Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for LOTR fans. who wanna dig deeper., 20 Mar 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Art of the Two Towers (Hardcover)
Carrying on from the first book Art of The Fellowship, this does not fall short of the mark. Straightaway the first chapter deals with drawings of Zirak-zigil (just like the beginning of the film itself in a way), with sketches of Khazad-Dum and missing from the last book the beloved BALROG. What i liked also about this book was the inclusion of "Digital Artwork", as well as pencil sketches etc. Theres some interesting sketches of how Treebeard might have looked and Gollum. Theres everything "Digital Shading, Sculpting, Maquettes, Digital Designs". The greatest section for myself was "Helms Deep". All the Army Costume Designs, The Outer Wall sketches. It also gave you more insight into the Glittering Caves as well. Anyway I am rambling just buy the book its great. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great insight into the smaller details of LOTR., 31 Mar 2003
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Art of the Two Towers (Hardcover)
I always find the books about the art work in Lord of the rings amazing because I never realised just how much detail was put into the film.
I bought the fellowship of the ring version of this book and was so impressed that I also bought the two towers one.
This book goes into great detail about the types of art used in the film and just how they incorporate it into the film, there are pictures of earlier sketches by the film artists and as you read the book you can see how these early sketches develop into the scenes we see in the film. The book goes into great detail about certain moments in the film and how for example they could produce a painting and using computers incorporate it into the scene to achieve the effect that this scenery is actually there when really it is just a simple location shot combined with a fantastic painting.
There are interviews with the artists about what they are trying to convey through their work and on set photos with location shots.
This book is a truly interesting read and a must for big fans of the film and tolkien readers who are interested to see just how the artists of the film have made tolkiens Lord of the rings come alive.
I wouldn't recommend this book to readers who want to find out more about the cast and story of Lord of the rings as this book purely concentrates on the art side of the film, but to any fans who are simply blown away by the stunning sets and scenery then this book is the book for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Towering, 28 Feb 2006
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Art of the Two Towers (Hardcover)
"The Art of The Two Towers" is a strong follow-up to "Art of Fellowship of the Ring," which features: Concept art. Lots of concept art. The "Lord of the Rings" movie trilogy is brimming over with incredibly detailed and exquisite effects, props and costumes, and though not entirely satisfying, this book gives a lot of good material.
In it, Gary Russell handles many different aspects of the movie sets and costumes, no matter how tiny they are. Here you'll find different places: sketches of the Black Gate and Dead Marshes, different Golden Halls of Rohan (right down to the medieval tapestries on the walls, the ornate chairs, cups, and even the door knockers!), Isengard, Fangorn forest (and the way different light made it seem), the glittering caves (only shown briefly in the movie) and many other places.
Costumes include unused Arwen armor and her more-dresses-than-she-has-scenes wardrobe; Theoden's battle armor, Eowyn's dresses (ranging from regal to homespun), and the new, more regal outfit of Gandalf the White. And for the weirder, there are different kinds of wargs (one looks almost wormlike), different extinguished Balrogs, and many different kinds of Ents, some of whom will be recognizable from the movie.
There are paintings, pencil sketches, exquisitely-detailed clay models from WETA Workshops, and photographs of the finished products. "Art of Two Towers" is, like the previous book, a must-read for those who enjoy seeing how movies evolve. The little comments beside most of the pictures add extra insight as to what the brilliant people who did all this were thinking. (They can also be very funny, such as the dying-Balrog discussions -- how often do people say "creature of slime" so seriously?)
This book is not flawless, however. It doesn't seem very well-organized: Gandalf's costume study is plopped in the middle of the "Fangorn" section when it would have been better with the Rohirrim outfits. Some of the concept paintings (such as the people leaving Rohan, or Saruman down among the orcs) are very splotchy. And I'm not sure why concept art for Rivendell is included since most of the Rivendell stuff was in the first movie.
"The Art of Two Towers" is not quite as strong as its predecessor. But it is a solid source of information for both the "Rings" fan, and the movie buff. Definitely recommended, flaws and all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really good book for tolkien fans, 18 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Art of the Two Towers (Hardcover)
When I got this book in the post, i had to go to school straight after i'd opened it. All i could think about was my book waiting for me at home. But it was well worth the wait. It is just as wonderful as the first one. There are some brill photos and digital images. The only thing i was dissapointed in was that i thought there was going to be a whole section on costume, but there was only small pictures dotted about. If you want to find out more about behind the scenes stuff, then this is the book for you. It came in really handy on my essay on a hollywood film production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Beautiful, 21 April 2003
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Art of the Two Towers (Hardcover)
This book is a great read whether your a fan of the Lord Of The Rings films, a fan of the books (isn't everyone) or a fan of the artwork by John Howe and Alan Lee for this book. It hasn't got as many pencil sketches as 'The Art Of The Fellowship' and is perhaps not as good as it but the art is breathtaking and the studies of characters and locations really give you an extra perspective on the film and book. Definately a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A look at the design of The Two Towers, 12 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Art of the Two Towers (Hardcover)
This book shows lots of pretty pictures of drawings of monsters, environments, clothing, buildings and other stuff. You can see some ideas of how some designs developed into what you saw in the LOTR movie 'The two towers'.

The book is lavishly illustrated of course, and there are some short explanations or other explanations on the pictures you see in the book. Lots of the drawings look great, and you can also see some WETA clay models of certain scenes in the movies.

In short it's a must-have for real fans of the Lord of the Rings,
it's got everything you'd expect it would have, but somehow the previous part of the 'art of'- series looks better. I'm talking about 'the Art of the Fellowship of the Ring'.

I think it has to do something with the fact that the Two Towers movie was much darker and less colorful than the Fellowship of the Ring, this somehow reflects in this book.

This art book is a good buy, especially if you liked the movie, it will be a nice additon to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain!, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Art of the Two Towers (Hardcover)
Love this book, love the price and I am very happy with the good service given by the seller. The book was in great condition and I am just waiting until I take a week or two off work so I can sit down and study it properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just as amazing as the first book, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Art of the Two Towers (Hardcover)
The Art of the Fellowship was all about the more pleasant areas of Middle Earth, like the magical realms of the Elves, the Shire, the underground kingdom of the dwarves. But if you marvelled at those then you'll be equally mesmerised by the darker places that we see in The Two Towers. This book again contains tonnes of incredible and rare images from pre & post production of the second installment in LOTR. From Helm's Deep, to the Dead Marshes, and Fangorn, to the creating of Treebeard and Gollum. This book has everything you ever wanted to know about the artwork behind The Two Towers.

Every LOTR fan should own this book and the other two in the trilogy. You won't regret buying it. I'm so glad that I now have it on my bookshelf for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Art of the Two Towers (Hardcover)
Bought for my daughter whilst doing her first degree in animation and illustration. This proved very useful for her and was even more so when she met one of the artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coffee Table Book for Geeks, 29 May 2003
By 
H. Callaghan "Alice in Wonderland" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Art of the Two Towers (Hardcover)
Some beautiful, large still images, drawings, etc from this absolutely wonderful series of films, glossily bound, make up this book. It's a nice stop-gap to cover the period between the DVD coming out and the fact that the movie is vanishing from cinemas.
There's not a whole lot of text, but that's not really the point. A lot of reviews suggest that if you own the Art of FOTR that this is more of the same - I don't, and I am thrilled with this book.
It also makes a fantastic present for other Tolkien geeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lord of the Rings: The Art of the Two Towers
The Lord of the Rings: The Art of the Two Towers by Gary Russell (Hardcover - 17 Mar 2003)
Used & New from: 14.40
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews