Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars111
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 June 2014
Fergal Keane writes in a clear, logical way that makes following his account of the battle at Kohima simple and a real joy to read. This book has it all; great bravery; hubris; suffering; duty, all set in the unforgiving jungle the border of India and Burma.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2011
I have not read any accounts of the siege at Kohima previously, but now having read this authors amazing account I certainly want to read more on the subject, however I don't think this book could be bettered.
This book is exactly what I want when I read military history, it not only tells of the strategic and tactical side, but more importantly for me it tells the story of those who were there from both sides. Although thankfully most people would never have to experience what it must be like to be involved in close combat, with incredible personal accounts of this truly harrowing battle the author really brings to life the experiences of those involved.
My only grumble with this book is that the maps were rather poor, however for me the sheer quality of the writing more than made up for this.
This book is one of the best I have read in a long time, go and buy it, you won't regret it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
A vivid account of one of the (many) dreadful battles of the Second World War where human life was wasted on all sides- but a little less in the democracies where having an element of power prevented the Great and not so Good from squandering so much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2010
An excellent book, extremely compelling and an insight into the horrors of war in the Far East.
Thoroughly recommended for those who would like to understand more about this particular theatre of war.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2010
This book gave a very interesting insight into the much overlooked part of the Second World War. A battle that saw a reversal to the much daunted Japanese advances in the Far Eastern campaign. Well worth the purchase and well worth the read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2015
An account of one of the great battles of WW2 that contains both the British and Japanese points of view. Very well written and balanced account of a truly heroic fight that I found very informative. An excellent read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2012
At Kohima, the 14th Army, known as the `Forgotten Army' inflicted the most serious defeat on the Japanese army in their invasion of Burma and push towards India during the Second World War. Following this humiliating defeat, the Japanese suffered a total military catastrophe during their retreat back through Burma and this is vividly recorded in Fergal Keane's admirable book.

His interviews with key figures on both sides bring the ghastly rout of the Japanese army vividly alive. His meticulous research, e.g. interviewing General Sato and his family - tells the story as it should be told, emphasising the total horror of war for all participants.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
One of the greatest backs to to wall stories. WW11 story about a small British force up against massive Japanese forces -can they hold out....fantastic read about bravery and never say die true 'Brits'"..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
I found this book to be very factual, today's generation need to read such stories, Fergal Keane books always offer the reader much food for thought. Excellent although the content is very stark.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2011
This book is relevant in many ways, The Burma Campaign is a forgotten war. As one of the japanese soldiers said war is a vice. A very close relation was involved in the Burma campaign, he never spoke of his experiences, now I understand why. A former close friend's Father was killed in action, it was never discussed. I know that family went to Burma in recent times to pay respects to their beloved parents who they never knew, war is a waste and a travesty of life. This account is very pertinent reading for us all.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)