Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This version is good, but not perfect
I must make it clear from the start that I will not review the story of The Hobbit, but just this (hardcover) annotated edition in particular:
ISBN-10: 0007137273
ISBN-13: 978-0007137275
Publisher: HarperCollins; Revised edition edition (7 April 2003)

It's important to note that Amazon unfortunately merges all the reviews from one story,...
Published 20 months ago by Leandro Medeiros

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Audio Play: ok, but not the best treatment of The Hobbit
AMAZON TAKE NOTE: Because this version is so different from the book I think Amazon are wrong to lump all the reviews together and treat them as a single product. This will confuse buyers and create inaccurate ratings.

---

This version of The Hobbit is an audio play first broadcast by the BBC in 1968 (it is NOT an audiobook - ie someone reading the...
Published on 25 Oct. 2012 by Sinbad


‹ Previous | 1191 192 193240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent story, great edition, 19 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story as we all know/should know is brilliant so I wont go into that here. The edition is also very good, it's just the right size - not annoyingly oversized. Everything feels high quality from the maps to the paper, to the lovely original cover illustration. Difficult to fault it in any way really except that it's quite difficult to read with the dust jacket on as it slides around quite a lot. But this really is such a tiny quibble - don't let it put you off buying one of the best books of the century in one of it's best editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit (Kindle Edition)
a great book..my first ever book read as a child.. good to read it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... it was described by the seller and is of perfect quality., 18 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The item is as it was described by the seller and is of perfect quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit (Kindle Edition)
Don't watch the film - and waste your life - read the book. It's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit (Kindle Edition)
No vampires and no werewolves and no sultry teen angst. Thank goodness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit (Paperback)
Tremendous read action packed once you pick it up you cant put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit (Paperback)
the best story ever i loved it and the book was nice and brand new too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Jan. 2015
By 
A. Hodson (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit (Kindle Edition)
Words are not enough for this precursor to the epic volumes to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit (Paperback)
Amazing story with much quicker pace of storytelling compared to LOTR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, 21 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hobbit (Mass Market Paperback)
I first read this book in Year 5 when I was 10 but after reading all the Harry Potter books my friend told me to read this and The Lord of the Rings 6 years later. Now I know why... It's such a brilliant book and is much more original and magical than Harry Potter. Don't get me wrong, the Harry Potter series is also brilliant and I love every book, but the Hobbit is just as good with a really sad ending in which I bawled my guts out at.
You have to read it whoever you are!! Now I'm set out to read Lord of the Rings! Wish me luck cos its a bloody great read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1191 192 193240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hobbit - Audio Cassette
The Hobbit - Audio Cassette by J. R. R. Tolkien (Audio Cassette - 20 May 2002)
Used & New from: £3.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews