Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read for those who like being scared.
This book is a brilliant collection of short stories all of which are extremely spine-chilling. Each story has a certain air of mystery surrounding it as well as a sensation of nightmare. The first story which is called'The hound of death' is about a woman who sees strange apparitions after the destrution of the convent in belgium where she was a nun. The story starts of...
Published on 18 Aug 2001

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
My Mother lent me this book and said it was very frightening. I do scare very easily but was not frightened by this book. Georgie annoyed me a bit as she did not behave as I would have done so I could not relate to her. I would not have stayed there after the doll incident.
I was very disappointed by the ending and thought it was very far-fetched. I would have...
Published 9 months ago by torchest


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read for those who like being scared., 18 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This book is a brilliant collection of short stories all of which are extremely spine-chilling. Each story has a certain air of mystery surrounding it as well as a sensation of nightmare. The first story which is called'The hound of death' is about a woman who sees strange apparitions after the destrution of the convent in belgium where she was a nun. The story starts of seeming quite harmless but as it goes on it gets, more and more obvious that there is more to certain characters than meets the eye. The first story is just a taster for the other, even more mysterious tales which follow. This book is definitely not for those who suffer from nightmares or are scared easily. But you would have to have read it to know whether you are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spooky read!!!!!, 5 Sep 2011
absolutely loved this, agatha at her best! just the right read on a stormy night with a mug of coco by your side! just getting to my bed was the issue as i scared myself so much! recommend this again and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good collection!, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A series of short stories, some more convincing than others, by the Queen of Crime. A great bedside book that cna be dipped into at will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ril,, 3 Jun 2014
This review is from: Unhallowed Ground (Hardcover)
Ril, ia t
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Guilt and fear..., 23 Feb 2013
By 
FictionFan (Kirkintilloch, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Unhallowed Ground (Paperback)
This review is of Gillian White's Unhallowed Ground. For reasons known only to themselves, Amazon have combined the reviews for Gillian White's Unhallowed Ground and Agatha Christie's The Hound of Death. The stupidity of this has been pointed out to them, but clearly they don't care.

Georgie needs to get away from London to escape the publicity around the killing of a child while she was the social worker responsible for little Angie's case. So when she unexpectedly inherits a cottage in a tiny hamlet on Dartmoor it seems an ideal place to escape to for a few months - until she meets the strange and mostly unfriendly neighbours, that is.

White handles prose with originality and control, and in Georgie she creates a completely believable character, flawed, yes, but with an underlying strength of character that is crumbling under the guilt of the child's death. For the first half of the book, White cuts between the present and the past, letting us see the events that have brought Georgie to this place and this state of mind. Once Georgie gets to Dartmoor, the tension starts to ratchet up, while the reader is left to wonder whether the scary events are really happening or are all part of Georgie's guilt-ridden mind. As winter comes and the snow starts to fall, Georgie is trapped in the cottage and alone...

For the most part, I thought this was a first-rate slow-burn psychological thriller that kept me hooked and on edge. Unfortunately I thought the ending let the book down - without any spoilers, I felt the climax didn't quite live up to the sense of anticipation and tension that the author had so carefully built throughout. However, on the basis of this book, I am certainly looking forward to reading more of White's work. Recommended.

NB This review is of a proof copy provided by the publisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Unhallowed Ground" by Gillian White, 16 Feb 2004
This review is from: Unhallowed Ground (Paperback)
*
Another fantastic read from Gillian White. Her ability to bring characters alive is amazing, they seem to stay with you long after the book is put aside and become a part of your everyday thoughts during and after the read.
I am usually a slow reader but I took this book everywhere with me, even in the bath, and completed it within 2 days....I just couldn't put it down!
I considered many different theories as I read, changing my mind more than once as to what the final plot may be - Only to finally find that none of my theories met with the clever finality Gillian White had created - I remember mumbling "oh my God" out loud as I read through the final chapters.
Such detail combined with so much mystery is surely a skill? These skills mixed with an intelligent yet easily dissolved language can only come to produce a winning thriller.
This was my second read, "Refuge" being my first and I now have 2 more on order......Gillian White creates a thirst within you that only more of her work can quench!
OUTSTANDING!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars and this is as usual a good one, that most people will enjoy, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An anthology from Agatha Christie is always a treat,and this is as usual a good one,that most people will enjoy...........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Hound of Death by Agatha Christie, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Agatha Christie novels are a must - the story lines twist and turn as any good murder mystery should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars creepy book, 15 Feb 2008
This review is from: Unhallowed Ground (Paperback)
Georgie inherits a house in the middle of nowhere, needing an escape hole she eagerly goes to live in it, and gets to know her new neighbours good story, the flashbacks are well done, but slightly annoying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutety brilliant, 20 April 2003
This review is from: Unhallowed Ground (Paperback)
i have just finished reading Unhallowed Ground by Gillian White and it was absolutely brilliant.
Gillian White writes so well that you actually feel as though you are "in the book"with the characters.
although a bit slow to start with-it actually helps to keep the tension of the story going.
I never felt terrified whilst reading it,but it had a strange menacing feel to it.
The characters in the little hamlet where most of the story takes place are very real. I live in the country and can identify some of the characters in some hamlets near by.
I have Night Visitor to read next-hope its as good as Unhallowed Ground.An excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hound of Death (Agatha Christie Collection)
The Hound of Death (Agatha Christie Collection) by Agatha Christie (Paperback - 6 May 2008)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews