Customer Reviews


184 Reviews
5 star:
 (133)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of her best
This is definitely amongst the best Agatha Christie novels I've read, and it feels even better in this lovely 'new' facsimile edition. The novel caused a stir (relatively speaking) at the time because it's written in the first person... and particularly for another reason! Read it to find out. The first person narrative feels odd at first, but the narrator is very...
Published on 3 Mar. 2007 by Androo

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a good book-with a few flaws
Book Review for The Murder of Roger Ackroyd
As a first-time Agatha Christy reader, I found this book quite entertaining. The writing was not particularly advanced, but it was not choppy, and was fairly well written. The characters were well defined, and much of the plot revolves around the many characters. One negative point about this book is that there is very...
Published on 8 Jan. 1999


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of her best, 3 Mar. 2007
By 
Androo (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is definitely amongst the best Agatha Christie novels I've read, and it feels even better in this lovely 'new' facsimile edition. The novel caused a stir (relatively speaking) at the time because it's written in the first person... and particularly for another reason! Read it to find out. The first person narrative feels odd at first, but the narrator is very believable. This is a well structured and complex plot. A semi-retired Poirot is looked at from a different angle, but he is just as effective and there are some nice set pieces - in particular the beautifully written 'mah jong' scene that's a joy to read. The denoument is satisfying. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Deception, 8 Nov. 2008
By 
A.K.Farrar "AKF" (Timisoara, Romania) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Murder of Roger Ackroyd (Poirot) (Mass Market Paperback)
Agatha Christie's job, as a writer of Detective Novels, was, paradoxically, to hide the criminal - much like a spiv with the card game, Hide the Lady. Even though the punter aims to find the card - and makes wild guesses (based, of course, on superior talents) the side-show spiv will win every time - maybe it's just a trick, a slight of hand, but we come back again and again in the vain hope of putting one over on the expert.

Not much hope, I'm afraid!

`The Murder of Roger Ackroyd' has to be Ms Christie's ultimate deception - it certainly had me fooled right `til the end. No matter where I looked, the Lady was hidden.

Up pop all the usual suspects - and with a Christie you know if someone is accused, it isn't them. One by one she knocks out everyone - and I do mean everyone! Surely she hasn't had a total stranger do the murder?

No, the wrist works it's magic: Poirot, shows you the superiority of his little gray cells and you loose again.

And I can't tell you the secret - I won't spoil the thrill.

What I will say is it is beautifully done.

Agatha Christie manages here to exploit the genre `Detective Novel' in a way which relies on the reader's knowledge of all the usual tricks, of lulling them into a false sense of security and then flipping them onto their backs. It is a book to be read rather than a story to be told - and despite the amazing craftsmanship of Granada television's version with David SuchetPoirot - Agatha Christie's Poirot - The Murder Of Roger Ackroyd [1989], it fails precisely because this is not only a story but an exploration of the relationship between reader and writer.

Poirot has gone into retirement - Hastings is away in Argentina, Scotland Yard is not involved. A local rich man is the victim of murder (the only one, incidentally in the story - the TV version needed to double the number, bring Inspector Japp in where he wasn't wanted and simplify the plot by removing a couple of key characters). There is blackmail and love, lost wedding rings and phone calls in the night.

Poirot, after throwing marrows around, one of which lands in his neighbour's garden and smashes open at the feet of the doctor, is brought in on the sidelines - he hardly features in fact. There is a chair out of place, a man arrested in Liverpool, and the delicate feelings of the local constabulary all to be taken into consideration.

And a lot of consideration is being done by a local tribe of Miss Marples. Nosey old women pop up in profusion - and references to the greatest detective of all times can't be avoided: The story is retold by the Doctor whose shoes were splattered - a Watson to Poirot's Holmes.

As you would expect, it is the twist and turns of the plot that matter rather than deep characterisation, but to suggest the book is shallow as a result would be to deny the profound insight Ms Christie shows into the psychology of her readership.

The term masterpiece has been justifiably applied to the book - and I fully concur.

Just make sure you read the book before you see the film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hercule Poirot gets embroiled in murder - again, 10 Dec. 2000
Agatha Christie really exercises her ability to write ingenious crime fiction in this story. Featuring the well-known and lovable Hercule Poirot, we follow his attempts to retire peacefully in a country village setting, and see them blown away when a murderer strikes. As usual, Christie deceives the reader in a most satisfactory way, which is perhaps the most I should say about it. Immensely enjoyable, and the reader should find him or herself reading it over and over again to spot the clues that were missed the first time around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Murder of Roger Ackroyd, 25 Oct. 2014
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think I first read this book about forty years ago but as I had forgotten most of it I decided to read it again. It is often regarded as one of Christie's best books. It is certainly well written and the plotting as ever with this author is masterly. The clues are there for anyone to solve the crime for themselves and I picked up most of them but failed to put the correct interpretation on them.

Roger Ackroyd is murdered in a locked room. Almost anyone could have done it and plenty seem to have a motive for doing so. Hercule Poirot is living in retirement but feels he wants to involve himself and his 'little grey cells' in the case. The story is narrated by Dr Shepherd, who is Poirot's next door neighbour.

I did enjoy reading this book though Miss Marple is probably my favourite Christie Sleuth. If you haven't read any of Christie's novels then this could be a good one to start with as it is my opinion a much better book that the first Hercule Poirot - The Mysterious Affair at Styles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Genius, 1 Sept. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Murder of Roger Ackroyd (Poirot) (Mass Market Paperback)
You have to read this book twice- first time as a mystery, second time knowing who the murderer was and spotting all the clues that make the answer seem so obvious... (once you know who it is, you wonder how you could have been so deceived!) A really engaging story with a delicious twist at the end! This book is worth more than 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of Agatha Christie and Hercule Poirot, 18 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
'The Murder of Roger Ackroyd' is the brightest jewel amongst Agatha Chrisite's crime novels. The plot of the murder is so intricate and complex, yet so logical, that only the brilliant grey cells of Hercule Poirot at their full 'methodical' capacity can allow the reader to comprehend its degree of ingenuity. The suspects are numerous; the entire staff employed at Ackroyd's mansion, his own son as well as his sister in law and her daughter. All possess the equal potential of being the murderer. With Dr.Sheppard substituting the role of Poirot's faithful companion Hastings, the road towards the truth is long but entirely bearable, as Agatha Christie demonstrates why she is the queen of crime, once and for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christie at her brilliant best, 23 Oct. 2014
By 
Aletheuon (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This book is often regarded as Agatha Christie's masterpiece. It was published in 1926 fairly early in her career, and was highly influential at the time because of its innovative twist ending and because it is narrated by one of the characters, Dr James Sheppard.
In the village of King's Abbott, Mrs Ferrars has died. She is a wealthy widow whom, according to rumour, murdered her husband. Roger Ackroyd, a widower engaged Mrs. Ferrars, says that she admitted that she did kill her husband and then committed suicide. A little later, he is found murdered. Hypochondriacal Mrs. Cecil Ackroyd is Roger's sister-in-law; she is in debt through extravagant spending. Her daughter Flora, Major Blunt, a big-game hunter, Ackroyd's personal secretary Geoffrey Raymond, are all possible suspects. So are Ralph Paton, Ackroyd's stepson, who is also deeply in debt, the nosy butler, Parker, and the parlourmaid, Ursula Bourne, who resigned from her job on the very afternoon of the murder. Dr Sheppard's spinster sister, Caroline, is a well-drawn character who seems to have been the precursor of Miss Marple. Ralph is engaged to Flora and will now inherit Ackroyd's fortune. At first, the evidence seems to point to him as the murderer. Poirot investigates and eventually makes an astonishing revelation which invites us to ask whether anyone at all can be trusted.
In this novel, two methods of investigation are contrasted - gossip and rationality - and the former is shown to be intuitive but flawed.
All Agatha Christie's usual strengths are displayed in this novel - ingenious and original plotting, shrewd insight into human nature and interesting characters. She is always at her best writing about her own class in the claustrophobic atmosphere of a village or large house, her plots far more convincing than when she attempts international espionage and politics. Although she is not a great writer, style-wise, this is an excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Book, 10 July 2014
This review is from: The Murder of Roger Ackroyd (Poirot) (Mass Market Paperback)
Having watched the Tv adaptations of Poirot starring the brilliant David Suchet I thought it was about time I picked up one of the original novels. I have never read anything by Agatha Christie before and if I am perfectly honest have never really fancied the Whodoneit type of novel. So when I came across The Murder of Roger Ackroyd in a second hand bookstore for the sum of 25p I snatched it up and settled down for a read.

Firstly, despite the age of the novel (written in 1926) the language used doesn't seem to have aged at all. This surprised me as many other Authors I have read from the era such as Nevil Shute the words sometimes seem slightly archaic. The reader immediately becomes enveloped in the world of small village gossip in the early part of the 20th century with the entire book being narrated by Dr James Sheppard. I assume that he is some sort of stand in for the more regular Captain Hastings.

The novel is written so that we, the reader, only know as much as Poirot is willing to divulge to Dr Sheppard, this accompanied by the Doctors own thoughts and feelings keep us guessing all the way. The clues are brilliantly laid out throughout the pages and at the end you cannot help but wonder how you did not come to the same conclusions as the great detective (in fact I may well revisit it one day just to see where I missed all the vital information). As always the entire novel leads up to a final meeting of all suspects and a very unexpected and dramatic conclusion.

A really well written book and I am glad I chose this as my introduction to Christie. I am sure that if I come across another Poirot mystery I will pick it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christie at her brilliant best., 29 Jun. 2014
By 
Aletheuon (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This book is often regarded as Agatha Christie's masterpiece. It was published in 1926 fairly early in her career, and was highly influential at the time because of its innovative twist ending and because it is narrated by one of the characters, Dr James Sheppard.
In the village of King's Abbott, Mrs Ferrars has died. She is a wealthy widow whom, according to rumour, murdered her husband. Roger Ackroyd, a widower engaged Mrs. Ferrars, says that she admitted that she did kill her husband and then committed suicide. A little later, he is found murdered. Hypochondriacal Mrs. Cecil Ackroyd is Roger's sister-in-law; she is in debt through extravagant spending. Her daughter Flora, Major Blunt, a big-game hunter, Ackroyd's personal secretary Geoffrey Raymond, are all possible suspects. So are Ralph Paton, Ackroyd's stepson, who is also deeply in debt, the nosy butler, Parker, and the parlourmaid, Ursula Bourne, who resigned from her job on the very afternoon of the murder. Dr Sheppard's spinster sister, Caroline, is a well-drawn character who seems to have been the precursor of Miss Marple. Ralph is engaged to Flora and will now inherit Ackroyd's fortune. At first, the evidence seems to point to him as the murderer. Poirot investigates and eventually makes an astonishing revelation which invites us to ask whether anyone at all can be trusted.
In this novel, two methods of investigation are contrasted - gossip and rationality - and the former is shown to be intuitive but flawed.
All Agatha Christie's usual strengths are displayed in this novel - ingenious and original plotting, shrewd insight into human nature and interesting characters. She is always at her best writing about her own class in the claustrophobic atmosphere of a village or large house, her plots far more convincing than when she attempts international espionage and politics. Although she is not a great writer, style-wise, this is an excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best Detective Novels Ever Written, 8 May 2010
By 
Havauka (Regensburg, Germany) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Murder of Roger Ackroyd (Poirot) (Mass Market Paperback)
In my opinion the detective novel "The Murder of Roger Ackroyd" by Agatha Christie is one of the best detective novels ever written. The first time, I read this book when I was 13 years old, and I was already fascinated by it. I have always refrained from reading it a second time for a long time, but now, 33 years later, I could not refrain from doing so.

And I must confess I did not regret it. To the contrary, when you already know the end of the story you read it from a different point of view. You are not concentrated on the "who done it" question and, hence, you may come to following interesting conclusions:

(1) The story fits perfectly. You do not discover errors, even after the second reading. The reader is not misguided by mysterious events, which lead him into wrong paths and which are lost at the end of the story.

(2) The story is thoroughly designed. There are many side events which play a significant role in the whole plot, which contribute to the whole confusion during the investigation of the crime and which unravel themselves one by one with the help of Poirot's perfect analytic mind.

(3) The I narrator tells the story with much wit and humour which is due to the position in which he finds himself during the developement of the whole story.

(4) There are many hints which might lead you, the reader, directly to the murderer if you only concentrated on your subconcious common sense and read the text carefully.

With my knowledge of at least 20 Agatha Christie novels I must say that she has never written a second book like this. But of course, you only write a masterpiece once in your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd (Poirot)
The Murder of Roger Ackroyd (Poirot) by Agatha Christie (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Dec. 2007)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews