Customer Reviews


146 Reviews
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sas Survival
Does what it's supposed to. The perfect survival guide for any situation, tells you how to find food and water, make a shelter, make a fire and lots more.
There are colour illutrations of edible and medical plants as well as poisonous plants and fungi. There is also a first aid section which covers a range of situations. The book also tells you how to make weapons...
Published on 10 Sep 2005 by albaldrewy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ok, some good tips
werth the read and putting in the bug out bag, but the situations it deals with, if you find yourself in them, you wont be pulling out the book for refrence
Published 2 months ago by ian


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sas Survival, 10 Sep 2005
This review is from: SAS Survival Handbook: How to Survive in the Wild, in any Climate, on Land or at Sea (Paperback)
Does what it's supposed to. The perfect survival guide for any situation, tells you how to find food and water, make a shelter, make a fire and lots more.
There are colour illutrations of edible and medical plants as well as poisonous plants and fungi. There is also a first aid section which covers a range of situations. The book also tells you how to make weapons (e.g. bow and arrow, spear, sling etc...) to hunt with and to recognise different animals tracks.
It describes different knots (includes how to make snares and other animal traps).
It also briefly tells you how to survive a tornado, earthquake, nuclear explosion etc..
If your looking for a book to help you in any climate in any country this is perfect, or if you just like the outdoors you will find this book usefull
10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You never know when this information will come in handy!, 16 Oct 2006
By 
P. G. A. James "PGAJ" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have always had a small interest in survival skills, but mainly from the armchair. I was reading this book when one day, I was out in the fields with an old farmer and we saw a load of mushrooms. On picking them and checking in the survival book I found that they were field mushroom, so I ate them fried with a load of garlic. This time of year I often wander around local fields looking for a free meal and ticking off the 'foods' I can now identify and practically eat from the book. Adding notes to help me. From Hawthorn berries to Borage I now use many regularly. The most important items to identify are the poisonous ones and it is suprising which ones are, but the book guides you through many of these. From major survival situations to normal eveyday happenings the book does a good job in covering them all. I have thoughrougly enjoyed this book and my copy is now a little dog eared and battered but indispensable, and who knows, one day I may get to use more of the information. You do not need to be lost in the wilderness for this book to help you, my family now practice fishing, knot tying, plant identification, tracking and fire lighting regularly when out and about. It gives us a lot of enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Survival is for the fittest, or those who read this book., 5 April 2008
By 
D. M. York (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This little book could save your life, seriously. Though it is obviously aimed towards people with a predilection towards outdoor pursuits such as hiking, mountain climbing, sailing (etc) it does also make a point of saying that you never know when this information may come in handy. Written by a former member of the SAS, who would be the ultimate authority in extreme survival, this book is full of practical information on how to survive anywhere in the world. It details information like how to find a source of water, or create one yourself, how to treat injuries, how to make a shelter, ways to stave off dehydration, what plant forms are edible. It is a very long list because the book is full of no-nonsense information. If you are interested in outdoor pursuits this is a book that should definitely be read, or for any other reason this book contains information that could save your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely invaluable- Buy it, Read it ... and survive, 7 Feb 2001
By A Customer
With over two decades in the British S.A.S., John "Lofty" Wiseman learned everything about survival one can possibly imagine. This book has traveled thousands of miles with me, and the smaller 'SAS Survival Guide' is a permanent part of my travel/camping gear. This book teaches you how to get water in the desert, build a fire in the arctic, and every other survival essential action possible. Highly Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life saving and at the very least a fun read!, 17 May 2010
By 
B. Honisett (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A useful informative book full of survival tips and tricks. For those seeking survival knowledge this book could save your life, at the very least it makes for some interesting reading!

I do a lot of remote mountain hiking and camping, many times I do this solo. I am keen to increase my knowledge base in case of survival techniques and this book is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, Concise & Informative, 18 Aug 1999
By A Customer
I have owned this book for a few years now and have found it's content invaluable. Covering everything from edible plant identification to car crash survival! If you dislike busy text filled books then you will appreciate the logical layout and design this book offers. In short I personally reccommend it and have done for years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 30 Jun 2006
This review is from: SAS Survival Handbook: How to Survive in the Wild, in any Climate, on Land or at Sea (Paperback)
Not what you would call a pocket guide. This book is absolutly packed with very useful information. trouble is, there is so much info you will probably forget most of it before you get to use it.

I would reccomend buying and reading this book then also buying the collins book on survival which is much, much smaller.

The collins book can be taken anywhere and will remind you of what you John Wiseman taught you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best survival book available, 31 Dec 2006
By 
Ben Acheson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
SIX stars! Everything you need to survive is included in this amazingly small pocket-sized book, yet there is no padding. In true SAS-style you learn only what you need, no more. For example, you don't need to know every edible plant in the world, just a few from each part of the world that you will definitely be able to find in quantity. No need to buy additional books with specialist knowledge - this book covers absolutely every survival topic, with enough information to keep you alive. As Fairburn and Sykes taught us, it's no good overloading yourself with loads of fancy stuff, you just need a handful of reliable bits of knowledge to learn thoroughly. This book is brilliantly and simply laid out and easy to follow. Many of the survival publications out there are for your bookshelf or for amateur, rich, overweight people to refer to when playing survivalist for the day on a hunting trip. This book is different. It is designed to go in your pocket and keep you alive wherever you go. If you ever get into a survival situation then I can guarantee that having this book will save your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never out of date., 31 Mar 2006
By 
First read this book in my teens and still use it today for regular up - dates to my outdoor survival knowledge. I have reached the top of more mountains and swam more miles at sea than most whilst traversing long distance paths at will and believe me have genuinely found that the book has made my life easier on many occassion. This book could have been called ' Don't Panic ' which is the overiding message throughout and swimming just 100 yards from a beach in Wales, I was forced to think of Mr. Wiseman and this philosophy.
You might not need to know about poisonous snakes in South America but you do need to know what to do if unfamiliar surroundings turn uncomfortable. You might not need a large knife and a tent always on your back but you do need coins even in this age of mobile phones.
Read the book and live the philosophy. You do need it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best all-around "survival" book I've ever seen..., 12 Sep 1997
By A Customer
If you want a book useful for survival in any circumstances, then this is the book. There are comprehensive sections on dangerous plants and animals, edible wild foods, weather forecasting, camp crafts, navigation and map reading and much more.

This book is not for "military types," it's for anyone who's ever out in the woods (or the wilderness, anywhere in the world). The book is organized and illustrated well. There's even a new edition that is small enough for your pocket, although it contains all the text and illustrations of the full-size version.

In addition to being fascinating reading, you'll refer to it again and again, whether you camp, hike, backpack or just happen to end up "in the boonies" some dark and stormy night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SAS Survival Handbook: How to Survive in the Wild, in any Climate, on Land or at Sea
Used & New from: 0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews