Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re: The Good Gut Guide by Stephanie Zinser. A great read.
Speaking as an Osteopath who's read this book I was extremely impressed by what seems to be a clear, precise, sensitively written and highly informative book, which for once is easy for the layman as well as the professional to read. Full of information on the causes and symptoms of various bowel disorders it also provides a comprehensive range of self-help suggestions...
Published on 13 Mar 2003 by P. Slack

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know about your gut
Following diagnosis of diverticulitis I bought this book to help me understand it. It is an easy to read introduction to gut problems - but for me it raised more problems than it solved - I guess because I did not read the description very carefully. It is more technical and majors on the really serious disorders of the gut. Its layout is easy to follow and for folks...
Published on 21 Jun 2011 by Ofsted


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re: The Good Gut Guide by Stephanie Zinser. A great read., 13 Mar 2003
By 
P. Slack "Flossytops" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Good Gut Guide: Help for IBS, Ulcerative Colitis, Crohn's Disease, Diverticulitis, Food Allergies and Other Gut Problems (Paperback)
Speaking as an Osteopath who's read this book I was extremely impressed by what seems to be a clear, precise, sensitively written and highly informative book, which for once is easy for the layman as well as the professional to read. Full of information on the causes and symptoms of various bowel disorders it also provides a comprehensive range of self-help suggestions that may be of use to the sufferer, as well as indications on when a person should consult a medical professional for further help and/or diagnosis. The book has been broken into clear sections so as to enable the reader to either use the book as a quick reference guide or as a book that can be read from start to finish. Not only does it cover a plethora of illnesses but it also discusses the person suffering behind the illness - something that can all too easily be forgotten. I have found it an invaluable support for those who are either sufferers or know a sufferer of bowel disorders, as well as being an informative guide for those who might simply wish to learn more about this field. At the end of the book is an invaluable list of associations, websites and places where people can glean further information and support if they wish further help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Good Gut Guide, 9 Mar 2003
This review is from: The Good Gut Guide: Help for IBS, Ulcerative Colitis, Crohn's Disease, Diverticulitis, Food Allergies and Other Gut Problems (Paperback)
Excellent user-friendly handbook which is of general interest as well as specific. Very concise and informative, it covers every topic relating to health of the gut, easy to follow and compulsive reading for the many who are fascinated with the way their guts work! For those who have specific gut diseases, this is an invaluable self-help book. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be good to your gut and get this, 24 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Good Gut Guide: Help for IBS, Ulcerative Colitis, Crohn's Disease, Diverticulitis, Food Allergies and Other Gut Problems (Paperback)
It is such a relief to find this book, and an additional bonus to see the wealth of invaluable information contained in it. The Good Gut Guide successfully and comprehensibly will reassure any reader who has tried to get to grips with any digestive-related disorder and not known where the foggiest to start or what to do. Its sensible and balanced advice is extremely educational and long overdue - a must for anyone with an intestine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book, 21 Mar 2003
By 
Mrs. Diana Dawson "Career Counsellor and Coach" (Edinburgh, GB United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Good Gut Guide: Help for IBS, Ulcerative Colitis, Crohn's Disease, Diverticulitis, Food Allergies and Other Gut Problems (Paperback)
This is such an excellent publication - very easy to read and informative. It explains clearly and simply symptoms and solutions for managing gut problems. Invaluable for learning more what causes these problems such as Crohns Disease, IBS and food allergies and how to go about sorting them out. Ms Zinser has a lovely down to earth style of writing about potentially embarrassing diseases and includes how to get the best from your doctor and how to go about finding further information with good pointers to web pages and organisations. I would recommend this book to anyone with gut problems or as an information source as to how to look after yourself to try to avoid them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It has got the Guts and the Goods..., 5 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Good Gut Guide: Help for IBS, Ulcerative Colitis, Crohn's Disease, Diverticulitis, Food Allergies and Other Gut Problems (Paperback)
The Good Gut Guide is loaded with information on all stomach-related disorders, including those people often find difficult to talk about. Zinser combines hard technical medical facts with conversational straight talk to give us the understanding and ammunition we need to look after our tummies ourselves or face our doctors. A must-have resource for every book shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very informative and helpful and supportive., 11 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: The Good Gut Guide: Help for IBS, Ulcerative Colitis, Crohn's Disease, Diverticulitis, Food Allergies and Other Gut Problems (Paperback)
After years of suffering this book felt like the book I should have read years ago. It was clear, sympathetic and well written and I lost my sense of isolation. I have kept it for a life guide as it has an excellent reference section and tonnes of ideas on how to move forwards. It explains all the medical stuff your GP often does and the diagrams helped make sense of pain and symptoms.

A must for anyone with IBS or any Gut or stomach problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re: The Good Gut Guide, 6 Mar 2003
By 
P. Slack "Flossytops" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Good Gut Guide: Help for IBS, Ulcerative Colitis, Crohn's Disease, Diverticulitis, Food Allergies and Other Gut Problems (Paperback)
Being an Osteopath who has now read this book I was extremely impressed by what seems to be a clear, precise, sensitively written and highly informative book, which for once is easy for the layman to read. Full of information on the causes and symptoms of various bowel disorders it also provides a comprehensive range of self-help suggestions that may be of use to the sufferer, as well as indications on when a person should consult a medical professional for further help and/or diagnosis. The book has been broken into clear sections so as to enable the reader to either use the book as a quick reference guide or as a book that can be read from start to finish. Not only does it cover a plethora of illnesses but it also discusses the person behind the illness - something that can all too easily be forgotten. I have found it an invaluable support for those who are either sufferers or know a sufferer of bowel disorders, as well as being an informative guide for those who might simply wish to learn more about this field. At the end of the book is an invaluable list of associations, websites and places where people can glean further information and support. I can certainly say I would recommend it to friends as well as patients of mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book!, 22 Mar 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Gut Guide: Help for IBS, Ulcerative Colitis, Crohn's Disease, Diverticulitis, Food Allergies and Other Gut Problems (Paperback)
If you have been ploughing through the minefield of digestive disorders and want clear, user-friendly advice - Buy this book. The Author offers a huge amount of clear information with valuable further reading/internet links. This book unravels a lot of the mysteries and explains the differences between each digestive disorder clearly with a bullet point list of symptoms, for you to cross reference. You couldn't ask for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know about your gut, 21 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Gut Guide: Help for IBS, Ulcerative Colitis, Crohn's Disease, Diverticulitis, Food Allergies and Other Gut Problems (Paperback)
Following diagnosis of diverticulitis I bought this book to help me understand it. It is an easy to read introduction to gut problems - but for me it raised more problems than it solved - I guess because I did not read the description very carefully. It is more technical and majors on the really serious disorders of the gut. Its layout is easy to follow and for folks coping with Chrohns or UC it is probably very useful. I am hoping that my other purchase made at the same time "Good Gut Healing" will be more suitable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's detailed, medical and not necessarily accessible, 1 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Gut Guide: Help for IBS, Ulcerative Colitis, Crohn's Disease, Diverticulitis, Food Allergies and Other Gut Problems (Paperback)
I was going to buy a more expensive book, and then decided to buy this cheaper version - also the reviews were good - and they are right it is good. For a lay person there is a lot of medical detail and jargon, so it's accessibility rating is shakey. However, I have found some useful pointers and will definitely read and "digest" the information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews