Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliantly childish, genius and silly! I luv ya Spike
Only Spike Milliagan could be so brilliantly childish and observational.... so many try yet cant carry off the innocent yet deep poems and humour in this book.
Although I found reading the Goon show scripts sections a bit hard - and skipped most of them... (they wern't really of my generation, more my dads era....im sure i'll go back and read them later ).... but i...
Published on 3 May 2003 by Andy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not side-splitting, but some worthwhile stuff, both funny and serious.
This career-spanning anthology (Millelany?) includes poems, sketches, stories and excerpts from Spike's novels and war memoirs. It is organised in sections such as "Cracking Up" and "Beaming Down", whose titles bear no obvious connection to the contents. Much of the writing goes for instant and momentary half-chuckles, both trivial and wearing in quantity. The poetry...
Published on 28 April 2010 by Jason Mills


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliantly childish, genius and silly! I luv ya Spike, 3 May 2003
By 
Only Spike Milliagan could be so brilliantly childish and observational.... so many try yet cant carry off the innocent yet deep poems and humour in this book.
Although I found reading the Goon show scripts sections a bit hard - and skipped most of them... (they wern't really of my generation, more my dads era....im sure i'll go back and read them later ).... but i really take my time reading the poems and re-reading them as they as genius yet silly and one can get.
A fabulous piece of escapism.... and his biography bits are great too..... a must read! A true eccentric!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Essential Spike Milligan, 27 Feb. 2003
By 
Mr D ASHENDEN (Gravesend, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This book is a stroll through the work of one of the most productive comic writters of modern times.This book contains extracts from his many books and scripts of some the most memorable Goon Shows.Also interleaved between these gems are poems ,silly verse for kids and letters he sent and recieved when championing his many causes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not side-splitting, but some worthwhile stuff, both funny and serious., 28 April 2010
By 
Jason Mills "jason10801" (Accrington, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Essential Spike Milligan (Paperback)
This career-spanning anthology (Millelany?) includes poems, sketches, stories and excerpts from Spike's novels and war memoirs. It is organised in sections such as "Cracking Up" and "Beaming Down", whose titles bear no obvious connection to the contents. Much of the writing goes for instant and momentary half-chuckles, both trivial and wearing in quantity. The poetry particularly (at least that selected here) is mostly throw-away nonsense, though there are a few more serious efforts that earn their keep.

Similarly, the prose is at its best when some feeling and sense of the man comes through, somewhere in the relentless barrage of wise-cracks. The excerpts from "Puckoon" suggest something of substance, and those from his war memoirs evoke both the fun and the strain of chaotic events. Near the end is the script for an episode of an ill-fated broad sitcom about multiculturalism: revelling in its political incorrectness, it's perhaps the funniest thing in the book.

Although I was only moderately impressed, Spike did have a facility with language and word-play. It would have been worth reading this entertaining collection just to acquire a few wonderful nuggets like these:

"The M.O. gave us all some foul-tasting pills that left you feeling like you'd slept with an Arab's toe in your mouth."

"Gad, it's hot... You can grab a handful of air and squeeze the sweat out of it."

And from that sitcom, an exchange in London between Van Gogh (a Pakistani) and Colonel Grope (a bigot):

VAN GOGH: We are told that you feed starving Indians.
COLONEL: Yes, but we don't serve the food here. You have to go to Calcutta, lie on the pavement and hold up one withered arm with a tin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Got for a fan, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Spike Milligan (Paperback)
Usual style of Spike, but lots of different things in it, not all the same, so not boring (not that he is boring!), got as a stocking filler for male partner and he does read it when he has time, good bathroom book, if you know what I mean!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 17 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Spike will always be loved for his wonderful anarchic & innovative ground breaking comedy, but there is so much more to the man, this book gives an insight to his range of work. Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 14 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Spike Milligan (Paperback)
Eddie Izzard has put together a great collection of the gems of the wonderful Spike Milligan.This book is a perfect way to bring cheer to a miserable winter day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good for holiday read, 25 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really great book to dip into to lift your spirits
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very nice., 13 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Spike Milligan (Paperback)
Arrived quickly, as described, very nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Spike Milligan (Paperback)
Interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The essential Spike Milligan, 13 Dec. 2009
By 
If you are a fan of Spike, or even if you've giggled at a sketch on some old BBC comedy show, you will love this book.
It is the perfect pick up and read anywhere, and skips easily from war memoirs to limmericks, to tear-jerking poetry. Do yourself a favour.. Buy it..!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Essential Spike Milligan
The Essential Spike Milligan by Spike Milligan (Paperback - 2 Jun. 2003)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews