Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lirael: The most exquisite sequel ever.
Like many before me, I'm sure, after reading the incredible 'Sabriel' I was dubious about Lirael matching up to the incredible fantasy heights of Sabriel. Teenage reading is the best thing about being a teenager, but I was absoloutely shocked. This book went straight to my bone marrow and I know now that this book will haunt my reading taste, and the way I write books for...
Published on 24 May 2004 by Foroyar

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read
A good read but only if your into the trilogy otherwise not something I'd recommend for new readers although well written.
Published 12 months ago by jwhezzy


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lirael: The most exquisite sequel ever., 24 May 2004
This review is from: Lirael (Paperback)
Like many before me, I'm sure, after reading the incredible 'Sabriel' I was dubious about Lirael matching up to the incredible fantasy heights of Sabriel. Teenage reading is the best thing about being a teenager, but I was absoloutely shocked. This book went straight to my bone marrow and I know now that this book will haunt my reading taste, and the way I write books for the rest of my life. Truly, this is one of the best books I have ever read. The characters are so true, so absoloutely fantastically imagined and played. Lirael is such a string character in herself, its quite beautiful the way Garth Nix describes her: not in so many words or adjectives, but in her actions, in what she does and how she behaves. The Disresputable Dog is also a fantastically witty character and Sameth, son of Sabriel is a worthy child after his mother. Those who have read Sabriel will be delighted to read the return of Mogget, perhaps one of Garth's more prominant and slightly dark characters, but witty and humorous all in one go. Its fantastic, and the scenes with the dead are tense and exciting. I love this book and I simply cannot wait to read Abhorsen. fantastic book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than Sabriel, 7 Oct 2003
This review is from: Lirael (Hardcover)
Lirael is bigger, longer and much, much better than Sabriel, its prequel. I thoroughly enjoyed Lirael as i felt that the descriptions, plot and characters were much more developed and intricate. Lirael scores where Sabriel failed, there are much more vivid descriptions of the dead and of the characters, we are transported into a whole new area of the Old Kingdom and learn more of the facinating Clayr. Prince Sameth breaks the stereotypical "hero" image as his hopes and fears are brought vividly to life. Sabriel and Touchstone are true to themselves too, and avoid becoming boring and uninteresting in their "old age." The book's namesake Lirael is a marvellous character, evoking the reader's sympathy as she longs for a companion. Lirael is a winner and is a vast improvement on Sabriel which, make no mistake was also a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worthy "daughter", 31 Dec 2005
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lirael (Paperback)
Garth Nix changed the face of dark fantasy (usually just horror with a prettier cover) with his instant hit "Sabriel." It provided fans with a unique type of magic, a well-crafted alternate world, and talking animals that were anything but cute. Without missing a step, "Lirael" follows in "Sabriel"'s footsteps, with the same dark blend of humor and horror.

Lirael is a daughter of the Clayr, but she won't be a full Clayr until she gains the Sight. On her fourteenth birthday, she is the oldest girl to not yet have gained the Sight. After contemplating suicide, Lirael is assigned to work in the library, and inadvertantly sets loose a hideous Free Magic creature: a Stilken that will call other Free Magic creatures and destroy the Clayr. Desperate to deal with her mistake, Lirael calls up the Disreputable Dog (somehow made both of Free and Charter Magic) and soon ends up finding out more about her past -- and her future.

Elsewhere, Sabriel's son Sameth is pursued by the Dead, and is almost killed in the process; the only thing he gets for his trouble is a threat from a mysterious necromancer. Sam is supposed to be the future Abhorsen, but the problem is that he's petrified by the things his mother handles easily. And he's helped loose Free Magic on a world increasingly torn by a mysterious masked necromancer...

Nix takes the rich world he created in "Sabriel" and makes it even richer. It's a bit like a melding of typical high fantasy with an early twentieth-century setting (phones, buses, cricket matches, electricity, guns). Old faves like Sabriel, Touchstone, and Mogget appear here (although Mogget's appearance is a bit brief), along with new and equally likable characters.

Some readers may not like Lirael as well as they liked the more self-assured, kick-butt Sabriel, but Sabriel knew who she was, where she was coming from, and knew what she needed to know. Lirael is only learning those things, which makes her a more vulnerable, confused heroine. She becomes stronger and more self-assured as she learns more about Charter magery and her background.

"Lirael" has the same balance of humor and horror as the first book. We have things like the bodies of refugees being turned into decayed Dead Hands, the clawed insecto-human Stilken, or just the aura of darkness around the Book of the Dead. But we also have funny things like Nick or the running joke about the Dog and food.

The Disreputable Dog is a lot like Mogget, in that she's more than she seems and a handy source of info, but not as quietly menacing as Mogget was. And Sam is endearingly unsure of himself, and is one of the few fantasy characters to be genuinely terrified of his "duties," not just apprehensive. His sister was the one character who fell flat; she seemed a little too "bossy princess."

The biggest problem with "Lirael: Daughter of the Clayr" is that it ends on a "to be continued" note. So be sure to have the concluding novel, "Abhorsen," ready while you read this book. Dark, funny, creepy, and immensely well-written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lirael, 28 Mar 2004
This review is from: Lirael (Hardcover)
This is another fatastic book from Garth Nix. A very special follow up from the amazing Sabriel. The book is well structured and the content is beautiful, full of twists, it grasps you and pulls you into the flow of charter and the feelings of those in the books. The characters are brilliant and I esspecially love Mogget a little sarcastic white cat. This book is set 20 or so years on from the last book and it still has Sabriel and Touchstone in it. If you liked Sabriel then you are going to love Lirael and you will be bursting to read Abhorsen. All Garth Nix are going to be thrilled!
Keep your bell-bandoleer at the ready, for this book will be whizzing you along through everything!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most amazing ever, apart from Sabriel!, 7 Mar 2004
This review is from: Lirael (Paperback)
Having read Sabriel i was expecting great things from lirael, all those great things were delivered! i was slightly dissappointed at the start not knowing every detail of what happened to sabriel and touchstone, but once the stroy of lirael began i realised that sabriel was and introduction to the journy and hardships that lirael would have to face. Lirael did not think she had been given much in life, the only clayr of her age without the sight and no-one understanding the feeling, she thinks many times to end her life, but things look up with a chance meeting with some of the most important people in the clayrs glacier. she is given a job in the library and over a few years her strength at charter magic grows, and she defeats many obsticles in the old levels of the library with the help of the disputable dog, a mysterious creature of great magical power. still not having the sight depresses her but a birthday treat soon reveals her birthright and she goes on a journey to save the kingdom from an evil that has not been seen for many milenia. a fantastic read, full of suspense and magic, could be one of the greatest books of our time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liraeal by Garth Nix, 28 Nov 2003
By 
Mrs. Ja Stone (UK Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have just finished Liraeal by Garth Nix and I want more NOW.It was unputdownable, I thought that Sabriel was a masterpiece ,but this is better.From the point that we meet Liraeal,to the cliffhanger ending, it is like nothing else matters. I have never been drawn into ,or devoured a book so ravenously since Lord of The Rings .Not that I am making comparisons ,but so original and compelling is this tale ,the magic is overpowering,it leaves one begging for more and I eagerly await Abhorson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lirael VS Harry Potter, 4 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Lirael (Hardcover)
Both Sabriel & Lirael kick H. Potter into touch!
Just finished Lirael, which I read straight after Sabriel (I just had to keep reading!!), not a dissapointing chapter in this book, its very detailed, very believable, very funny, very scary infact its pretty much one of the best books I've EVER read! Lirael is a great character and you're totally behind her from the beginning, wanting her to find her way in the world (The Old Kingdom that is!) with the support of her best friend "The Desreputable Dog" who is truely hillarious, her life takes an unexpected turn, whilst off adventuring in the Clayr's domain. The book works cleverly with the previous book Sabriel and leaves you hanging on a cliff edge, feeling a little frustrated but very keen to get hold of the final book in the series - Abhorsen, very clever idea Mr. Nix. To sum up, READ THIS BOOK, INFACT READ ALL 3, YOU WILL NOT BE DISSAPOINTED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant!!!, 9 April 2007
By 
S. Barnes (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lirael (Paperback)
Every bit as good as the first book in this series, "Sabriel", this is absolutely brilliant. Gripping. Exciting, dangerous fantasy, with original twists and plot lines. This is "realistic" fantasy at its best.

From the first novel, the fight against the Great Dead, dead hands, and evil Free Magic in the Old Kingdom continues. However, this time Sabriel has help in the form of her family, her now almost grown up children, and from an unexpected source as well, a daughter of the Clayr, Lirael. Follow Lirael as she gradually unravels the dark destiny in store for her future... Whatever the dark force is that's wreaking havoc in the Old Kingdom, it just keeps on growing stronger and binding more dead hands to do its work...

Beautifully written, drawing you in from page one, I really can't recommend this series highly enough! Do start with the first book in the trilogy though, "Sabriel". I can't wait to read book three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars silverkeysanddirisputibledogs, 21 Feb 2006
By 
Froggi (the old kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lirael (Paperback)
This book is too amazing for words. I know you need to read abhorsen aswell but it is honestly worth it, I still cant stop reading it!
Lirael is a character who you can really relate to. From the beggining you can see the resembelence to Sabriel, but you cant see how. Another main character is Sameth, the royal son of Sabriel and Touchstone (Im so relieved they stayed together!) and although some people say they find him annoying i cant agree. Like Lirael you feel really sorry for him as he feels he cant take up the role as abhorsen-in-waiting and he will diapoint his family and kingdom.
There are old characters who are great to see again, like Mogget the amazing sarcastic and deadly cat-free magic thing (read the last book to find out what!) and new ones aswell. From Ellimere (I have to tell you this cos I didnt realise till three years later, Ellimere is named after Sabriels old schoolfriend who died during Kerigors attack.) Sams bossy sister, to The Dirisputible Dog who is just as cool as mogget, but doesnt try to kill everyone when her collar is taken off. (though that never happens, so Im sort of guessing, cos shes really friendly).
But anyway this book is so much better than HP as it has cooler types of magic and is more of a LOTRs genre with swords and horses, but has genuinally amusing sides to it aswell, like Sam being forced to play a dancing bird by his sister. And like both those books it definately desrves to be made into a film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but you need to read Abhorsen aswell!, 31 May 2004
This review is from: Lirael (Paperback)
This book was a really good read and very gripping. It was a little slow starting, but as this and Abhorsen were originally going to be one book, with this the beginning half, that's not surprising. I gets going about halfway through and once that has started its impossible to put down.
I really liked the character of Lirael, and Sam grew on me after a few reads although at first he was SO annoying.
This book is really good, but because it's so closely linked to the next book you really need to read them together, otherwise it's torture!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lirael
Lirael by Garth Nix (Paperback - 5 April 2004)
5.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews