Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars305
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Leather Bound|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 July 2012
Excellent! Use it regularly at home and in Church. The index allows you to find chapter and verse quickly and also allows cross referencing. Very good value for money. Highly recommended.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2012
All that I wanted was a reliable, affordable, attractive Kindle edition of the greatest book in all history -- and one that DEFINITELY was its greatest translation, the original 1611, without any soulless tampering. Of course, the spelling is modernised, but it has been since the 18th century, and I have no quibbles with that. This is the best I could find after extensive searching, and it more than lives up to what I wanted.
0Comment|46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2011
Although I use modern versions of the Bible, I always want to have the Authorised Version (KJV) as a reference and because of its poetic form. This edition is excellent for use in the Kindle and I liked the paragraph style.
22 comments|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2012
Beautifully and simply designed, the Holy Bible is a book we should all have but with so many to choose from it can be hard ! This edition is officially allowed to be read in church and it has the more traditional language, which makes it even more classic. Highly recommended by me, also the seller posted this ultra quickly, I will definitely use them again.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2012
A must have if only for the language. Lovely to be able to search back and forward so easily. Excellent value.
22 comments|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2010
I wanted a white bible as a christening gift and this one is just right. It has a page to write a personal message is just the right size for a child.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
Very readable indeed with exceptionally elegant and clear font. This is indeed the KJV Bible but has been skilfully reset in a continuous paragraph format without any intrusive troublesome notes or commentary.
But UNLIKE the Cambridge paragraph bible edited by David Norton this version does NOT simplify and regularize the original spelling and - importantly - retains the italicized words of the original ( these were never meant for emphasis but were rather to show English words had been supplied for clarity that did not appear in the Hebrew + Greek.)
A nice copy and as I said in the heading such a shame the edition is not hardback - because it's a huge paperback that will have to be handled carefully!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2010
My eight year old dauhter got this as a gift for her First Holy Communion. Lovely gift and well presented with a box to protect it.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2009
As a Christening gift, this ticks all the right boxes, and fully deserves four stars. But as a Bible that's meant to be read, it suffers from a few niggles that prevent me giving it the fifth star. It's a bit small; yes, the product description does state the size, so I should have been forewarned, but it's diminuitive pages were still a surprise. The text is perfectly readable, but everything just feels a bit too condensed and squashed on the page. The print quality is merely adequate, a slight disappointment after the impressive exterior cover. So yes, as a gift this is ideal. But I'd suggest you think twice if you want a Bible for reading regularly.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2011
The Best of "The Book of Books" that you can get. Note: Dont get the free version due to the fact, that thay will look wrong on your kindle. This is the one you will need.

The best bible in the world along with the copy of the old testment of the Apocryphy and the Gospel of Thomas.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)