Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lirael: The most exquisite sequel ever.
Like many before me, I'm sure, after reading the incredible 'Sabriel' I was dubious about Lirael matching up to the incredible fantasy heights of Sabriel. Teenage reading is the best thing about being a teenager, but I was absoloutely shocked. This book went straight to my bone marrow and I know now that this book will haunt my reading taste, and the way I write books for...
Published on 24 May 2004 by Foroyar

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Lirael
Lirael has never felt like a true daughter of the Clayr, as she is long past the age where she should have gained the sight. She becomes a librarian, which has given her a purpose, learning charter magic and, with the help of the Disreputable Dog, stopping and destroying the evil in the library. At the same time, across the wall, in Ancelstierre, Prince Sameth is...
Published 19 hours ago by Amethyst Bookwyrm


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprised, Saddened and Satisfied, 11 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Lirael (Paperback)
I read this book and I was hooked for the two days in which i was reading it. I reallly enjoyed Lirael's part in the book, including her battle near the start and found the Disreputable Dog an extremely interesting character. I felt that the idea of someone who felt she really didn't fit in was a great idea and Garth Nix should be congratulated for the Clayr idea.
However, I didn't like Sameth too much. He seemed to me like a stubborn person, who can't be bothered to do anything worthwhile. Mogget, however, was quite the opposite. He was quite stuborn but i realy enjoyed his character in this. And I must say, I really enjoyed the ending, and was shocked at Mogget's part in it, not seeing it coming at all.
Overall. I really enjoyed the book, but was slightly let down with Sameth. I would reccomend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On a Clayr day you sometimes don't see that much, 26 July 2006
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
In "Sabriel" Garth Nix told us of the Abhorsen who deal in death, and now he enlightens us about the Clayr, the women who are gifted with the power to see into the future (albeit not always clearly) and then there are those awkward times when things get confused by alternate futures and such complications.

Lirael is the daughter of a Clayr, but is a very late bloomer, having not inherited the gift of the Sight like all other Clayr teenagers. This means that birthday after birthday she gets stuck at the kiddie table, wearing the equivalent of Dora the Explorer play clothes while her younger associates (she's rather lacking in the friends category) go off to their debutante duties.

As is often done with teens that are slow to develop, she gets to choose a trade, and she picks library duties, a very dangerous occupation in a place where reading can sometimes be hazardous to your health. Having a special aptitude for charter magic, Lirael quickly moves herself up the ladder, unbeknownst (I always liked that word) to her senior librarians, and begins exploring the forbidden parts of the library on her own. Of course she gets into all sorts of trouble, releasing a creature known as a Stilken, and having to use all her power to fight it. Some people make up imaginary friends to talk to, but not Lirael - after meeting with an ancient healer, she conjures herself a companion named The Disreputable Dog (of unknown magical origin) that is much more than a best friend and who aids and abets her in her voyage of discovery.

Meanwhile, in the other sub-plot in this book, Touchstone and Sabriel from book one have two children, a girl who will be queen, and a boy who isn't too sure he wants to be Abhorsen, as he doesn't like seeing dead people. After a rather unfortunate experience on the other side, he is ready to hang up his book and bells for good, but he doesn't want to disappoint his parents.

All is not well in the Old Kingdom, and his mother is hardly ever at home because of the demands of her job, and his father is finding that it's not always great to be the King. When Sameth (for that is the boy's name) learns that his school pal Nicholas has managed to land himself in grave danger (literally), he runs away from under his sister's thumb and charges off half-cocked to the rescue. Fortunately for him, Mogget the mysterious cat awakens in time to accompany him and save him from himself.

Just in the nick of time the paths of Lirael and Sameth collide in mid stream (again literally) and together they join against Hedge the evil necromancer and his cronies, including the unwitting Nicholas, who are trying to release something very nasty from the bottom of a pit. At the house of Abhorsen they discover a link in the family tree that affects them both.

Like all middle parts of a trilogy, this one leaves a lot of unanswered questions at the end, and should not be read without first reading book one, but is so well written that it will have you turning the pages as quickly as you can.

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but you need to read Abhorsen aswell!, 31 May 2004
This review is from: Lirael (Paperback)
This book was a really good read and very gripping. It was a little slow starting, but as this and Abhorsen were originally going to be one book, with this the beginning half, that's not surprising. I gets going about halfway through and once that has started its impossible to put down.
I really liked the character of Lirael, and Sam grew on me after a few reads although at first he was SO annoying.
This book is really good, but because it's so closely linked to the next book you really need to read them together, otherwise it's torture!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Promises more intrigue than is delivered. Solid, but overated, 3 Oct 2007
This review is from: Lirael (Paperback)
Lirael has more of a stunted pace of Sabriel as the story is divided between the eponymous lirael (Naive, self pitying goth) and Sameth (Mewling underachieving coward).
The drawback of this, is that Liraels story (With more than a few nods to harry potter) is infinitely more interesting than that of sameths, which is basically a dull exploration of familial relationships and being an underachiever.
Because of this imbalance in its parallel narrative, much of the superb pacing of the original book is entirely lost, as you claw through sameths sections (not a likable character) to get to liraels parts.
Im still unsure where the author is going with his creation of charter/free magic. The idea of the great charters is intriguing, but then so was the idea of walking in death until it turned out to just be a bunch of successive water based escapades!
I find it jarring, that there is no superhardcore wizard in these books. Everyone seems to be roughly equally proficient in the magic arts, meaning none of the hero worship of Walker from the shannara series, or Pug from Feists books.
All criticism aside, when Lirael works, it works well, and though the end is anticlimatic, it suggests alot of promise for the finale! Lets hope he gets his dark lord right this time round though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Sequel by Garth Nix, 15 Aug 2001
By A Customer
Lirael:Daughter of the Clayr is a great sequel to the book Sabriel. It is about a girl named Lirael who is a daughter of the Clayr a group of people who can see into the future. But for Lirael she does not have the sight and is 14 and in the outside world a adult but the Clayr marks the passage to an adult by the sight. She feels that she is an outsider and she will soon find out that her life is not as it seems and what she knows will unravel into the adventure of her life. A great book by Garth Nix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great sequel to SABRIEL!, 20 May 2004
This review is from: Lirael (Paperback)
After having read SABRIEL and loving it, I was quite unsure about LIRAEL - I thought it just couldn't be as good as SABRIEL. But I was wrong. Garth Nix surprised me very much with the strong character of Lirael who is so very different from Sabriel and especially her adventures in the Clayr's Glacier found my liking.
I also liked that there were several plot lines to follow so you never get bored. I am so looking forward to reading ABHORSEN because this book rather ended with a cliffhanger - so for everyone buying LIRAL: put ABHORSEN in your shopping cart as well... I'm sure it's worth it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lirael, 4 Jun 2004
This review is from: Lirael (Hardcover)
After reading sabriel i hoped that lirael would live up to its standards. after reading it i was extreamly pleased to find that it was possibly better. with new exciting characters such as lirael sameth and the the desreputable dog as well as some of the old including the extremely hillarious mogget and also sabriel and touchstone (although we only meet them once or twice). The story is that lirael a daughter of the clayr is the only clayr without the sight (ability to see into the future) and prince sameth son of touchstone and sabriel on his journey to find and help his friend who could be in danger. This book shows you that the whole of the first book was leading up to the other two books and the adventures of lirael and sameth not sabriel. this an amazing book with a great ending and twist. BUY NOW! 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!!!!, 13 Feb 2004
By 
M. Ivanova "i_am_she_wolf" (London, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lirael (Paperback)
This book is second in trilogy, and it has got it's own story, which connects first one, but many years later. Also the book is different, because there are 2 young ppl, Lirael, and Sameth, both struguling with their position in life, as they don't feel they belong there, and in the end they'll find out that they were right! But now they have to fight battle which is quite big for experience adults, and almost imposible for 2 teenagers, will they win? This we'll know in 3 and last book (Abhorsen.)
This book is captuvating as Sabriel, and the author is letting us in more magic of all sorts and charter magic in the world of Old Kingdom... And I absolutly loved The Dog! So funny, though wise... And the cat is my fav, present in both books, it's always knowing-all, but also so sarcastic!:) MY WORD, READ THIS TRILOGY, DON'T HESITATE!!!:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Old Kingdom book 2, 6 Dec 2014
By 
Sarah (Feeling Fictional) (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lirael (Paperback)
I have loved Garth Nix's Old Kingdom series for years now, it's one I've read numerous times over the years and I only love it more with every reread. I remember being slightly disappointed when I first found out that Sabriel wasn't the main character again in Lirael but that feeling didn't last long and I quickly grew to love Lirael just as much as her predecessor. Changing points of view was a great way for us to learn more about the mysterious Clayr, the seers who use their abilities to protect the Old Kingdom from threats and I really enjoyed that change of pace.

Lirael is set around 20 years after the ending of the first book, Sabriel and Touchstone are now married and they are the current king and queen of the Old Kingdom. Both of them are working hard to undo the damage caused by the necromancer that they fought in the previous book but there are new enemies on the horizon making things complicated. This story is told from two different points of view, first you have Lirael, a young girl who was born to the Clayr but is yet to come into her Sight, and second is Sabriel and Touchstone's youngest son Sameth.

Lirael has never really felt at home amongst the Clayr, she is very different from them in both looks and temperament and the she is embarrassed by the fact that she has never come into her Sight. She spends a lot of her time alone and isolated just dreaming of becoming a "proper" Clayr. When she is offered a job at the Clayr library she finally finds a place where she feels at home, she loves learning and is fascinated with learning about Charter Magic, something she seems to be quite skilled at. When she manages to bring the Disreputable Dog to life she finally has a friend, someone to talk to and share adventures with. Lirael may be unhappy not to have been given the Sight but she eventually discovers that she has an even rarer ability, one that could help her save the Kingdom.

Sameth is supposed to be the Abhorsen in waiting but after an incident where he was badly injured by a necromancer he is absolutely terrified of entering death. Until recently he has been studying at a boarding school on the other side of the wall so he has had no need to use his magic but now he has returned to the Old Kingdom he is expected to begin his training and he doesn't know how to tell his parents that he is too frightened to accept his role. Sam is depressed and miserable but worried about disappointing his parents and he doesn't know what to do with himself. The only thing keeping him going is an upcoming visit from his best friend so when Nicholas goes missing Sam sets out to try and find him and it is on that journey that his paths cross with Lirael's.

This book is a real coming of age story for both main characters, they both have different inner demons to fight and at times they are both drowning under the weight of expectations that other people have of them but along the way they really realise their own strength and start to come into their own. I have to admit that I found Sam a bit irritating at times, he comes across as younger than his age and there were times I wanted to shake some sense into him but he does make some huge changes by the end of the book and he really grew on me. Lirael was easier to like from the beginning but I am definitely invested in both of their journeys. As much as I love Lirael and Sam I think it is the Disreputable Dog and Mogget who steal the show for me, their characters are just fantastic and I'm also desperately curious about what is happening with Nicholas. It's been so long since I read this series last that I'm having trouble remembering how things play out so I'm excited to continue the series and read Abhorsen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Daughter of magic, 17 July 2008
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lirael
Garth Nix changed the face of dark fantasy (usually just horror with a prettier cover) with his instant hit "Sabriel." It spun up an alternate world full of un-cute talking animals, deadly and dark magic, and a likably strong heroine.

And he doesn't disappoint in "Lirael: Daughter of the Clayr," a strong sequel that reenters the world of the Old Kingdom, and brings out a new threat and new heroes to combat it. Without missing a step, "Lirael" follows in "Sabriel"'s footsteps, with the same dark blend of humor and horror.

Lirael is a daughter of the Clayr, but she won't be a full Clayr until she gains the Sight. On her fourteenth birthday, she is the oldest girl to not yet have gained the Sight.

After contemplating suicide, Lirael is assigned to work in the library, and inadvertently sets loose a hideous Free Magic creature. Desperate to deal with her mistake, Lirael calls up the Disreputable Dog (somehow made both of Free and Charter Magic), and soon finds ancient birthrights and buried secrets in the Clayr's citadel. And before she knows it, she's being sent off to deal with a rising evil in the Old Kingdom...

Elsewhere, Sabriel's teenage son Sameth has his final day of school disrupted by a swarm of Dead, and a mysterious necromancer who is attempting to enslave him (but nabs his best friend Nick instead). After months of ever-growing fear and confusion, Sameth sets out in secret to accompany Nick to the Old Kingdom -- but he finds that he's in far more danger outside the castle walls...

"Lirael" is somewhat different from Garth Nix's first Abhorsen book, in that it takes a long time to wind up to the action. Instead, he takes the time to explore the rich world of modern/high fantasy that he's conjured, and spins up an increasingly complex plot with everything from endangered immigrants to a masked necromancer of mysterious origins.

And Nix spins a truly exquisite little world in here -- we have glacial citadels, medieval castles and British boarding schools, full of ice, shadows, malignant creatures and dark forests. And there's plenty of gruesome content -- rotting bodies, the Book of the Dead, or the secret plot of the evil necromancer. Yet he never forgets to include little moments of humor, such as the magic-animals' frequent snippy remarks, Nick's flaky missives, or Sameth's schoolmates singing their school song during an attack from the military and Dead.

And old favorites return -- we have thirtysomething Touchstone and Sabriel, as well as a cameo by the dangerous kitty Mogget. And while they often seem rather overburdened with angst, Nix handles Lirael and Sameth well -- one of them is a perpetual outsider who is only just finding her place in the world, and the other is a prince who is literally terrified of what is expected of him. The scenes where he gets panic attacks at the Book of the Dead is well done, and makes the dissatisfied boy seem like more than a bored prince.

The Disreputable Dog is a lot like Mogget, in that she's more than she seems and a handy source of info, but not as quietly menacing as Mogget was and is. She's more humorous and maternal. Ellimere was the one character who fell flat; she seemed a little too "bossy princess" with few dimensions beyond that.

The biggest problem with "Lirael: Daughter of the Clayr" is that it ends on a "to be continued" note. But from beginning to end, this delicious sequel is dark, funny, creepy, and gloriously creative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lirael
Lirael by Garth Nix (Paperback - 5 April 2004)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews