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There are no spoilers in this review, 11 Oct 2006
By 
Sordel (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although these are not the most famous Poirot novels, they are certainly amongst the best and most sinister.

One, Two, Buckle My Shoe (4/5)

This little-known mystery beginning with the apparent suicide of the detective's dentist is one of the darkest Poirot novels and a neglected gem.

Five Little Pigs (4/5)

Again, this novel is comparatively little-known, but features an enticingly high-concept setup. Poirot is asked to investigate a criminal case that occurred sixteen years previously based solely on the testimony of surviving participants. Like "Cards on the Table", this is a novel whose primary satisfaction is intellectual: one for the Christie connoisseur, perhaps.

Taken at the Flood (4/5)

This complex mystery follows so serpentine path that it is extremely difficult to solve more than a part of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Poirot: The French Collection, 19 Sep 2014
By 
StarryNight (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poirot: The French Collection: "Murder on the Links", "Mystery of the Blue Train", "Death in the Clouds" (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this collection of Poirot stories based in France; the 'Mystery of the Blue Train' was particularly good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it's good to be able to order old favourites and enjoy them again. Packing and delivery very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Poirot: The Complete Ariadne Oliver: Volume 1, 5 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have alwyays liked murder mysteries, and as such I enjoy books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews