Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but left me slightly frustrated
OK, this might be a personal thing but I really felt the lead (Katie) ended up with the wrong fella! Won't say too much here about that as don't want to spoil it before you read it, but it was the one bug bear I had with this. Apart from that really loved it - easy to read, devoured it in a day as couldnt put it down and really cared about the characters to the point of...
Published on 22 Oct 2006 by H. Jones

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a disappointment
Having been impressed by two of Colgan's previous books, Talking To Addison and Do You Remember The First Time?, I was looking forward to her most recent title, Where Have All The Boys Gone?
As with many books of this genre, the book's premise of a London PR girl leaving behind all her mod-cons in order to embrace the "great outdoors" seemed slightly contrived...
Published on 2 Sep 2005 by lozenge85


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but left me slightly frustrated, 22 Oct 2006
By 
H. Jones "madpixie" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Where Have All the Boys Gone? (Paperback)
OK, this might be a personal thing but I really felt the lead (Katie) ended up with the wrong fella! Won't say too much here about that as don't want to spoil it before you read it, but it was the one bug bear I had with this. Apart from that really loved it - easy to read, devoured it in a day as couldnt put it down and really cared about the characters to the point of crying at one point. Can we have a sequel please? (or if there is one, someone let me know! lol).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a disappointment, 2 Sep 2005
This review is from: Where Have All the Boys Gone? (Paperback)
Having been impressed by two of Colgan's previous books, Talking To Addison and Do You Remember The First Time?, I was looking forward to her most recent title, Where Have All The Boys Gone?
As with many books of this genre, the book's premise of a London PR girl leaving behind all her mod-cons in order to embrace the "great outdoors" seemed slightly contrived. However, I was willing to give it a go, based on Colgan's earlier accomplishments...
I do not wish to spoil it for those who have not yet read it, so I will simply say that it starts off "ok" (for want of a better adjective!), lulls tremendously in the middle, but is thankfully recovered in the final third of the book. At this point, I was happy to find I couldn't put it down, as I wanted to see how everyone ended up.
It's not a bad book, but I was actually bored whilst reading a large proportion of it. Nonetheless, if you work through it as I did, you'll be pleasantly surprised at the ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An average read, 16 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Where Have All the Boys Gone? (Paperback)
I have read all of Jenny Colgan's books but have felt that the last few have not really lived up to the promise of Amanda's wedding and talking to Addison. This novel focuses on how difficult it is for women to find a man in London and when the two heroines are sent off to a remote Scottish Village mainly inhabited by men how their life changes. The story is very predictable with a few giggles along the way but not really a page turner. Fine for a sunbed read but if you're in to chick lit go for something a but meatier like Lisa Jewell or Adele Parks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun read, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Usual warm hearted read that gives plenty of giggles and fairy tail ending. Would recommend it as nice easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A harmless, fun book, 25 Mar 2006
This review is from: Where Have All the Boys Gone? (Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading this.
It's not a book that will keep you guessing or provide any intellectual challenge, but if you're looking for an afternoon with a relaxing book then this is it.
While the plot is a little weak, the characters are mostly lovable and the pace (at only ~200 pages) doesn't keep you waiting. It also DOES give a decent insight into the modern girls life. There is nothing profound... but it takes a few (valid) shots at the "work hard, play hard" lifestyle.
I'd recommend this to anyone who enjoys a good relaxing read with no taxing twists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny - absurd, improbable, but very very funny!, 1 Jan 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where Have All the Boys Gone? (Paperback)
There's more than a touch of the absurd in Where Have All the Boys Gone - but Colgan carries if off nicely. And despite the humor, I still managed to care about the characters and how things moved along. Oh sure, you can see who the "big couple" will be well in advance of the end of the book - but even that takes a sweet and unexpected turn. Great book for forgetting your troubles - sweet and funny at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A little slow at first but we'll worth reading, it's a light hearted easy to read book with a feel good ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jenny Colgan at her best, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another shining example of why I like this womans books. A good read from start to finish - difficult to put down with twists and turns in the plot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fab, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely book I could not put it down. Charming, romantic and funny. A great girly read for any occasion. X
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is not a new Jenny Colgan novel. It is a re-release but I still loved it, 3 Jun 2014
Although I have read all of Jenny Colgan's books, I feel her last few books have not been as good as her earlier novels. I loved Where Have All The Boys Gone but I wish it was stated, very clearly, when a book is being re-released and that the only thing new about it is the cover........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Where Have All the Boys Gone?
Where Have All the Boys Gone? by Jenny Colgan (Paperback - 29 July 2011)
5.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews