Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read
Greg Bear has certainly written a page turner with Quantico.

A quite beleivable story of bio-terrorism that fairly races along. The synopsis explains all you need to know so I won't repeat it. Just buy the book and enjoy a good read.
Published on 29 Aug 2006 by tony hogan

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but not brilliant
I always get nervous when an author moves out of genre. More often than not it's a mistake. I thought long and and hard about buying the book because recently I've read several novels by authors who should have stuck to writing what they know about.

In the event I needn't have worried. It's a near future thriller and handled with all the style that Bears...
Published on 21 Aug 2006 by Mr. S. Crook


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but not brilliant, 21 Aug 2006
By 
Mr. S. Crook (Way out west) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quantico (Paperback)
I always get nervous when an author moves out of genre. More often than not it's a mistake. I thought long and and hard about buying the book because recently I've read several novels by authors who should have stuck to writing what they know about.

In the event I needn't have worried. It's a near future thriller and handled with all the style that Bears readers will already know and he makes the transition from SF to thriller with ease.

Characterisation is slim, but given the books breadth of scope and (comparative) lack of pages he does what he can. If it was a film, I could have imagined some of the actors asking 'what's my motivation' when they were reading the script. The story moves along briskly carried from several viewpoints and with no real holes in the plot. There's technology there, but it's not too far removed from what we know and therefore isn't the star of the show.

There'd have been 4 stars if the ending had been better. It's not that it's implausible or exactly disappointing, but perhaps from my perspective it's a bit abrupt and not the one I'd have written :-) as it seems out of place with the tone of the rest of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 29 Aug 2006
By 
tony hogan (Dorset, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quantico (Paperback)
Greg Bear has certainly written a page turner with Quantico.

A quite beleivable story of bio-terrorism that fairly races along. The synopsis explains all you need to know so I won't repeat it. Just buy the book and enjoy a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Liberal Tom Clancy, 11 Mar 2008
This review is from: Quantico (Paperback)
A liberal Tom Clancy, and I don't use the phrase in a complimentary manner. I've read Greg Bear before and this is distinctly lackluster compared to quality work such as EON. As in so much of this genre, the plot only holds together by coincidence and revelation, the characters whilst engaging are unsophisticated and the politics particularly insipid. All in all a disappointment from an author that is capable of delivering more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 25 Aug 2006
By 
tony hogan (Dorset, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quantico (Hardcover)
I have read a lot of Greg Bear's novels and liked them all. This one is no exception. The review above pretty much tells the story. There are a lot of shenagigans going on between various factions both within and without the FBI that sits well within the overall storyline.

I read this in one sitting, just could not put it down. The characters are well formed and the story itself quite beleivable. If you enjoy a good thriller this could well do it for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite convinced (spoilers), 26 Sep 2012
By 
Andy Barnard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quantico (Paperback)
I had a hard time deciding what to make of this one. It's a departure from Bear's usual sci-fi, remaining solidly grounded in near future technology.
Superficially it's a very good read with an excellent and pretty scary central premise. After finishing and thinking about it though, there's too much that either didn't make sense (to me at least) or seemed thrown in unnecessarily.
The Pariarch's firework testing for example. Why test the yeast on yourself and your followers at all, yet alone before the project's even finished and could be endangered?
Strangely little is made of the yeast's impact on Ohio. It is mentioned that people are getting sick and that the emergency services are beginning to clock on to the magnitude of what's happening, then seemingly forgotten about altogether. Government reaction to this was also entirely neglected.
The whole US Muslim Army thing near the end just struck me as a daft plot device. Their appearance was unconvincing and the explanation for their existence vague and morally dubious even by US government standards. Brainwashed orphans? Hmmm.
Despite questions like these I did really enjoy the book but just found the plot a little too creaky in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rather routine thriller, 3 Feb 2011
By 
A. J. Poulter "AP" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quantico (Paperback)
In a very near future world even more riven by terrorist atrocities, a rogue FBI agent with a very unusual genetic profile decides that something has to be done. It looks initially like the result will the standard 'spread death by deadly disease' scenario but things take an unexpected turn when a bust of The Patriarch, a far-right Christian survivalist, who is cahoots with the rogue agent, reveals no deadly bacteria but just lots and lots of yeast.

The rogue agent is not the only rogue element as it turns out that a faction of spooks, working for the US Government, have decided to crush the Muslim world's spirit once and for all. Everything comes to a head in Saudi Arabia during the final stages of the Hajj, the Muslim period of pilgrimage. As a thriller, this novel is well put together. It makes a logical step for Greg Bear, who has earned a reputation using genetic themes in previous novels. However this work is very thin as science fiction. It would make an ideal scenario for a new season of '24'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much like reading the TV news, 17 May 2008
By 
CjW "chris" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Quantico (Paperback)
I want non reality

The real world is full of nasty nations killing each other, strife and hassle.

I do all all that in RL

At home -I want to read fantasy
non-real worlds of wonder

This is the wrong track -if you want all this -just watch the TV news instead

yawn..............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb1d0e240)

This product

Quantico
Quantico by Greg Bear (Hardcover - 21 Nov 2005)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews