Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant concordance to Tolkien’s work, 2 Mar 2003
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This detailed guide was compiled to assist readers of The Lord Of The Rings, The Hobbit and The Silmarillion by placing historical events, characters and places in the context of Tolkien’s vast cosmology. As such it is an indispensable concordance for the serious fan of Tolkien’s world. The history of Middle Earth and Aman was woven together with great attention to detail so that all the stories fit together in perfect cohesion. The main body of the work has alphabetical entries from “Abyss” to “Zirak-Zigil”, while Appendix A is a chronology of the First Age from the creation of Eä to the birth of Elrond and Elros, and Appendix B contains genealogical tables like that of the first house of the Edain, the lines of Isildur and Anarion, the descent of the Peredhil, the house of Hurin and the Rohirrim. Many of the Elvish entries have translations of their meaning, e.g. Aragorn = “Royal Tree”. The treatment of languages, like variations and different shades of meaning, is quite detailed and interesting. Important races, places and characters have extensive commentary devoted to them but there are also many single line entries. This comprehensive reference work makes one appreciate Tolkien’s achievement all the more. I recommend it to all who are seriously interested in his brilliant creation that has come to life again at the beginning of our third millennium with the release of the excellent Lord Of The Rings movie trilogy. I would also like to recommend David Day’s book “A Tolkien Bestiary” which contains maps, chronologies and wonderful illustrations. These two titles together are all you need to have a complete reference to Aman and Middle Earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treasure trove of fascinating information, 16 July 2004
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
My thirteen-year-old daughter has become a solid Tolkien fan, and picked up this book for further study. Organized into dictionary form, this wonderful book contains all of the information on people, places and things found in J.R.R. Tolkien's books on Middle-Earth. Do you want to know more about Elrond or the great Wizards? What about the Grey Havens or the Rings of Power? Well, it's all here!
The information is nicely organized, including translations (where necessary) and source reference. Now, the one thing I must say is that if you have not read the Silmarillion, then a good deal of the information here will not mean much to you. If you have read it, then this book will be a great resource for you. If you haven't read the Silmarillion (like my daughter), then you will still find this a treasure trove of fascinating information. My daughter and I both highly recommend this book to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it sucks you in (a must have), 9 Jan 2003
this guide has proven invaluable to me whilst reading the tolkien books.
you find yourself looking up one person or creature and then spotting another on the same page that grabs your attention.
it goes into great detail and gives an enlightened insight into tolkiens world.
until you own this book you will never realise the true genius and hard work that went into the books of tolkien. you will finally understand the loyalties, relationships and linkages of middle earth... it has everything!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great help!, 22 Aug 2000
By A Customer
A great book for Tolkien fans! I've been reading "The Hobbit" and the "Lord of the Rings" and both are full of names, places, things and persons. This book displayes all these names from A-Z and explains a little about each one. It contains information on everything from "The Hobbit" to "The Silmarillion". This book has helped me much understanding the world better J. R. R. Tolkien created.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great and useful book, 12 Aug 2011
By 
A. R. Jackson (Argyll, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Along with Karen Fonstad's Atlas a very useful and informative friend (I didn't want to say companion) to make re-reading LOTR more enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very detailed and accessible read, 25 May 2004
By 
This book is really fabulous with its enormous detail giving very thing about the character or place with as much detail as can be found about it in texts.
Its expansive text was a must have for me and gave enormous detail about such subjects as details about the seven fathers of dwarves and the folk of durin as well details about what aragorn did in his youth against the corsairs of umbar.

It also tells about many things not even mentioned in the book- like all details concerning helm hammerhand as well as all is known about the palantiri and the hoards of easterlings that invaded gondor and nearly brought it to its knees as well as virtually all that is known about the istari and sauron.
This book has great detail(so much so that even christopher tolkien recommends it) but I found its only shortcoming was that it hardly had many details about genealogical tables which I had wanted to know about and huge gaps were found in several places in that way.
But other than that I can wholeheartedly recommend this book to anyone even remotely interested in middle earth with a guarantee that they will be pouring over it for hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you ever wanted to know about Middle Earth, 9 Feb 2004
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The book has a well thought out design in a dictionary form. You find information on every character, every place, and every thing. There is a section on how to read the sources and abbreviations in the book. There are appendixes with A Chronology of the First Age, Genealogical Tables, and Conversion of page references to Houghton Mifflin Editions.
Some may think this guide is geared towards those that already have a basic knowledge of Middle earth. But upon exam one finds it is like any other dictionary those with a large vocabulary may need an occasional glance; while others may have to look up the words that explain the words.
I find it indispensable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book!, 3 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Middle-earth (Hardcover)
If you like Tolkien and The Lord of the Rings, this is a fantastic book, a must have, with plenty of information, without being "boring", and also very interesting for young people. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate touch for a Tolkien Collectionist., 21 April 2002
By 
Alejandro Javier (Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic) - See all my reviews
If the Tolkien mania has already sunk in, then try this book to give it the last touch. This will help you remember events without having to read the books all over again. A must-have for a Tolkien Collectionist like me, and for a reasonable price. It is one of the few books concerning Middle-Earth not written by Tolkien that is actually worth reading. Even the most picky reader will admit that this one is worth the while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Middle-earth (Hardcover)
I had good expectations regarding this book but when it got delivered it surpassed those in an instant. The print quality is excellent, the book itself is huge and the level of detail is very satisfying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Guide to Middle-earth
The Complete Guide to Middle-earth by Robert Foster (Hardcover - 6 Oct 2003)
19.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews