Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars29
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 December 2001
This book portrays everything that is good about rugby, the teamwork, camaraderie and the high jinks. Jason brings all the stories to life with various tales of the ups and downs that have happened in the top levels of the Rugby world which he has been such a pert of over the last decade or so.
He comes across as a very likeable man whose main priority is the game, whether at club or international level. With a nickname of FunBus it is not surprising to find out he is just as happy in the middle of practical jokes as he is the melee of the front row. Few books cover the art of the front row forward, but Jason, who has the ability to play at loose and tighthead, brings some insights to the game, that I, after playing rugby of 20 years had no idea about.
All in all this book will sweep you along in a ride nearly as exciting as an international game. Be careful where you read it, as laughing out load on public transport gets you many strange looks. This has confirmed my view that I would love to spend an evening chatting with Jason over a beer or 10!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2003
Full of drunken stories? of course but as well as the stories which anyone involved with rugby will be aware of there are the ups and downs of englands greatest prop forward.
Standing out are the move from amatuer to professional the lions tours and Jasons battles against injury.
A light hearted and enjoyable read about english rugby over the last 10 years
A must for any rugby fans
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2001
This is the best rugby book around - a book which tells the proper tale of rugby union's move from amateurism to professionalism, including the highs and lows. It made be laugh, made me happy and made me sad. Above all, it reminded me that there are some great sports stars out there - Jason Leonard is at the top of the pile
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2002
I can't recommoned this book too highly. It's such an great insight into the world of rugby - telling you about coping with dreadful injury, life in the scrums and how the various coaches and captains that Jason has played under have differed. I would strongly recommend that you read this book - really great.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2015
Jason Leonard was one of the first English World Cup winners to bring out an autobiography - in fact, it was first released prior to winning the World Cup, then updated to take in the World Cup. It shows us a player's eye view of the birth of professional rugby in England. Leonard started his career in the amateur era and went through the ructions when the sport went professional - a process that was not management very well by the RFU, in Leonard's opinion. Some of the writing on England games become a little samey, particularly the 1999-2002 period. There are other books out there on the same period - Clive Woodward's and Lawrence Dallaglio's are better - but this is still an interesting view from the inside.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
I believe the best autobiographies are the ones where you can imagine the subject reading it to you and this book feels very much like it's straight from the mouth of England's most capped player. So with Jason Leonard this was, quite rightly, never going to be 'War and Peace'. Everything that's happened to Jason Leonard (on and off the pitch) has been met with that same commitment, heart and work ethic that led Sir Ian McGeechan to say "I will forever say that Jason Leonard was one of the best Lions I have ever come across because of what he did in 1997 to make sure the two props were ready to go in and do a job.". This is a top read from a top bloke!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
if you are of a certain age and can remember rugby before professionalism then you will be taken back to a time when money in rugby was a thing that all dreamed of but most rarely got, to play your favoured sport as a living was a thing only footballers done.
Jason Leonards career spans the amatuer/professional divide and this book is a good insight into what it took to reach the top of of the rugby tree, all the pain,laughs, highs and lows of one of england rugby hero,s. well worth a read.top book top man.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
Met Jason Leonard once when Neath played Harlequins back in the mid 90's and he was an absolute gent and down to earth. What you see in the book is that he never changed. Even though I am a welshman I agree with some of his comments following observations of a minority of welsh fans and it made me ashamed!

The book is an honest assessment of his own career and those who he played with and against.

I would recommend this read to anyone
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
I am a fan of biographies that go just that bit further than a dry run through a career. No doubt that Jason would be a great laugh on a night out, but this book doesn't go far enough in describing what else was going on in rugby during his career as professionalism took over the amateur game, which if added to this biography would have made it a 4/5 star book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2013
Great read for any die hard England fan. Jason gives a great insight in to the world of rugby union and how it changed from amatuer to professional... cant not like this guy... full of great stories ... must read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.