Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Middle Eastern adventure
Victoria Jones is a recently sacked shorthand typist who has an elastic approach to telling the truth, and a great longing for adventure "to Victoria an agreeable world would be one where tigers lurked in the Strand and dangerous bandits infested Tooting". She gets a chance at adventure when she meeets Edward, a handsome and charming young man on his way to Baghdad to...
Published on 27 Jun. 2004 by L O'connor

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adventure and mystery in Christie's favoured Middle East
This is a Christie book which differs from the majority of her work. Most obviously, the main character is not one of her famous personalities - Poirot, Marple, Tommy and Tuppence. Furthermore, instead of murder committed in the middle of someone's ordinary life, as so many of her stories are shaped, this book tells of a heroine who goes looking for excitement, romance...
Published on 3 Oct. 2001 by E. J. Fletcher


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Middle Eastern adventure, 27 Jun. 2004
By 
L O'connor (richmond, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: They Came to Baghdad (Paperback)
Victoria Jones is a recently sacked shorthand typist who has an elastic approach to telling the truth, and a great longing for adventure "to Victoria an agreeable world would be one where tigers lurked in the Strand and dangerous bandits infested Tooting". She gets a chance at adventure when she meeets Edward, a handsome and charming young man on his way to Baghdad to work for an organisation called the Olive Branch, the purpose of which is to foster understanding between nations by getting young people together to read Shakespeare and Milton. He wishes that Victoria could join him there, and by a lucky coincidence, the very next day she is offered a job accompanying a lady with a broken arm on the journey out. She enterprisingly provides herself with fake references and claims to be the niece of archaeologist Dr Pauncefoot Jones, excavating at Basra. Victoria is entranced by Baghdad, but before she has a chance to find Edward, a wounded man stumbles into her hotel room and dies in her bed. Who is he? And who is the mysterious Mr Dakin? And what are the people at the Olive Branch really up to. And who on earth is Anna Scheele? This is a tremedously enjoyable book. Victoria is a delightful heroine, imaginative, romantic, enterprising, and quite outrageously untruthful. There are wonderful vivid descriptions of Baghdad, a complicated and exciting plot, and plenty of humour. Great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprised by how much I enjoyed it, 21 Aug. 2010
By 
CJ Smith (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having read and listened to a lot of Agatha Christies in the past I was expecting this tale, not having Poirot or Miss Marple in it, to be a second rate Christie, like Tommy and Tuppence. How wrong I was. The story is very good and it is very easy to like the heroine, Victoria Jones.
Christie manages to take your imagination all the way to the Baghdad of the Thirties and even though the plot is about international politics, the personal side of the story is dominant and I found myself dying to know how it ended. So much so that out of all the Christie audio books I've listened to this has been my favourite.
The only down side is at first the narration by Emilia Fox seems a little lacking, but give her a chance and soon you can easily see all the characters she is portraying and she really does do a good job of all the male roles.

If you love a good mystery with an exotic setting I would heartily recommend this, and for Christie lovers it is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting adventure in 1940s Iraq, 15 Sept. 2006
By 
This review is from: They Came to Baghdad (Paperback)
They Came to Baghdad is one of Agatha Christie's thriller adventure novels, and it has many parallels with her much earlier work: The Man in the Brown Suit.

Like Anne in The Man in the Brown Suit, They Came to Baghdad involves another young British heroine, Victoria Jones, who sets off on an adventure to exotic climes. She quickly gets mixed up in an international plot, and proves herself to be as feisty and intrepid as any decent heroine should be. The book is particularly fascinating for the snapshot it presents of Baghdad and Iraq in the 1940s, which was directly drawn from Christie's own experience there.

Those wanting a straightforward murder mystery Poirot/Marple-style will possibly be disappointed, as will those who insist on a water-tight and credible plot, but Baghdad is still enormous fun. And without wanting to give plot endings away, if you know a bit about Christie's marital status in the 1930 and the 1940s, the respective choices of romantic hero in the two works is somewhat touching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 6 Sept. 2007
By 
This review is from: They Came to Baghdad (Paperback)
If you are looking for a traditional murder-in-the-grange-by-the-butler-type murder mystery, then this might not be for you. This is a tale of international politics, spycraft and intrigue.
At the heart of the book is Agatha Christie's trademark ingenious plot. The first couple of chapters are heavy going, as the many characters in the book are introduced and the plot is a bit cryptic, however it certainly gets better.
I thought the characterisation and description in this book was better than any Christie book I have read and there is certainly more emotion and romance.
Overall this book is excellent and certainly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious, 8 Jan. 2015
By 
N Whittaker (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've loved this book since I was 12 and now I read it whenever I'm feeling nostalgic. Marmite on toast, a cup of tea and They Came to Baghdad is one of my great pleasures in life.

The book itself is a lighthearted thriller set in the Baghdad that my grandad (stationed there in WW2) used to tell me about. Its heroine, Victoria Jones, is the kind of spirited Christie young girl that could surely only ever have existed in novels who finds herself wishing for adventure, finding it, and meeting it head on. As with a couple of other of her novels, there are the usual archaeological references and at times you feel Christie is almost living through her character but this just makes it more enjoyable for me.

Spies, kidnappings, assassinations, idealists and world leaders converging in Baghdad for a summit conference. And Victoria Jones, shorthand typist at the centre of it all. A glorious thriller, lighthearted, escapist but with the underlying menace of a hidden enemy, They Came to Baghdad is the best of Christie's non-detective novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A riveting adventure in the Middle East, 2 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: They Came to Baghdad (Paperback)
I loved this book. As other reviewers have mentioned, it starts a little slowly, but I was feverishly racing through the later chapters to see what happened to Victoria. As a character, she becomes more and more likable as you get to know her, and it's really important to you that things turn out well for her. I found this a real edge of the seat story with some classic adventures and escapes from seemingly hopeless situations. One part in particular was very creepy - it filled me with horror and made my blood run cold... The descriptions also made me nostalgic for the Middle East - I was reminded so much of Syria (where unfortunately I won't be going again any time soon) and Egypt. Lovely descriptions of the archaeological dig and great characters. Fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Genius of Agatha Christie, 6 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How did she do it? Agatha Christie, that is. This book has a very improbable storyline, a ridiculously unlikely heroine, bias ("The American President and the Russian Dictator") and a twist (I won't spoil it by saying what it is) that doesn't make any sense at all. And yet it is a simply fantastic story which grips to the very end, and which I recommend to the top of the highest hills! That shows the genius of Agatha Christie. The story starts of in London, where a temp loses her job and accidentally meets a young man who she falls in love with at first sight. She follows him to Baghdad - a very different Baghdad in those days - and a story of intrigue and adventure begins. It twists this way and that, and you just can't put it down. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mystery & romance in pre-war Baghdad, 9 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ehis is my favourite Agatha Christie story and was read well by Emilia Fox, although I had never thought of the heroine as especially cockney, which somewhat grated. It is a mixture of mystery and romance, totally far-fetched and quite dated but very charming, and the heroine is a favourite, funny, impulsive and resourceful. I would recommend this as a fairly light-hearted tale, with Agatha Christie's magic touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different Agatha, 23 July 2013
By 
Mr. C. Gillespie (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A change from detective stories. This one is set in Iraq whilst it was still a British protectorate. Its an espionage story, and a very good one. It also gives a fascinating glimpse of Baghdad and other locations after the second world war. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read the book and this is my best way to travel. Listeneing to this in the car. Well read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

They Came to Baghdad
They Came to Baghdad by Agatha Christie (Paperback - 15 Oct. 2007)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews