Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rhyming, Syntax, Humor, Reading and Improved Abs for Dad
This book was a favorite of our four children, especially in helping them realize that they might like to hop on Pop (which they did as much as Pop would let them). This book has really stayed with me, and I was interested to analyze why it is so appealing and effective.
What I discovered upon rereading it today is that the book packs a whallop in terms of providing...
Published on 13 Sept. 2004 by Donald Mitchell

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Love the book, took more than a month for it to arrive
It was a Christmas present that is still sitting on my shelf waiting till I see my nephew again in a few months, he should have had the book for Christmas.
Published 11 months ago by Vanessa


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rhyming, Syntax, Humor, Reading and Improved Abs for Dad, 13 Sept. 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 127,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This book was a favorite of our four children, especially in helping them realize that they might like to hop on Pop (which they did as much as Pop would let them). This book has really stayed with me, and I was interested to analyze why it is so appealing and effective.
What I discovered upon rereading it today is that the book packs a whallop in terms of providing learning opportunities for children. Long before Sesame Street was a staple for youngsters, this book picked up on some of the same learning techniques.
For example, you start with two rhyming words. The only difference may be one consonant (hop and Pop). This helps a child learn to read by seeing the role that a letter plays. Then the book uses the two words together to form a sentence, and puts an illustration in the reinforce the syntax (the difference between a house on a mouse, and a mouse on a house). After the simple syntax lessons are done, it goes on to give the child more rhymes and more complex sentences. "We like to hop on top of Pop." Here are where Dad's abs come in. The illustration shows how to hop on Pop without hurting him. Also, the book says not to, which will help Pop and the child learn that the subconscious in all people and all children pay no attention to negatives in sentences. So what is captured is an imperative to hop on Pop.
The story builds to a crescendo by letting the child know that there is more to learn. Children can learn small words like "if and it" while Father knows long words like "Constantinople and Timbuktu." The child is given a little quiz at the end about "seehemewe" and so forth and is given the hint that learning can continue tomorrow.
Also, this book provided me more pleasure in being a Father than any other that I read to and with my children. So if you are a Father, get with it. If you want to encourage a Father to be with his children more, get this book to him.
Overcome your stalled thinking about the limits of what can be learned by small children from an introductory reader by using this masterpiece!
. . . and practice tightening your abs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for dads to read with their kids, 12 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
My daughter picked up this book in our local library, having recognised the style from classics like "Cat on the Mat" and "Green Eggs and Ham" but the difference was that this was one that she could learn to read for herself! With such a snappy, memorable title, she just kept nagging at her "Pop" to get her own copy... and of course, how could I refuse her?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr. Seuss does it again, 16 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This book is aimed at the youngest reader, but will give enjoyment for years. Especially suitable for children learning to read, the limited vocabularly and short words can be picked up and remembered quickly and easily. Like many of Seuss' books, this one will have children finishing the lines for you and repeating them verbatim from (in my experience) about two years old.
There is, of course, no real plot to speak of - just a sequence of improbable and highly amusing pictures and short descriptions. Most of the book flows beautifully when read aloud, rhyming of course, but my only criticism would be of the last few pages where scenes speed up and lead to a somewhat weak ending.
That notwithstanding, this is a great book, full of fun for the adult and child reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rhyming, Syntax, Humor, Reading and Improved Abs for Dad, 13 Sept. 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 127,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This book was a favorite of our four children, especially in helping them realize that they might like to hop on Pop (which they did as much as Pop would let them). This book has really stayed with me, and I was interested to analyze why it is so appealing and effective.
What I discovered upon rereading it today is that the book packs a whallop in terms of providing learning opportunities for children. Long before Sesame Street was a staple for youngsters, this book picked up on some of the same learning techniques.
For example, you start with two rhyming words. The only difference may be one consonant (hop and Pop). This helps a child learn to read by seeing the role that a letter plays. Then the book uses the two words together to form a sentence, and puts an illustration in the reinforce the syntax (the difference between a house on a mouse, and a mouse on a house). After the simple syntax lessons are done, it goes on to give the child more rhymes and more complex sentences. "We like to hop on top of Pop." Here are where Dad's abs come in. The illustration shows how to hop on Pop without hurting him. Also, the book says not to, which will help Pop and the child learn that the subconscious in all people and all children pay no attention to negatives in sentences. So what is captured is an imperative to hop on Pop.
The story builds to a crescendo by letting the child know that there is more to learn. Children can learn small words like "if and it" while Father knows long words like "Constantinople and Timbuktu." The child is given a little quiz at the end about "seehemewe" and so forth and is given the hint that learning can continue tomorrow.
Also, this book provided me more pleasure in being a Father than any other that I read to and with my children. So if you are a Father, get with it. If you want to encourage a Father to be with his children more, get this book to him.
Overcome your stalled thinking about the limits of what can be learned by small children from an introductory reader by using this masterpiece!
. . . and practice tightening your abs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars this is a short version, 9 Feb. 2010
By 
mac (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
I loved Hop On Pop when I was a child and was really excited about getting it for my daughter but this book is a very short version of the original, without the classic line 'snack snack eat a snack eat a snack with Brown and Black'. I was very disappointed and wish Amazon had made it a lot clearer that this is not the full book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great first book, 7 Mar. 2010
By 
Mrs. Carrie Smith (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hop On Pop: Blue Back Book (Dr Seuss - Blue Back Book) (Dr. Seuss Blue Back Books) (Paperback)
There is something wonderful that happens when your child first picks up a Dr Seuss book. They love them and the adults find them funny too. Great illustrations and the poetry of the words are very good for teaching kids to read without them even knowing it. "Mouse on House, House on Mouse" - they laugh when they see the house on top of the mouse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars proud fathter of a beginning reader., 22 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hop On Pop: Blue Back Book (Dr Seuss - Blue Back Book) (Dr. Seuss Blue Back Books) (Paperback)
This is a great book for young people who are just starting to read. Dr. Seuss wrote fantastic books for young children who are of a novice reading level. The style of writing consists a limited vocabulary well understood by most beginners and a very clever repititive/poetic pattern which appeals to young readers. It is amazing that a complete book could be written using so few words. Hop on Pop is very good for those who do not know many words but know a few and would like to learn more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars you must not hop on pop!, 1 Feb. 2011
By 
C. Ives "Chives" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hop On Pop: Blue Back Book (Dr Seuss - Blue Back Book) (Dr. Seuss Blue Back Books) (Paperback)
Dr Seuss is always a hit with kids, even very little ones. This doesn't really have a story so is more suitable for younger children who can look at the crazy pictures and enjoy parents making weird voices!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hop on Pop, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hop On Pop: Blue Back Book (Dr Seuss - Blue Back Book) (Dr. Seuss Blue Back Books) (Paperback)
All Dr Seuess books are a winner, and this is no exception. You get exactly what you expect, fun use of words with quirky pictures. I love this book as much as all of the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Love the book, took more than a month for it to arrive, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hop On Pop: Blue Back Book (Dr Seuss - Blue Back Book) (Dr. Seuss Blue Back Books) (Paperback)
It was a Christmas present that is still sitting on my shelf waiting till I see my nephew again in a few months, he should have had the book for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hop On Pop: Blue Back Book (Dr Seuss - Blue Back Book) (Dr. Seuss Blue Back Books)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews