Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A drugs free approach for the treatment of arthritis is advocated by this book
My mum got this book from the library - loved it - so we ordered a copy from Amazon. She was diagnosed with arthritis 50 years ago and has suffered on and off with the disease since. Over Christmas 2012, she was bed ridden with a bad chest infection for 5 weeks and lost a stone in weight because she didn't want to eat. However, this enforced fasting 'cured' her...
Published 22 months ago by Janet Mars

versus
29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eating right to treat arthitis
Eat to Beat Arthritis : Over 60 Recipes and a Self-treatment Plan to Transform Your Life has obviously worked for the authors, and there are a number of ideas I am now using.
The diet involves no caffiene or gluten and lots of liver.

I got it to go with -"Treating Arthritis the Drug-Free Way", Margaret Hills, SRN." which recommends Apple cider vinegar and...
Published on 14 Feb 2010 by Clancy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A drugs free approach for the treatment of arthritis is advocated by this book, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eat to Beat Arthritis : Over 60 Recipes and a Self-treatment Plan to Transform Your Life (Paperback)
My mum got this book from the library - loved it - so we ordered a copy from Amazon. She was diagnosed with arthritis 50 years ago and has suffered on and off with the disease since. Over Christmas 2012, she was bed ridden with a bad chest infection for 5 weeks and lost a stone in weight because she didn't want to eat. However, this enforced fasting 'cured' her arthritis. Although she'd always suspected that diet was a key factor in managing arthritis, this episode confirmed it. This book is useful in listing 'prohibited' foods as well as 'desirable' foods and suggesting ways to incorporate the latter into your diet. Of course, other self help books on arthritis give conflicting advice. This one, for example, advocates a gluten free diet - eliminating wheat, oats and rye from your intake, whilst others on the subject are not so strict. It also introduces readers to the anti-inflammatory properties of turmeric and ginger. However, despite this, it's not a dogmatic book and encourages experimentation. We've combined the advice in this book with that found in Margaret Hills' "Curing Arthritis the Drugs -free way". Both books were written by women who cured their own arthritic conditions through diet. That adds weight to their words! My own opinion is that the NHS should spend less on anti-inflammatories and much more on self-help through diet. It would save the tax-payers billions! Books like these can only stimulate growth in that self-help sector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eating right to treat arthitis, 14 Feb 2010
This review is from: Eat to Beat Arthritis : Over 60 Recipes and a Self-treatment Plan to Transform Your Life (Paperback)
Eat to Beat Arthritis : Over 60 Recipes and a Self-treatment Plan to Transform Your Life has obviously worked for the authors, and there are a number of ideas I am now using.
The diet involves no caffiene or gluten and lots of liver.

I got it to go with -"Treating Arthritis the Drug-Free Way", Margaret Hills, SRN." which recommends Apple cider vinegar and honey and a near veggie low-fat diet,which is brilliant except for the rather dull recipes.

If you only get 1 book I would suggest Nurse Hills, or mix and match as suits you best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marguerite Patten cookbook, 23 Jun 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eat to Beat Arthritis : Over 60 Recipes and a Self-treatment Plan to Transform Your Life (Paperback)
Excellent little book. Very informative chapters on self-help, lifestyle changes, what is arthritis and a seven week diet plan. The recipes are easy to follow, Marguerite Patten influenced my cooking from an early age so she knows what she is talking about with regards to food. Good question and answer chapter at the end of the book for those little niggling issues you may have. Take this little book away on holiday to ensure you stick to your new way of eating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eat to beat arthritis, 29 Aug 2011
This review is from: Eat to Beat Arthritis : Over 60 Recipes and a Self-treatment Plan to Transform Your Life (Paperback)
Very interesting book! There is a lot of info on what to eat and what not to eat and the way you can establish that. The reason therefore is that what work for one person is not always right for the next person. Much more personal and worth a lot. Thank you very much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Muddled and lazy, 2 Jan 2014
By 
chochosan (Tottenham, London) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eat to Beat Arthritis : Over 60 Recipes and a Self-treatment Plan to Transform Your Life (Paperback)
This is a very disappointing book.There's absolutely no basis for most of the health claims made in the book, and no attempt to cite any studies that might support the authors' claims. Because the thinking about the links between certain foods and arthritis in its various forms is so unclear and muddled, the advice about what to do is also muddled. The recipes are not inspiring! There are various annoying inconsistencies. The authors go on at length about how important it is to stick to the elimination diet and then Marguerite Patten, in reporting her personal experience, simply says she didn't do that! It's not at all clear that the book is actually based on anyone's experience other than Marguerite Patten's and it's all a bit annoyingly self-indulgent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars arthritis, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eat to Beat Arthritis : Over 60 Recipes and a Self-treatment Plan to Transform Your Life (Paperback)
This is a good book, a punishing book too which suggests fasting before taking on a different diet cutting out a lot of staple foods and replacing them, for instance oats which I thought were good and wheat. Mrs Patten has herself suffered with this condition so she knows what she is talking about, maybe one day I will try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars arthritis book, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eat to Beat Arthritis : Over 60 Recipes and a Self-treatment Plan to Transform Your Life (Paperback)
very interesting book, made sense and will certainly put it to good use. Delivery good and will probably pass it on to a friend when I've had a good study of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arthritis Recipes, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eat to Beat Arthritis : Over 60 Recipes and a Self-treatment Plan to Transform Your Life (Paperback)
Very informative, Have cut out some of the foods which may affect arthritis. I have also cut down on tea and coffee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars eat to beat Arhritis, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eat to Beat Arthritis : Over 60 Recipes and a Self-treatment Plan to Transform Your Life (Paperback)
The diet was realistic. There was some pain relief. Gave good information. I liked M. Patten recipes and her comments encouraging. I feel healthier and have more energy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZINGLY THIS IS HELPING BETHANY SIMPSON WHEN WE WERE TOLD DIET WOULD NOT HELP!!!!, 9 April 2008
By 
J. simpsom (NORFOLK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eat to Beat Arthritis : Over 60 Recipes and a Self-treatment Plan to Transform Your Life (Paperback)
I have tried Bethany Simpson on this plan "Behind My Smile" A look at Juvenile Arthritis and she is having a little positive change to her health already. Bethany is finding it easier to breath and to tackle the stairs. It is a real hope for us as seeing your child in so much pyshical and emotional pain is soul destroying. The honey especially is helping and she seems a bit calmer. We have only been following for 4 days so I have high hopes. I would love her to come off the anti-tnf drugs even though they are helping we can see the side effects. Thank you for writing the book.

JULIE AND BETHANY SIMPSON
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eat to Beat Arthritis : Over 60 Recipes and a Self-treatment Plan to Transform Your Life
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews