Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars31
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2005
I read this years ago, and recently found it again. It is a really dark book with typical Christy twists and turns in every plot. Even if you dont like the Poirot and Marple novels this collection of short stories will become a staple on your regular reads list. A real classic.
0Comment37 of 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
While the Light Lasts is an excellent collection of some of Agatha Christie's finest short stories, all of which were previously published between 1923 and 1932, during one of Christie's most prolific and commercially successful periods. Each of these stories is worth reading on literary merit alone, but some are more interesting than others.

Manx Gold, in particular, stands out as one of Christie's more interesting pieces, written on commission for the Isle of Man. The story contains coded references to the locations of four snuffboxes that were actually hidden on the island, each of which contained a voucher for £100 - quite a lot of money at the time, and hardly to be sneezed at today.

Crossovers like these are rare for even the most inventive of writers, but it's unusual for Christie to have taken on such an ambitious undertaking. But while Manx Gold might be interesting because of its real-life crossover, the rest of the stories should not be overlooked - Christie is a fantastic writer, and this collection is a subtle reminder of why they call her the Queen of Crime. Excellent work, from the pen of a legendary great.
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2001
A brilliant collection of short stories from the master of mystery and suspense. I couldn't put this down until I had read the whole lot. A wonderful treat for any Agatha Christie fan and a nice introduction to the author for a new comer.
0Comment35 of 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Being a big fan of Agatha Christie (even my cats are called Tommy & Tuppence!), I expected to enjoy this collection. However, I'm afraid I found it a little disappointing. While some of the stories were near to her usual standard, it seemed to me that some of the others had only been included as padding.

The stories contained in this collection are:-

The House of Dreams - a mild horror story
The Actress - a story about blackmail and revenge
The Edge - a story about twisted love and guilt
Christmas Adventure - a Poirot story about a stolen gem
The Lonely God - a romance
Manx Gold - a treasure hunt round the Isle of Man
Within a Wall - destructive love
The Mystery of the Baghdad Chest - another Poirot, this time a murder mystery
While the Light Lasts - tragic love with an African setting

The collection as a whole is of interest in showing Christie's development and her forays into romance and horror writing, but none of the stories could be classed as great and some, particularly Manx Gold, are quite poor. I would be sorry if any newcomers to Christie's work were to judge her on the basis of this collection. Much better to read one of the well-known novels instead - I would recommend Death on the Nile for Poirot, The Moving Finger for Miss Marple or get to know the real Tommy & Tuppence in The Secret Adversary.
22 comments19 of 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
An excellent read. The thing I like most about Agatha Christie is how easy it is to get right into her stories, they are entertaining from the first page to the last. This one is a book of short stories as they appeared originally in the magazines they were written for with interesting notes giving an insight of Agatha Christie's life or telling how the short story was developed later into a novella or novel. There are also notes about recurring themes such as romantic triangle and how they affect different characters so, all in all an interesting book
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 November 2011
Christie is one of my favourite authors and I make no bones about the fact I love my Poirot and Marple. This is a collection of short stories, they are quite dark and I think they reflect Agathas deeper less known side. Perhaps even the side that would have written todays horror if she had lived in this era. I liked them and enjoyed the read.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
what a wonderfull mind she must have had shame there will be no more of her books,she was so wonderfull in the way they were written
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2007
if you want to hear the creepy side of saint agatha ,this recording is for you , short stories that are perfect for dark nights not a horror but just creepy and some times unnerving , and is read vey well with feeling
0Comment8 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2015
this is a christmas gift for someone who loves all things agatha christie
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2015
Looking forward to another good read from Christie
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse