Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The saga of darren shan; Hunters of the dusk
"only one of you will be alive to witness the fall of the vampire clan, the other two will be dead."
After nearly two decades of being a half vampire and only six of those being a vampire prince, Darren Shan is torn appart emotionaly by the war of the scars (the war between the vampanez and the vampires). Darren, Mr Crepsly his tutor in the vampire world,...
Published on 24 Aug 2002 by the_rachie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ace book!!!
this is a great book , young readers would like this because its about fighting vampires and war. this book is about two vampire groups fighting eachother . i thought this book looked good because of the cover and when i read the blurb . such a good book . glad i picked it .
Published on 29 May 2012 by S1 Class 2012


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The saga of darren shan; Hunters of the dusk, 24 Aug 2002
This review is from: Hunters of the Dusk (The Saga of Darren Shan, Book 7) (Paperback)
"only one of you will be alive to witness the fall of the vampire clan, the other two will be dead."
After nearly two decades of being a half vampire and only six of those being a vampire prince, Darren Shan is torn appart emotionaly by the war of the scars (the war between the vampanez and the vampires). Darren, Mr Crepsly his tutor in the vampire world, and Vancha March set out on a mission to kill the vampanez lord before he rises to power and wipes the vampires from the face of their twlight world. But all is not lost, though vicously protected, the vampanez lord will cross the path of the three vampires, only four times, and only four goes they have at killing him. They were told to follow their hearts, but in fear, a heart stands still.
This is a brilliant book, it is just oozing with emotions, figthing and death, this book, i recomend to anyone who has a taste for adventure. This was definatly the best book of the whole saga, and i am getting ready for the next action packed adventure!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book, 8 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Hunters of the Dusk (The Saga of Darren Shan, Book 7) (Paperback)
This book is one of the best so far in the Darren Shan series. The suspense in this book is terrific!, and right from the first page the book grabs you and makes you want to read more. This series is to be continued in books 8 and 9 and I can't wait! The cliffhanger at the end makes this book great and well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star, 1 Jun 2010
This review is from: Hunters of the Dusk (The Saga of Darren Shan, Book 7) (Paperback)
As Darren holds the spot of vampire price since he was supposed to be sentenced to hall of death for running away from his trials but was voted by the vampires to become prince wich was the only solution other than death. Comes a well expected vsit by all vampires, Desmond Tiny who is hated by the vampires made a prophecy talking about the Vampaneze Lord and a great war. The Vampaneze Lord is alive and traveling the world. Now, it's up to Darren Shan, Mr. Crepsley and a the Vampire Prince Vancha March to find the Vampaneze Lord and kill him before he brings the end to all vampires.

Mr. Tiny tells them that they have five chances to kill the Vampaneze Lord. One passed when the vampires killed one of their chances to survival Kurdha Smahlt, for being a traitor. Mr. Tiny cannot tell Darren and Mr. Crepsley what the four remaining chances are.Though he says to follow what their hearts say.Their hearts take them to the Cirque du Freak with the witch Lady Evanna, who makes a very disturbing prophecy about Darren himself!

So far the best have read on until you finish all twelve to reveal nthe truth and ending of this great soon-to-be disaster
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great ending again as the saga boils up, 2 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: Hunters of the Dusk (The Saga of Darren Shan, Book 7) (Paperback)
Newly made Vampire Prince Darren Shan and Mr Crepsley head on a journey to meet a witch and continue to fight the war against the vampeneze.

After a weird ending to Vampire Prince, there was an exciting situation to be unfolded in this seventh instalment, which is that Darren Shan is now a Vampire Prince. By the information given to the readers, a Prince is a man of responsibility, a man recognized as being clever, decisive and noble, but sadly we see little of Darren as a prince as years on from Vampire prince, readers are following Darren and Crepsley on a dangerous path to seek help from witch Evanna.

Though we don't see Darren as a Prince in the professional role, author Darren Shan gives his character more sophistication, a more adult way of life, which is very noticeable. This was a brilliant move, as the young obnoxious teen was becoming slightly irritating and so this is a more professional look at a vampire's life, and still maintains the innocence and humour of previous novels.

The most laughs come from Larten Crepsley, who has also changed a lot during the saga. His quick wit and pairing with Evanna is very silly, but highly likeable. Change is a big issue in this book, as Darren, Crepsley and Harket all change in one way or another.

The journey is similar to Vampire Mountain, slow and without much action to get your blood pumping. Hang on in there for the meeting which is highly enjoyable, and again we get to know more about the War of the Scars, and a hugely important moment for Darren.

As the book is generally very slow, it is obviously leading somewhere, and we aren't to be disappointed with a tense and exciting finale, as a couple of old faces emerge.

The settings are again well established and the likeability of all the characters will be enough to satisfy any reader, who will no doubt pick up Allies of the Night after another dramatic fantastic ending

7.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hunters of da dusk, 7 Jun 2004
This review is from: Hunters of the Dusk (The Saga of Darren Shan, Book 7) (Paperback)
This book is awesome. In it Darren, Mr. Crepsley and Vancha who is a prince set out to kill the vampaneze lord after Mr. Tiny says they are the only ones who can defeat the Vampaneze lord. Along the way they meet a witch who won't take sides. Buy this book today or tomorrow or the next day or the next day etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another good book in the series, 25 May 2007
By 
marky77 (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hunters of the Dusk (The Saga of Darren Shan, Book 7) (Paperback)
In this book, Darren, Harkat and Mr Crepsly leave Vampire Mountain, by advice from Mr Tiny, in search of the Vampeneze Lord who they learn has been blooded.

I thought that this book was really good - I read it in one sitting - and more lighthearted than the previous book - The Vampire Prince - which I had thought was a bit too depressing. Recomended for fans of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "the best of the series so far - by Tom Evans", 19 Sep 2004
This review is from: Hunters of the Dusk (The Saga of Darren Shan, Book 7) (Paperback)
"Even in death, may you be triumphant".
Darren Shan, Vampire Prince and half-vampire for eighteen years, sets off on a deadly journey to discover and kill the Vampaneze Lord, the lord of a clan who, when they drink blood from humans, kill them, who is set to bring the Vampaneze to war with the Vampires, and succeed. According to the mysterious Mr. Tiny, the only people who can stop him before the Lord is fully-blooded, are Vancha March - a Vampire Prince who fights using just his hands, tries to battle the sun, and used to be a Vampaneze - Larten Crepsley, a Vampire who used to be a Vampire General at Vampire Mountain, and his half-vampire assistant - Darren Shan! Leaving Vampire Mountain, the place that had been their home for six years, they must follow their hearts to find the Vampaneze Lord, along with Harkat Mulds, a Little Person who talks. They have the chance to kill the Vampaneze Lord four times. But things get tangled up when they reach a mysterious with named Lady Evanna, who can foresee the future, and tells them that if they fail to kill the Vampaneze Lord, two out of the three will die, whilst the other will live to see the War of the Scars. The first chance comes when they visit Cirque Du Freak, where Darren had first been blooded by Mr. Crepsley. Because in the woods they find a group of Vampaneze, and one of them is the Vampaneze Lord...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bringing in new characters and prophecies edging you to keep reading further and further to find out what will happen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Keep Reading!, 21 July 2013
This review is from: Hunters of the Dusk (The Saga of Darren Shan, Book 7) (Paperback)
Once again we have leapt forward 6 years in Shan's story, but once again I didn't feel like I had missed anything, I still knew all the basic and important details of what has happened since and it progresses the story well.

The Vampaneze Lord is coming - that's the message Mr Tiny delivers that sets off a chain of events and adventures. Darren, Mr Crepsley and Harket set off to try and track down and face the Vampire Lord, they are joined by Vampire Prince Vancha March, and on the way they meet Evanna, who doesn't like to be called a Witch, but that's basically what she is. :P

I still love Darren as a character, he really connects to the other characters and to me as a reader, I feel a part of his world. He is growing and learning new things about Vampires, Vampaneze and himself all the time. I wasn't sure about the whole 'Purge' scene, it seemed a bit out of nowhere and forced but I can see why it was put in so I can live with it.

I'm not sure if I like Vancha, he's quite punchy and has a dry sense of humour, he did make me smile with his cheekiness and I look forward to reading more about him. The one I'm really not sure about is Evanna, sure she's feisty and can hold her own, she strikes fear into even the strongest Vampires, but there is something about her I don't really like and I'm waiting for her to impress me.

There is still a lot of mystery and suspense surrounding the Vampaneze Lord and I look forward to learning more.

Another great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shan is the best, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hunters of the Dusk (The Saga of Darren Shan, Book 7) (Paperback)
I bought this book for my boyfriends 12 year old son and he hasn't put it down. Darren Shan is a fantastic author and I would recommend these books for any young teens.

My boyfriends son is not normally a good reader but cant seem to put these books down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hunters of the Dusk (The Saga of Darren Shan, Book 7)
Hunters of the Dusk (The Saga of Darren Shan, Book 7) by Darren Shan (Paperback - 5 Feb 2009)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews