Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for the car
Dr Seuss stories come alive when they are read aloud. The four stories on offer here are four of my childrens favourites (and if truth be told my own as well). Adrien Edmondson does not have a reputation for reading childrens books, I remember him from "The Young Ones" and Bottom, but he does a pretty good job of delivering these.
The Cat in the Hat and The Cat in...
Published on 15 Oct 2005 by Richard Kelly

versus
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Typically manic reading by Edmondson
This is probably not how you imagined 'The Cat in the Hat' should sound. It's almost certainly not how you read it to yourself as a child or out loud to your own children.
For one thing, you get background music, somewhat reminiscent of those 1960s Hanna-Barbera cartoons. Plus noisy sound effects. Plus Adrian Edmondson acting midway between his Vyvyan persona and...
Published on 27 Aug 2004 by Gavin Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for the car, 15 Oct 2005
By 
Richard Kelly (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cat in the Hat and Other Stories (Dr Seuss) (Audio CD)
Dr Seuss stories come alive when they are read aloud. The four stories on offer here are four of my childrens favourites (and if truth be told my own as well). Adrien Edmondson does not have a reputation for reading childrens books, I remember him from "The Young Ones" and Bottom, but he does a pretty good job of delivering these.
The Cat in the Hat and The Cat in the Hat Comes Back allow Edmondson to deliver his lines which the manic style that most listeners will instantly know is his (at least their parents will). Whilst on Fox in Socks and Green Eggs and Ham he manages a simple vocal style that children will warm to.
There are pleanty of musical interludes and sound effects as part of this production and my children love it.
It's an ideal CD to stick on in the car and I enjoy it as much as my kids do. I'm giving it 8/10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Typically manic reading by Edmondson, 27 Aug 2004
By 
Gavin Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cat in the Hat and Other Stories (Dr Seuss) (Audio CD)
This is probably not how you imagined 'The Cat in the Hat' should sound. It's almost certainly not how you read it to yourself as a child or out loud to your own children.
For one thing, you get background music, somewhat reminiscent of those 1960s Hanna-Barbera cartoons. Plus noisy sound effects. Plus Adrian Edmondson acting midway between his Vyvyan persona and a vaguely responsible adult.
This is not bedtime listening! It's far too exciting to expect the kids to go to sleep quickly afterwards. It's better as the key ingredient for relieving a tedious car journey.
By the way, the other stories include:
'The Cat in the Hat Comes Back'
'Green Eggs and Ham'
'Fox in Socks'
but sadly not Seuss's masterpiece, 'One Fish, Two Fish'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best story CD my children have ever had, 12 April 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cat in the Hat and Other Stories (Dr Seuss) (Audio CD)
I'm not a great fan of Adrian Edmondson (Young Ones, Bottom, etc) but he is *brilliant* on this CD, a perfect choice as narrator. It's about the only kids CD I can bear to listen to more than once as it's really entertaining for adults as well. He reads in such a fun way and the sound effects are good too - they don't go on all the time, but add to the humour and the story where appropriate and there are some weird and wonderful noises! The reading is also very clear which is important for young children who aren't as familiar with the vocabulary as adults. I didn't really understand the appeal of Dr Seuss and couldn't make sense of some bits until I heard this, but now I am a fan.

It's great value for money too. Lots of kids CDs seem to only have one very short story and pad it out with different versions or a song or two, but this one is about 45 minutes of proper storytelling with both Cat in the Hat stories, Green Eggs and Ham and Fox in Socks, all read really well.

Highly recommended for any child who likes Dr Seuss. I think it would also be great for a reluctant reader - might tempt them to take a look at the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cat in the Hat CD, 1 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cat in the Hat and Other Stories (Dr Seuss) (Audio CD)
I was asked to provide something for the grandsons (7 and 5) to listen to in the car. This has proved to be invaluable apparently!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved by everyone!, 6 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cat in the Hat and Other Stories (Dr Seuss) (Audio CD)
This classic book is loved by everybody in the family! So loved that we now have the audiobook as well and the kids are giggling away and know all the words!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 10 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cat in the Hat and Other Stories (Dr Seuss) (Audio CD)
A fantastic cd to accompany the books. It gets better every time we listen as we're waiting for the funny voices and delivery of Adrian Edmonson. My son (2 1/4) asks to listen to it again and again. He has learnt lots of new words from it and even called the fishmonger at Morrison's 'Cat in the Hat' on seeing his hat! Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant audio book, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cat in the Hat and Other Stories (Dr Seuss) (Audio CD)
Our 7 year old and 4 year old boys really enjoy listening to this audio book before bed. Great narration from Ade Edmonson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun and Zany, but slightly annoying for adults, 15 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cat in the Hat and Other Stories (Dr Seuss) (Audio CD)
The Cat in the Hat CD contains a number of classic stories from Dr.Seuss read by Adrian Edmonson (Best remembered as Vyvyan from the Young Ones). The stories are read well with enthusiasm and enjoyment. There are a lot of sound effects and noises which the children seem to enjoy but which can sometimes make it difficult to hear the words. Dr Suess has a very distinctive style with ryhmes and repetition, which the children like, but which I start to find annoying after a while. Already a firm favourite in the car my wife and I get bored with this before the children do. We normally insist they chose another CD after listening to this one for our sanity. In short - fantastic for kids but if you buy it think about where they are going to listen to it because its not so much fun for adults!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 10 July 2014
This review is from: The Cat in the Hat and Other Stories (Dr Seuss) (Audio CD)
My kids love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cat in a hat, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cat in the Hat and Other Stories (Dr Seuss) (Audio CD)
Well recommended - my 8 year old loves this alot and will listen to it before he goes to sleep
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cat in the Hat and Other Stories (Dr Seuss)
The Cat in the Hat and Other Stories (Dr Seuss) by Dr. Seuss (Audio CD - 6 May 2003)
£4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews