Customer Reviews


6 Reviews

4 star
0


2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pursuit of Alice Thrift
An enchanting novel, I read it straight through, and stayed up late to finish it on a work night! The story concerns Alice Thrift, a hospital intern who feels she can't connect emotionally or socially and takes things very literally (a spock-type soul).
Over the course of the book, Alice meets a man (who pursues her), makes friends and learns about the softer side...
Published on 12 Aug. 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Witty and surprising
Funny little book! Very readable and we all know someone like Alice who is so surprised when someone takes an interest in them they get duped!
Published on 27 Feb. 2005 by timocrete


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pursuit of Alice Thrift, 12 Aug. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Pursuit of Alice Thrift (Paperback)
An enchanting novel, I read it straight through, and stayed up late to finish it on a work night! The story concerns Alice Thrift, a hospital intern who feels she can't connect emotionally or socially and takes things very literally (a spock-type soul).
Over the course of the book, Alice meets a man (who pursues her), makes friends and learns about the softer side of patient care. It's written in the third person, but with a no-nonense tone that matches how Alice's internal monologue must sound. There are a number of touching moments, the characters are intelligently drafted and some funny situations are found; I found it heart-warming and have enjoyed thinking back on it since I finished it last week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Lipman wonder!, 1 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Pursuit of Alice Thrift (Paperback)
Elinor Lipman has excelled with this one. For her band of faithful readers this is the funniest and poignant so far.
The heroine Alice Thrift is a doctor in training and somewhat lacking in social skills and bedside manner. Two friends come to her rescue. The dialogue is pure comedy reflecting life. Ms Lipman's talent for capturing ordinary conversations is amazing.
I loved this book as I did Isobel's Bed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Roll over Bridget Jones Alice Thift is here.., 24 Jun. 2006
By 
Superb book, for a time I could recognise myself so much in Alice Thift that I even imagined wearing a white coat and becoming a doctor. This book is funny using every day natural situations and witt. I loved it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Witty and surprising, 27 Feb. 2005
Funny little book! Very readable and we all know someone like Alice who is so surprised when someone takes an interest in them they get duped!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Might try another of this Authors work, 1 Aug. 2014
By 
Mrs. O. Green "Pauline Green" (Southsea Hants) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this story even though I couldn't quite believe in the story or the characters. It was unusual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The poor decisions made to alleviate loneliness, 20 July 2004
By 
Mr. Joe (Glendale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
If you're over the age of, say, twenty, THE PURSUIT OF ALICE THRIFT probably won't tell you anything you haven't already learned in the demanding School of Relationships.
Alice Thrift, M.D., is a hapless first-year surgical resident at a Boston teaching hospital. Expected to work a zillion-hour week, she doesn't have a life outside her scrubs. She's the epitome of boring. Her only contact with the outside world is her platonic male roomy and friend, Leo, an extremely popular pediatric RN at the same institution. Alice doesn't have a boyfriend, much less a pet goldfish.
One day while rotating through Plastic Surgery, Alice is consulted by a forty-year old widower, Ray Russo, seeking advice about a nose job. After being talked out of it, Ray embarks on his romantic pursuit of Thrift. Russo is a fudge salesman. Or so he says. He's also extraordinarily glib, and, obviously to everyone but Alice, up to something.
The problem with THE PURSUIT OF ALICE THRIFT is threefold. The ending is revealed on page 6 when Thrift tells the reader that Ray is a "LIAR", and that they had a failed marriage. One only reads further in hope of learning the sordid details. Secondly, Alice is numbingly ordinary. Having that goldfish, or even a tabletop ant farm, might have made her more interesting. And her social interactions with more socially developed friends and colleagues are only marginally amusing. Finally, since this is a story about the poor decisions a person makes to escape the throes of loneliness, it shouldn't be revelation to any reasonably contemplative individual beyond adolescence. Indeed, on finishing this novel, the average reader should be able to state, "Yup. Been there; done that; will likely do it again."
THE PURSUIT OF ALICE THRIFT isn't a bad book, just decidedly so-so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pursuit of Alice Thrift
The Pursuit of Alice Thrift by Elinor Lipman (Paperback - 2 Jun. 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews