Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An uplifting read, and an indespensible Health directory.
A great Herbal!

This book ~ known to me as the 'New Holistic Herbal'~ is an excellent book. Writen by an author who obviously knows his subject in great depth, and is also able to convey the wisdom which goes beyond his own thorough knowledge to the wisdom contained by the herbs themselves; in a clear and engaging manner & with great integrity.

It...
Published on 2 Mar. 2006

versus
13 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice Book
Good introductory book for beginners but it has some drawbacks. On page 73 there is a grave mistake where the author describes not to eat red meat especially pork. I would expect anyone to know that pork is NOT red meat, which undermined everything else in my own opinion.
Apart from that it is a detailed book that gives interesting overviews about herbalism and is...
Published on 8 Mar. 2008 by Dingo666


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An uplifting read, and an indespensible Health directory., 2 Mar. 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holistic Herbal: A Safe and Practical Guide to Making and Using Herbal Remedies (Paperback)
A great Herbal!

This book ~ known to me as the 'New Holistic Herbal'~ is an excellent book. Writen by an author who obviously knows his subject in great depth, and is also able to convey the wisdom which goes beyond his own thorough knowledge to the wisdom contained by the herbs themselves; in a clear and engaging manner & with great integrity.

It covers all aspects of Herbal medicine needed to begin quickly to gain both your own instinctive knowledge of the subject, as well as the factual necessities to understand how to treat yourselves and others. The one and only shortcoming I found, was the relatively short encyclopedia of herbs at the end section of the book, which left me wanting for more. It is an extremely good introduction to Herbal medicine and natural healing / healing in harmony with our bodies/ nature (holistic healing/medicine in other words!). It also touches upon other forms of plant therapy such as use of essential oils, a good introduction to the use of flower remedies, & one or two examples of Eastern Herbal uses.

What more could you ask for? A book with depth, integrity & easy to understand by the lay person.. A great book & obviously a work of love, which will foster any latent passion for herbal medicine and natural forms of healing (and infact for this reason DID leave me wanting for more!). An uplifting read, and an indespensible Health directory, which will give you knowledge not only of the herbs needed to treat almost any ailment, but also an understanding, in great depth, of the workings of the human body and its systems, as well as touching, not insignificantly, on our place within 'the system' as a whole.

Many thanks to David Hoffman for the indespensible knowledge his book has conveyed to me, as well as the 'unbelievably' succesful applications I have experienced through his guidance over a period of over 10 years during which I have refered to this book constantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and not intimidating, 2 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holistic Herbal: A Safe and Practical Guide to Making and Using Herbal Remedies (Paperback)
Book is attractive and informative and I found myself fascinated by the different uses of the herbs.The writing is open and easy to read; I ended up reading a lot more than intended as it flowed so easiy.The book was recommended to me by a homeopath but also stands on its own. Great choice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful herbal resource, 4 Jun. 2014
By 
Ms John - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holistic Herbal: A Safe and Practical Guide to Making and Using Herbal Remedies (Paperback)
This book is a useful guide to areas of health concerns and possible remedies. The strongest part of this book looks at how to produce your own herbal remedies, tinctures etc, using the prescribed herbs. The only reason I give 4 stars is that this herbal is limited as to numbers of herbs described, therefore I would recommend using a more comprehensive herbal in tandem with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great herbal, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holistic Herbal: A Safe and Practical Guide to Making and Using Herbal Remedies (Paperback)
One of the most useful herbals I've ever seen, containing notes on cultivation and harvesting, as well as detailed explanations of the chemical composition of each herb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holistic Herbal: A Safe and Practical Guide to Making and Using Herbal Remedies (Paperback)
A very useful book which I will use wisely. Arrived in good time and well packaged
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Core reading material for herbal course, 21 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holistic Herbal: A Safe and Practical Guide to Making and Using Herbal Remedies (Paperback)
Present for sister -she is pleased with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good information on herbs and their use, 30 Nov. 2010
By 
rusu tincuta (Dublin Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Holistic Herbal: A Safe and Practical Guide to Making and Using Herbal Remedies (Paperback)
Good book,has been written with love & respect for plants.
Highly recommended.
Didn't give 5 stars just because is missing some herbs,anyhow over all,a good purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Sept. 2014
By 
Kathryn (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holistic Herbal: A Safe and Practical Guide to Making and Using Herbal Remedies (Paperback)
Great book for beginning herbalists
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holistic Herbal: A Safe and Practical Guide to Making and Using Herbal Remedies (Paperback)
Just an incredible book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars healing help, 1 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good reference book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Holistic Herbal: A Safe and Practical Guide to Making and Using Herbal Remedies
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews