Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well recomended!
Was recommended this book by a friend. It's the most complete one I've seen! Very good for reference too. It's so easy to understand what can be mixed with what and how to use the oils and even extract the oils!
I'm a beginner at all this but this is a great alround book! The only down side I would say is that I use another book to make sure that...
Published on 14 Mar 2006 by Kooner

versus
22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I was a bit disappionted
Great to reference oils but says very little else. It mentions nothing about top, middle and base notes which you would need to know when using and blending oils for aromatherapy or for use in massage, perfumes, creams etc. Its more of a reference book to where the oils come from, their latin name etc (although you'd have to look elsewhere to see which note the oil falls...
Published on 8 Jan 2011 by Yogini


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well recomended!, 14 Mar 2006
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Essential Oils: The complete guide to the use of aromatic oils in aromatherapy, herbalism, health and well-being (Paperback)
Was recommended this book by a friend. It's the most complete one I've seen! Very good for reference too. It's so easy to understand what can be mixed with what and how to use the oils and even extract the oils!
I'm a beginner at all this but this is a great alround book! The only down side I would say is that I use another book to make sure that the plant I want is correct for there is no colour in the pictures.
Hope this helps. Take care all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most informative Aromatherapy book available, 4 April 2001
This book is wonderful, very user friendly detailing every type of essential oil you'd like to mention, giving all the scientific properties as well as everyday usage. It gives the history of Aromatherapy at the beginning amoungst plenty of other interesting information. It also has glossaries at the back which are so helpful. Fantastic! This is my bible and I carry it around everywhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, all-round book - good for beginners, 10 Oct 2001
By A Customer
Have just started aromatherapy and was given this book as a Christmas gift last year and already it has many thumbed pages. Very good background information, concise, readable descriptions, not to mention terrific and informative illustrations. A must for beginners and experienced therapists alike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I was a bit disappionted, 8 Jan 2011
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Essential Oils: The complete guide to the use of aromatic oils in aromatherapy, herbalism, health and well-being (Paperback)
Great to reference oils but says very little else. It mentions nothing about top, middle and base notes which you would need to know when using and blending oils for aromatherapy or for use in massage, perfumes, creams etc. Its more of a reference book to where the oils come from, their latin name etc (although you'd have to look elsewhere to see which note the oil falls under)than a practical guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 74 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All-round useful workbook, 31 Mar 2003
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Essential Oils: The complete guide to the use of aromatic oils in aromatherapy, herbalism, health and well-being (Paperback)
I'm attending an evening class in aromatherapy and this book was recommended by the teacher. It has a nicely designed cover, and the typeface inside is clear and easily readable. It's designed as a working tome, and indeed I keep refering to it. The main body of the book is an alphabetical listing of oils, sometimes accompanied by a black and white line drawing of the plant in question. Each description is in a set pattern for quick reference and as well as telling you what it looks like and where it grows there is a lot of other info about how it is extracted what it's actions are, how to use it, any safety concerns etc. There's an interesting introduction for those of us new to using oils, a therapeutic index, a glossary and other good reference material. Possibly the only book you'll need for using aromatherapy in the home, unless you want to develop a much deeper understanding or skill, e.g. train as an aromatherapist. A really nice book to hold and flick through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Deceptively authoritative, 8 Aug 2012
By 
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Essential Oils: The complete guide to the use of aromatic oils in aromatherapy, herbalism, health and well-being (Paperback)
Although this book appears to be comprehensive and authoritative, there are some major factual errors. In numerous places Lawless has clearly looked up the chemical properties for the whole plant and listed those as the properties for the essential oil, despite the fact that the properties may be very different. EOs are very concentrated mixtures of just a few of the chemicals contained in the whole plant and in some cases the therepeutically active chemicals are not contained in the EO at all. In other cases the extraction process for essential oils causes chemical changes such that the EO contains completely different chemicals to the original plant material.

Generally the book is adequate and I have seen little that would actually cause problems, however the basic lack of understanding gives me cause for concern and as a result I would not recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have, 18 Sep 2001
By A Customer
If you are studying or practicing aromatherapy or have an interest in the subject then this book is a must for your book shelf. All the most used oils are listed alphabetically and everything you need to know including contraindications. I will be using this a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars encyclopedia of essential oils, 3 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Essential Oils: The complete guide to the use of aromatic oils in aromatherapy, herbalism, health and well-being (Paperback)
it would be a good study book but does not give reference to ailments/illness and the use of essential oils for this. there is a lot of emphasis on the history and derivitives of the oils and little/no reference to the general use of oils for everyday problems such as colds/flu.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential, 6 May 2003
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Essential Oils: The complete guide to the use of aromatic oils in aromatherapy, herbalism, health and well-being (Paperback)
Having read this book i would definately rate it as an essentail for any one who has a serious interest in aromatherapy or wishes to study it.Each oil has a whole page dedicated to it, with all the information you could need about it on there, in clearly marked groups, which contain everything from cautions to exraction methods. A definate must have!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vital for Beginners and Experienced Practitioners, 28 Aug 2003
This review is from: Encyclopedia of Essential Oils: The complete guide to the use of aromatic oils in aromatherapy, herbalism, health and well-being (Paperback)
The book covers everything from the extraction of oils to exploring the properties of the most commonly used oils in aromatherapy. Concisely written, the book provides a comprehensive resource that you will find yourself turning to for guidance again and again. Highly recommended to new comers to the art of aromatherapy as it covers a wide range of material that is useful for those just starting out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews