Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent,an enchanting read
Cathy Kelly reminds me of Maeve Binchy. But she does not just copy the style of Binchy , she builds on it.
Both authors have a great talent for capturing the spirit of todays modern woman in Irerland.
Three woman, all with diffrent pritoies , outlook on life and all living in the 'tranqiul' country area , outside of Dublin.
It follows the tale of these...
Published on 24 May 2005

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Formulaic chick lit
There was nothing exciting about this book. Tediously formulaic, we spend the first 200 pages being introduced to Cleo, Mel and Daisy, each with their individual problems. They eventually meet at Cloud's Hill Spa, a luxurious retreat that has opened in their village. The proprietor, Leah, an impossibly perfect woman, is the catalyst who guides them to solve all their...
Published on 11 May 2007 by DubaiReader


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Formulaic chick lit, 11 May 2007
By 
DubaiReader "MaryAnne" (Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Always and Forever (Paperback)
There was nothing exciting about this book. Tediously formulaic, we spend the first 200 pages being introduced to Cleo, Mel and Daisy, each with their individual problems. They eventually meet at Cloud's Hill Spa, a luxurious retreat that has opened in their village. The proprietor, Leah, an impossibly perfect woman, is the catalyst who guides them to solve all their problems and move on in their lives.

A predictable, easy read, but not earth shattering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent,an enchanting read, 24 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Always and Forever (Hardcover)
Cathy Kelly reminds me of Maeve Binchy. But she does not just copy the style of Binchy , she builds on it.
Both authors have a great talent for capturing the spirit of todays modern woman in Irerland.
Three woman, all with diffrent pritoies , outlook on life and all living in the 'tranqiul' country area , outside of Dublin.
It follows the tale of these women, in a warm and wleocming story, with the superb balance of comedy and drama. There is the real bittersweet taste of Binchy in the novel, but with charctersation which I think is far better, and a lot of detail.
You finish this book thinking you know these women, feeling for them, and even wishing them well.
Certainly an excellent summers read, and highly recomended , paticualry now if you can get it in hardback, with a lovely lace bookmark it looks pride of palce on a bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gentle inoffensive read with likeable characters, 2 May 2008
By 
Janie U (Kings Cliffe, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Always and Forever (Paperback)
The characters in the story are very well drawn and I could see bits of me in all of them which meant I was sympathetic to their thoughts and problems - quite a clever trick by the author as I could imagine that everyone could find something in common with them all.
The plot is predictable and it felt as though I had read it before with very little original thought. Maybe it was the Irish setting as the number of Irish Chick Lit books around just seems to get more and more.
Guilt was handled as a very extensive theme throughout the book and is described well in various ways from all of the characters at some point or another. The problem with this is that this, again, is a very well worn theme from other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stress-free chick lit, 2 July 2006
By 
O. Doyle "celticshedevil" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Always and Forever (Paperback)
I've read and enjoyed several other Cathy Kelly books and I always keep a good chick-lit book on hand for when I need something light and fluffy. Always & Forever fitted the bill perfectly.

The story follows the lives of three women all linked in some way to the town of Carrickwell. Mel is a career woman who's finding it increasingly challenging to juggle work and home-life and the guilt that comes with being a working mother. Daisy & Alex have been together since they were in college and now Daisy's longing for a baby has reached new heights. Just as she feels the timing is right Alex drops a bombshell. Cleo is newly-graduated from a hotel management course and is determined to put her knowledge to use in getting her family's hotel business back on its feet but classed as the baby of the family nobody seems to take her comments into account. Then her plans and dreams are shattered.

This is one of those light and fluffy books that you find yourself engrossed in. It's perfect for reading while snuggled up in bed with a glass of wine or while lying by the pool on holiday. It's not taxing on the brain but just a nice, sweet story that sucks you in so you feel you know the characters personally. It's thoroughly enjoyable and gets a big thumbs up from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent book by this author, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this book, three main characters and there stories, how there lives turned around, would recommend to family and friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Always and Forever, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was so great I could hardly put it down. Lots of people should read it. It was good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Always and Forever (Paperback)
same as before, bought for a friend, and she is very very pleased with her books, and will buy more later
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Always and forever, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read always clever always love books read them time again. Will read more off her books.very good booa as always
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK ish but not great, 15 Mar 2012
This review is from: Always and Forever (Paperback)
I quite enjoyed the book but the inconsistencies near the end bugged me, Daisy flees the shop to go to her mothers house in the clothes she stands up in. On page 291 when she arrives at her mother's who is away I might add, there is no TV at all. quote there is no television in the house, only wall to wall opera cd's. Page 321 in the mornings she sat in front of the TV in her pyjamas and watched reruns of television shows. Where did it come from? Come to page 328, Leah comes and takes her away and packs a holdall with all her clothes, bare in mind she arrived at her mother's with nothing. OK I am being pedantic but spelling is also another issue with me, proof reading or spell checking or it might be an Irish spelling but on page 315 hotel is spelt hotell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Synopsis, 25 Mar 2009
Once upon a time, in the beautiful town of Carrickwell, lived three women. Three women who thought they had life pretty much mapped out. Ambitious Mel had a high-flying career, caring Daisy wanted a child with the boyfriend who was everything to her, and hot-headed Cleo was ready to step into the family business once she'd finished her hotel management degree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa82eb88)

This product

Always and Forever
Always and Forever by Cathy Kelly (Hardcover - 28 Feb 2005)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews