Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Told me everything that I wanted to know
Wanting to get into woodworking for pleasure (and ultimately furnishing my house) but having very little prior knowledge about the subject, I wanted a book that I could use as a reference whenever it was needed. This book fulfills the role very nicely and gives excellent guidance on the purchase of tools as well as techniques. Having read through the relevant sections, I...
Published on 19 Aug 2003 by S. Sims

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not outstanding
The book provides basic knowledge of woodworking tools, material and techniques. The chapter on different tools is very extensive and pretty much up-to-date reflecting the status at time of the publishing year 2005. What is missing is a chapter with example projects showing how to apply different joining techniques at the same time showing how to use the tools. The...
Published on 12 Dec 2011 by Wiklund Peter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Told me everything that I wanted to know, 19 Aug 2003
By 
S. Sims (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Wanting to get into woodworking for pleasure (and ultimately furnishing my house) but having very little prior knowledge about the subject, I wanted a book that I could use as a reference whenever it was needed. This book fulfills the role very nicely and gives excellent guidance on the purchase of tools as well as techniques. Having read through the relevant sections, I was able to go out the next day and purchase everything I needed.
Often the most difficult thing about starting out in a new hobby is finding somebody with experience to guide you. Whilst this is usually the best way, in my case it wasn't possible and this title was about as worthy a substitute as a reference book can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Informative, 18 Nov 2001
By A Customer
Excellent book. I am studying Antique Furniture Restoration at college and find that this book covers all the woodworking basics that I need to know, learn and excel at. It is well laid out, easy to follow and has step by step guides for different types of joints, timbers, tools and wood finishing. It is my bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An easy to use reference for students and hobbyists, 14 Oct 1999
By A Customer
I found this manual to be an easy to use reference with superb photographs. It has the added advantage of being a complete one volume guide. I am reccommending it to my Art and Technology Education college students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but can be sketchy, 22 Jan 2003
By 
Jeremy Mcgee (Deepest Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First - this is a really well produced book. It shows what several dozen samples of different wood types look like (both plain and varnished), and goes on to outline the basic construction principles behind chairs, tables, and cupboards. It then covers the use of hand tools and power tools.
But, and it's a big but, this is really only an overview of a vast subject. For example, it covers drafting of a plan in one single page, which really isn't enough if you're planning to build a large piece of furniture.
So while it looks lovely, bear in mind that it's best considered as a roadmap for further study and experimentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, 22 Jan 2009
I enjoyed reading this book. It's put together almost like an encyclopedia and would be an excellent resource for the student or novice. All the main aspects of woodworking are covered and each chapter is devoted to a particular area so for your money you get chapters on

Wood
Designing in wood
Hand tools
Power tools
Machine tools
Home workshops
Joint making
Bending wood
Veneering
Woodcarving
Finishing wood
Other materials
Fixtures and fittings

For illustrative purposes you get both photographs and drawings. I was impressed by the chapter on Machine tools but I must say I found the chapter on fixtures and fittings a bit scant. But all in its a pretty good manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All essential woodworking info in one book., 10 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: Collins Complete Woodworker's Manual (Hardcover)
I'm strictly a "hobbyist" woodworker and I ordered this on a whim, having just bought a router in the post xmas sales, hoping to pick up some ideas for projects.
The depth of information is outstanding, with the chapters being logically ordered and all types of wood, tool and method being laid out in detail with plenty of clear diagrams and "how-to" instructions.
I picked up plenty of hints and tips on things I never even knew I was doing wrong. I've also managed to identify some of the more obscure woodworking tools I inherited from my Grandfather, and found a use for them!
Money well spent, this will keep me busy for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you always wanted to know about woodworking..., 1 July 2000
Teaching English at a technical college in Germany I always kept looking for a book that explains it all. I finally found it: whatever you need to know about woodworking, all the tools, the properties of wood, designing furniture, dovetails, what have you... It's all in this one book. It's well-written, easy to read, beuatifully illustrated (cudos to Simon Jennings). If you want to go into woodworking seriously, this is the book you want to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beginners Essential, 19 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Complete Woodworker's Manual (Hardcover)
I spent a lot of my life Managing a Furniture Unit in a College and a lot more of it as an external verifier for City and Guilds. This book is a magic offering for any learner, formal or otherwise, in most woodwork subjects i.e. C&J or Cabinet making particularly. Covering, as it does, materials, tools and techniques along with power tools and machinery. I bought this edition to compare it with the First edition and found it just as good and useful. It should be an essential Text Book for all students, particularly in early years Cabinet Making. I read one review which wanted more on Design and Drawing - in my opinion the book has it just right for the early years student where practical techniques are the most important element. This book gives a great start to essential underpinning knowledge (used to be called technology).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not outstanding, 12 Dec 2011
By 
Wiklund Peter (Espoo, Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collins Complete Woodworker's Manual (Hardcover)
The book provides basic knowledge of woodworking tools, material and techniques. The chapter on different tools is very extensive and pretty much up-to-date reflecting the status at time of the publishing year 2005. What is missing is a chapter with example projects showing how to apply different joining techniques at the same time showing how to use the tools. The chapter on basic furniture construction is presented only as handwritten drawings and handwritten text making it laborious to grasp the content. What I liked most was the stuff on bending wood, finishing and veneering techniques. The next edition would benefit from of a total rewrite with a more balanced take on the different chapters in addition to a more contemporary approach on the subject.

Overall the book is well worth the money as a basic reference for those new to woodworking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Beginners Guide, 11 July 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Complete Woodworker's Manual (Hardcover)
This book was purchased for someone who doesn't know a lot about woodworking. He has found it very useful, informative, interesting and inspiring. A good place to start, it contains basic knowledge and helpful points on most aspects of carpentry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabcc26f0)

This product

Collins Complete Woodworker's Manual
Collins Complete Woodworker's Manual by David Day (Hardcover - 4 April 2005)
19.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews